We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sacred Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Light Inn to your Saves list
Harbor Light Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off 2nd Night weekday
Ranked #6 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“A Sacred Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

From Boulder, Colorado, we needed to make last minute arrangements to be with a family member during and after her passing. This was a challenging time for us emotionally and we had never been to this area of the country. Every detail that needed to be taken care of prior to our arrival, during our stay and then during the five day extension of our stay (due to a blizzard that made it impossible for us to return home) was attended to with warmth and compassion and a delicate respect for our privacy. As a result, we were able to let go and keep our focus without intrusions of any kind. From the moment we spoke to the first person on the phone, we knew that we would be able to have our sacred space. From the moment we met Susan, the manager, we were taken care of and sheltered during this time. Everything that we read about The Inn was accurate and even more welcoming in person. Because of our long stay, we moved to three different rooms and each room invited us into its personality. All the rooms are charming and when we choose the rooms, we choose them to suit us and they did. In a way, we feel fortunate to have experienced this Inn during the off season because we were looking for that solitude and even when the Inn was full, we achieved that. The Harbor Light Inn blends into this charming town...no bells and whistles from the outside but as soon as you open the door and smell the cookies, you know you are home.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    50
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
169
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

We found a jewel on the North Shore. Being from The Ocean State, it takes a lot to impress us. But finding Marblehead Harbor and this wonderful town, full of wonderful shops, pubs, restaurants and friendly people, capped off '06 for us. We stayed at the Harbor Light Inn right in town and walking distance to everything. From the get go, we had a warm and friendly greeting
from Susan. She was very busy baking cookies and goodies for the naxt days breakfast, but gave us a tour of the Inn, and a quick History of Marblehead 101. She showed us to our guest room and made luncheon suggestions. We stayed in room 36 and highly suggest it. The linens, according to my wife, were of the highest quality ,and, the Inn was spotless. The amenities like comfy robes to lounge in , my favorite, a CD/FM stereo and wireless internet access with a good size t.v. Better than home !
We unpacked and went back down stairs and ran into a group staying for the Halloween holiday, only to find the general topic of conversation was about Harbor Light and the charming town...so much nicer than anything seen in Salem. Everybody was happy to be there.Cookies, coffee and tea available all the time. What a treat ! Breakfast was everything they said it would be. Great fresh selections. I overheard a guest with a dietary restriction say that
the hosts we're more than happy to accommodate them. We felt so at home and so welcome by the entire staff. We can't wait to return. Only 90 minutes from Providence, yet we felt we had traveled into fantasy land. Two thumbs up. Great work. Tony
& Janice

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

We came to Marblehead for their annual Christmas Walk and decided to stay at the Harbor Light Inn since it is located in the heart of town. What a gorgeous Bed and Breakfast! And, professionally managed by very gracious hosts. Our room was very spacious and every day there were fresh towels and a freshly made bed. Breakfast each morning was a real treat with everything home-made. Susan's Creme Brulee French Toast is to die for!! We will definitely pay them a visit again.

Anne Meirowitz

  • Liked — Beautiful B&B with lots of history
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to arrive early afternoon or later in the evening to avoid I95 rush-hour traffic!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Harbor Light Inn in mid October, 2006. The facility was immaculately kept, excellent breakfasts and afternoon snacks, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. If we ever visit that area again we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

We booked our trip online through Travelocity with the reservation of: two adults and one child (11y.old).

We got to the hotel only to find that the rooms at the Inn would not accomodate any more than 2 people, or at least the room that was reserved for us. They accomodated for us in an apartment down the street (not at the Inn). We had planned on the ambiance of the historic inn, and didn't get that.

Everyone was polite and friendly, but when we left we had a feeling that children just aren't welcome at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hli, owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2006
Guest made original reservation through a travel service on the internet on June 25th. They requested a room for two people in fireplace room. Later in July we were told that their child would be joining them. We wrote back by email that their present room would not accomodate a rollaway but did offer two other larger rooms and would they please advise. We never heard back from them. When they arrived we were able to move them to a family suite separate from the inn. They were given a three room suite apt with kitchen and fireplaced livingroom at a greatly reduced rate. We are sorry that we did not have a suite or large room in the main house and hope that they will call us direct the next time they are coming this way so we can show them that we welcome children as long as we know they are coming and have the appropriate room for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

2 years ago I wanted a nice weekend away near the ocean and googled places on the North Shore in Massachusetts. I found this place and called for reservations. While looking at the website I spoke with Susan at the Inn and together we found the perfect room for me. When I arrived, soaking wet with the rain, hot coffee and chocolate chip cookies were waiting for me. The room was romantic, the bed comfortable, the double jacuzzi tub was inviting and the staff was exceptional! The continental breakfast was out of the ordinary with fresh fruits, different breads and, of course, hot coffee and a variety of teas.
I have stayed there 4 times over the past couple of years and I am always remembered and greeted warmly and sincerely. I've even found complimentary champagne and a welcome back card in my room!
The inn is located in the historic section of Marblehead and one can walk to the waterfront and browse the charming shops and dine in a variety of restaurants.
I look forward to going back soon!
Melanie from Bellingham, MA

  • Liked — Romantic; Clean; Charming; Ambience
  • Tips/Secrets — There is no in house restaurant. There is a wonderful dining room for breakfast or one can bring breakfast back to your room should you choose.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

My wife and I had a reservation for one night at the Harbor Light Inn for Sunday, October 9, 2006. We were on Martha's Vineyard that weekend for a wedding and planned to visit Marblehead for a day and evening before returning home to Washington DC. On Saturday evening, October 8 we learned that my wife's mother, who has been ill, had a serious setback and my wife (who had just been in Florida several days before) was asked to return to Florida the next day. She immediately arranged to fly out of the Vineyard to Florida that Sunday, October 8, and I arranged to drive back to DC. I called the Inn that day and explained why we had to cancel at the last minute and said that while I didn't expect a refund at this late date would they consider giving us a credit for a future visit. They said they would try to rent the room that day, but if they couldn't they would not give us a credit. I called them again on Wednesday, October 11 to ask if they would reconsider giving us a credit and they said they couldn't. While I never expected a refund I did think that they could have given us at least a partial credit for a return visit if even for a weekday night. That would seem to be a good gesture on their part and good business practice given the circumstances. We certainly would have made a point of staying at the Inn again and telling others about their offer, but now we have no intention of ever revisitng them again.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hli, owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2006
The guest canceled the afternoon of their arrival. This was a holiday weekend ( Columbus Weekend) which is huge in our area. We were sold out for weeks and had turned away numberous inquiries. The guest knew our cancelation policy and we did our best to re rent the room for them, but they gave us only hours to do so. If they had canceled a cruise or resort destination on the day of arrival would they also expect a full credit? We are sorry for their interupted travel plans and lost their deposit. Many travel agencies and airlines now offer cancelation insurance for situations like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.