We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn when visiting Marblehead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Light Inn to your Saves list
Harbor Light Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming inn when visiting Marblehead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday--she loves Colonial architecture and was delighted with this inn. The staff was very kind and helped make our stay special. The stairs would have been difficult for her to manage but I explained the situation when I made the reservation and they put her in a room on the first floor just steps from the back entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not in the front--the morning trucks were a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Joan L,
We are glad that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay at the inn. It was a pleasure to meet you both and glad that room 4 worked out so well for her. We made a notation in your file to suggest the first floor rooms for your mother when you hoipefully, return.
Thank you
Peter C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    56
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
180
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We wanted a "special" place for a management team meeting with a group of 8. The Harbor Light Inn provided great rooms, a dining area that converted to meeting space, lovely bar for relaxing at night...and the incredibly quaint town of Marblehead with restaurants and views that took us truly "away" from usual city life and convention facilities. Topped with service from the heart, this is one place I would return to in a heartbeat....and heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so ask for what you want. One of our team members is well over 6' tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, Your group was a plesure to host at the inn and the entire staff enjoyed helping to make your meeting agenda go smoothly. I am enjoying your book that you wrote about service in our industry and look forward to see you all again.
Sincerely
Peter C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband sent me on a surprise overnight as a "mom break" to the neighboring town of marblehead. (A great idea hubbies out there!) I was given such a warm welcome and tour and stayed in a beautiful large room full of character! I decided to sleep in so I missed breakfast but was aware of wonderful smells from the dining room and was offered a "to go"bag when I was on my way out. A nice experience all around and would certainly recommend to out of town guests!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear neighbor,

Many thanks, to you and your sweet husband for joining us at the Harbor Light Inn. Your review was well received by our front and heart of the house staff.

We are glad to hear you woke up slow and really enjoyed your "mom break" to the fullest. We aim to please and provide our guests with the highest level of service. We are very glad your experience was well-received all around.

We hope to see you and yours at Harbor Light Inn and Tavern in the future.

Yours truly,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor Light Inn for two nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. I was especially impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff was; the front desk was able to answer our questions about restaurants, beaches etc. and their recommendations were great. Breakfast is serve yourself buffet with fresh fruit, two hot egg or sausage casseroles, juice, coffee. They have a parking lot, which allows you to be right in the middle of Marblehead and not have to use your car for most things. Rooms are all different so ask about specific needs. Very clean. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Jmg4848,

From the entire staff at the Harbor Light Inn, we thank you very much for reviewing your two night stay in July at the Harbor Light Inn. We appreciate your kind words and detailed information provided to other travelers seeking out accommodations in the area. Please come back again soon for our fresh, homemade and convenient location in the historic district.

Many thanks,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Decided on a change from the usual hotels in Boston when up for our daughter's college graduation in May. We were not disappointed. Staff was wonderful, location was fun and it was worth being a little out of the way from Boston. Will do it again if up that way.

Room Tip: No elevators, keep away from the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Many thanks for staying at the Harbor Light Inn during your celebratory visit to the region. We are pleased that you found our location to be a convenient and friendly alternative to Boston. We are located approximately 17 miles from the heart of the city and offer our guests detailed guides, maps and suggested routes for easy travel to and from.

It was a great pleasure to host you both and we look forward to your return to Marblehead in the future.

All the best to you and yours,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this inn when we fell in love with this town and decided to stay over night. We had started from the north to see the coast of the North Shore of Boston. When we came to Marblehead, we knew we wanted to stay longer.
The first inn that we came to was not down near the harbor and shops so we drove on until we found the Harbor Light down in the historic area. We luckily got their last room (32) which was on the trhird floor with king bed and great a/c. We enjoynd walking the area and found a restuarant right on the water for a late lunch. The more shops and back to the pool for the rest of the day. Nesdt morning a great breakfast out by the pool.
good breakfast an really friendly staff.
Loved the inn and the town.

Room Tip: room 32 was very comfortable. A/C ws fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for joining us and falling in love with Marblehead. We are happy to hear you had such a delightful stay and enjoyed breakfast by the pool in our garden area.

We are open 365 days per year and look forward to hosting you and yours again soon.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights, and liked the inn very much. We were recommended to the inn by a friend and found all the employees to be very friendly and accommodating. We did have one issue which we found out was caused by another guest; someone had changed the thermostat (which also controlled our room #31) so that the temperature on our first night was unbelievably hot! Apparently these other guests were cold, and changed our thermostat instead of the one controlling their room. (Why are guests allowed to change other people's room temperature?) After complaining the next morning, they assured us that it wouldn't happen again...and it didn't the second night. I didn't realize that I could have called someone at 2:30am, but honestly didn't get any sleep that night! They gave us a couple of complimentary glasses of wine the next day, but frankly I thought that wasn't as much as what they should have done considering the situation. That said, everyone was very personable, and the breakfasts were very nice, too. Our room was on the third floor, and the bed and bathroom were very nice. The TV was pretty small and hard to see around the posts of the 4-poster bed, but we didn't really go there to watch TV (although I needed it while we baked on our first night!). The location is great, and a short walk to the dock and to other parts of Marblehead. This inn is in very high demand, and I'm sure that there are many guests that didn't experience what we had. We just thought that responding with more than a couple glasses of wine might have been called for.

Room Tip: No elevator, so a low floor might be a factor for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Picky Traveler32
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay of last week.
We were surprised that another guest was able to adjust the thermostat that has a lock on it, but it did happen. I am glad that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that the inn staff was friendly and helpful. We are very proud of the people who work here and it is a great pleasure to know that it does not go unnoticed.
I appreciate your comment on the TV size in that room. Most of our rooms have 32" screens or larger and room 31 will get a new 32" TV ASAP. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to spoil you, on hopefully a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.