We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Light Inn to your Saves list
Harbor Light Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off 2nd Night weekday
Ranked #6 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We found this Inn by mistake after checking into motel hell in Salem. My wife became ill and ended up in the hospital in the middle of the night. We called The Harbor Light Inn and asked if we could check in early because we had been up all night, and they said yes. We had to leave the next day, but cut our trip short to return to the Harbor Light Inn because we enjoyed our stay there so much. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was pleasant and willing to make our stay enjoyable as possible. Marblehead is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. The rooms(and we stayed in two differant ones) were clean and comfortable, and close to everything.

B. Scott

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Many thanks to you and yours B. Scott for the kind review!

It was a great pleasure to assist you both during your extended stay. We are happy to hear that our service and accommodations met your standards.

Please contact us if we can assist you with future travels to historic Marblehead.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    50
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
169
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had the fortune of staying at the Harbor Light Inn recently, and I just want to say I had a wonderful experience! First of all, the location is perfect; it's right in downtown Marblehead, so you can walk to all the quaint boutiques and restaurants in town. The room was adorable and it had an amazing private balcony overlooking the garden/pool area. I had the pleasure of enjoying my coffee out there in the morning. I also loved the colors and decorations; very New England! They have two great common areas for guests to use for socializing or reading, or whatever. They provided a cozy place to relax and soak up some New England charm! Breakfast was delicious. There were tons of options from cereal to quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, and even a home-made bunt cake! I definitely had my fill. Finally, the staff. I cannot say enough good things about them! They were all wonderfully friendly and knowledgable about the area - places to go, things to do, etc...They were very accommodating, and even allowed me to check in early since my room was ready. I had a really great time; thank you, Harbor Light Inn! Next time I come this way, I will definitely be staying here, and if you're looking to stay on the North Shore, THIS is the place to go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a few days at the Harbor Light Inn. It was a much needed get away, having 6 1/2 yr old twins. We haven't been away in 4 yrs. We came back feeling refreshed, rejuvinated and ready to tackle life and it's challenges again. This was our 4th trip there since our girls were born and love it more each time we go. The people are friendly, the place is romantic and relaxing as someone in the tavern said to us "it is relaxing and has a good vibe!!!" We had a late bite to eat while in the tavern, and our bartender, Sean, left and went to make the food for us. He did an awesome job at it. Breakfast is delicious and has been each time we've gone. We wish we could have stayed longer. Well worth it! LOVE THE HARBOR LIGHT INN AND EVERYONE THERE!

Room Tip: We always try to get room 22 but all the rooms are just as beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My sister and I met in Marblehead for a getaway weekend and she chose this Inn for our stay.
We had the most enjoyable time there. It is a friendly place (we found all of Marblehead to be very friendly) and the customer service genuine. It is historic, comfortable, warm, relaxing, and fun. There are many room options. The breakfast was very good, fruit to bundt cake and hot dishes in between. Good off street parking. The tavern offers a light menu at night. We will book another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Many thanks to you and your sister for joining us during your recent visit to Marblehead. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and plan to return.

We look forward to hosting you at the Inn and Tavern in the future.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely inn for 8 nights and was very impressed with the service and quality. We had some physical issues and they went out of their way to accommodate us, even changing our room to make us more comfortable. Breakfasts were great...worth getting up for. Highly recommend it to anyone going to North Shore in Massachusetts.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a wonderful way to relax after an intensive meeting in Boston. Just 17 miles away, it was like stepping back in time. The Harbor Light Inn was lovely! We particularly appreciated their attention to our son's need for gluten free diet. The entire staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were charming. Close to ocean and neighboring communities. Don't miss whale watch with 7 Seas Whale Watch in Gloucester.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Ted & Sandy,

It was our great pleasure to host you and yours. We were happy to accommodate your son's diet and it is wonderful to hear that all were pleased with our vast array of special offerings.

We thank you for your kind review and suggestions for other travelers of sights to see when visiting the area.

Look forward to hosting your family again soon.

Happy spring!

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Rented two rooms at Harbor Light Inn. One for my wife and I and one for my daughter and her friend. Love the look and feel of the place. Staff was very nice and helpful. Staff was always available as well. Great location. Was able to walk to the little downtown, the restuarants, and the nearby Island. Beds comfortable. Rooms clean. Breakfast was buffet style. The food was good but not the same as some B&B breakfasts. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.