We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marblehead iconic eatery!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing

The Landing
81 Front Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
781 639 1266
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Marblehead
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Marblehead iconic eatery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Landing, one of the VERY few Marblehead eateries on the water, has stayed the course through economic thick and thin. Oh, and through some fairly tortuous weather too! (Get the management to show you how they handle sea surges during storms!) The atmosphere is great, both in the bar and in the dining areas -- service has been excellent and careful, and the menu has improved markedly over the past few years. DO sit on the deck, and enjoy the harbor views -- you can even do this in colder weather, thanks to heat lamps and plenty of enthusiasm by the waitstaff. We go often and enjoy it each time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    103
    30
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are regular diners at the Landing. We were pleasantly surprised this week when we tried a new menu item. They always have had the very best clam chowder anywhere....and now they have added a butterflied steak, stuffed with lobster that is over the top . The staff continues to be friendly and attentive and the manager, Robert, made us feel right at home. Be sure to sit by the windows or on the deck for an amazing view of Marblehead harbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch overlooking the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fabulous clam roll and my man said he thought his fish sandwich might have been one of the best he has ever had. Definitely will return. Great service, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marblehead Landing Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good food, good service, and fabulous views...recommend it highly! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Marblehead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“nice view, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

During a weekend in Boston last May we took a little road trip to Marblehead and stopped here for afternoon drinks. We had dinner reservations so we didn't eat but went out to admire the view and decided we'd come back on our next summer trip.
We did a few weeks ago, sitting outside for lunch and really enjoyed it.
Our server Amelia was friendly, cheerful and helpful with both the food and very decent and reasonable wine list.
We had a great lobster roll with perfectly done crispy fries and fish and chips made with the local catch. My lobster was moist, perfectly cooked and amazingly fresh. The fish and chips perfectly fried .
FYI the view is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.