We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lobster roll!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnacle

The Barnacle
141 Front St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3546
(781) 631-4236
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Marblehead
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great lobster roll!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The veiw is beautiful, food was great and the bar had a good local crowd. Nice place to have a good meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    78
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Popular with locals & tourists alike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very small restaurant located on the harbor in the "Old Town" section of Marblehead. It has a tiny bar area that is always crowded, so they must be doing something right. The restaurant has good food, the service is friendly & efficient, & the location can't be beat. The views are great if you can get a table outside on a nice day. Lots of activity to see in Marblehead Harbor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Barnacle, Marblehead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the "ethnic" restaurants in Marblehead,with a fine history, and spectacular view of Marblehead Harbor. Great Mussels, and Fish and Chips, plus other fish foods. Burgers and hot dogs available too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was in Marblehead with friends and we decided to have dinner at the Barnacle based on a recommendation from our hotel. The bar scene was great fun with lots of local flavor. The drinks were great. We sat inside, although they do have outdoor seating. The restaurant looks out over the harbor and is situated essentially out over the water. The food was delicious and the price was good. The lobster comes right off the owners boat, so you cannot find fresher lobster dishes anywhere. I would definitely go again for food or drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food Poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was very excited when I saw the view. The restaurant is small but the entire back wall is all windows overlooking the ocean and passing boats. This is the only good thing the place has to offer. The food was HORRABLE!

Their famouse seafood chowder was bland and watery containing a few potatos and NO seafood. They dolop the top with vegatable spread...not butter.

My friend ordered the lobster cearsar salad and got severe stomach pain followed by diarrhea.
I ordered the fish & chips which was bland, tasteless fish nuggets and shoe string fries. I sent it back and ordered the haddock. It was the same translusient, tasteless white fish.

I understand why the waitress was as rude as she was... she must get complaints all the time for serving up the slop. We didn't complain and left a decent tip she didn't deserve.

This place screams "TOURIST TRAP!"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnacle also viewed

 

Been to The Barnacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.