We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not a B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marblehead Inn to your Saves list
Marblehead Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
SoConnecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, but not a B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautiful Victorian, Jeffery was extremely nice, the new rear yard grounds were very well
done, I enjoyed my stay, but the morning breakfast was a high end cold Continental type
breakfast, and although it was a nice continental breakfast, I just expected more from a
B & B .

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is in front on the street side 1st floor, very nice , nice bathroom, shower, but traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    38
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
80
90
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Marblehead Inn has way exceeded my expectations. Came out to visit someone for graduation. Knee was hurt in flight and Jeff offered us a different room in the first floor.

Beds are very comfortable. Always a nice choice of fruits, cereal, pastries and toast. Coffee great too.

We are currently staying here this week and have another 3 nights here.

I will totally recommended this place to anyone looking for a NICE place to stay in Marblehead.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale az usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I am from Glendale, AZ and I am so blessed to have fallen into the experience of being able to stay at this Inn for a night.

The Inn keepers name is Jeff. He is so full of knowledge and so personable, I could have chatted with him for hours, but at some point must say your goodbyes to get more travels in.

My daughter and I were going to stay in Salem, but as driving through had second guessed our decision. We had quickly started hunting on the GPS for another town to stay in that we would feel more comfortable. Marblehead is a very posh town with the most beautiful homes to look at and very close to the ocean to put your feet in the water or collect sea shells. The center of town has amazing roads that twist and turn like I have never seen before. I personally have traveled to 46 of the 50 states and can say without a shadow of a doubt that Marblehead is one of the most beautiful places that I have passed through. My daughter and I also had a lovely dinner at a restaurant called, "The Landing" in Marblehead, recommended by Jeff, the innkeeper. The Landing had the BEST clam chowder I have ever had. I also enjoyed their grilled Swordfish while my daughter enjoyed their duck with rice pilaf.

As for Marblehead Inn.......I could literally go on for many many characters describing what a lovely experience it was. Although I felt the bed was a bit on the firmer side, my daughter loved it. The pillows on the other hand were plentiful and soft as a cloud. The pressure in the shower was perfect. The tempurature was perfect in the room and the inn. The Inn was not only beautiful but could not have been any cleaner and comfortable. In the evening wine and crackers are served complimentary. In the morning a continental breakfast is served with fresh fruit, bagels, cereal, and more. It was certainly well worth the money with the atmosphere and the history lessons from Jeff.

All I can say is this place is a must and Jeff you are doing a wonderful job and are a very personalable, fun. and knowledgeable guy. Keep up the good work.

Patty and Destiny............Glendale AZ & Ballston Spa NY

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good in this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This B&B is the best in the area if you want to have an exceptionally clean and quiet visit to Old Town Marblehead. It's a short walk to Old Town where you see the harbor and seafaring antiques. It has a great breakfast variety and sitting area. It has a nice reading room. Carpets are clean and fresh. Jeff is a great innkeeper who cares for all your needs. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent a rainy weekend at the Marblehead Inn, but had a wonderful time, mostly because of the suggestions and directions from the innkeeper, Jeff. He is definitely a keeper! He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. We have stayed at dozens of B&B's in New England and Jeff was, by far, the most personable innkeeper we have encountered.By the time we left, I felt like he was an old friend. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed In Room 9. We didn't hear a sound from the rest of the inn and were able to great a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Though overdue, we would like to say that hospitality and attention was superb during our stay in Sept 2013. Extra special accommodations for our daughter, Amanda, was especially appreciated.
The Continental breakfast was excellent. All in all we would love to stay at the Marblehead Inn again. Karlene and John were superb hosts rendering us a warm welcoming.

John and Susanne Funchion
Norfolk, CT 06058

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Found this place via some locals in a coffee place in the town. Fantastic room, separate seating area (lounge) huge bed, great hospitality. Wasn't even planning on visiting Marblehead but was so disappointed with Salem that we decided to go through there on our way to Boston, I would recommend it to anyone within 50 miles well worth the detour....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our six rooms and five suites with private baths. All 11 have been newly decorated.All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Gilchrist and Soames soaps •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable •Wifi •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Kitchenettes in the suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.