We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable bed & breakfast inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marblehead Inn to your Saves list
Marblehead Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Bayport, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable bed & breakfast inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Extremely comfortable and well maintained B&B. The Inn keepers were very helpful and informative, anything you needed pertaining to accommodations was taken care of, quickly and efficiently. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful, the coffee was excellent. Stayed with a group of friends during the Marblehead Christmas Walk Nov. 30 - Dec. 2, we all had a good three days. Would come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you, Jean. We're very happy to know that you and Nick enjoyed your stay - and, the coffee! We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    38
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
80
92
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is an upscale b&b that is housed in a lovely old mansion in picturesque Marblehead. It's steps from a shady trail that leads to the center of town, and to Salem if you're up to the hike ( it's only a couple of miles). That being said, there are a couple of areas that are below " upscale" and that should be improved, given the rates. First, the towels. I've stayed in many B&Bs in New England with similar rates, and they all provided plush, absobent towels. The towels here are thin and scratchy. Next, the breakfast room. Why not provide a nice outdoor area with tables in a garden setting? There's plenty of room. And that old tennis court in the back, choked with weeds, could use some attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We're sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of your towels. It sounds like we missed some that were at the end of their lifespan and should have been removed from service. We take pride in our attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. I apologize and appreciate you bringing that to our attention.
We realize that the tennis court area needs refreshing, and we already have plans to do that and to add garden seating.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Passed by this property numerous times and then finally stayed there. First off, the Inn Keepers are extremely helpful and the property was clean and and convenient. The downside was the room/suite, while very roomy and with all the accoutrements (microwave, fridge, sink), was depressingly dark. Once the thought entered out mind, my wife and I could not shake the thought of the motel/inn in "Psycho". Not a big deal but one that became hard fore us to shake. Out of necessity, if we had to, we would stay there again but it would not be our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you found your suite to be too dark. As an old Victorian, the Inn has lots of dark wood and the gloomy weather we had during your stay probably made it feel even more so. Perhaps, next time, a suite on the other side of the building would be better for you. We hope you'll return and give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here in one of their smaller rooms on the nights of October 31st and November 1st 2012, right after the hurricane. The innkeepers and staff were all very friendly and helpful. It's only a short distance away from Salem for their Halloween festivities, which is great.

The room was clean and well made and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub had jets in it which made for a lot of bubbles during a bubble bath! I love bubble baths!

The breakfasts that they offered was better than a standard continental breakfast with healthier options than just a buttered bagel and toast. They had strawberries and different kinds of breads, juices, coffee, different kinds of tea and more. I'm sure the offerings are seasonal but while I was there what they had was nice.

I would definitely stay here again, especially if I am looking for a nice quiet night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you, Shawn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at the Marblehead Inn which was located less than five minutes down the street from Salem State University. From the moment we checked in, the Innkeepers, John and Karlene, couldn't have been any more friendly or helpful with suggestions of where to eat and what to see while there. Our room was clean with a private bath, nicely decorated and comfortable for the 2 of us. We were thrilled with the breakfasts served each morning. They were delicious! We will definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We had a small, lovely decorated room on the first floor with a king bed and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you, Marie. We're very happy to hear that you and Ed enjoyed your room and your stay, and we're looking forward to seeing you both again for the next parent's event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Located within 1 mile of Marblehead Center, yards off the bike/jogging path through town, under 2 miles from scenic Marblehead Neck, this warm and welcoming place is a perfect base from which to explore locally or farther afield (Salem, Boston) Most of the rooms are large suites with sitting room separate from bedroom and include a kitchenette with some eating/cooking supplies. Some downstairs rooms are cramped and tiny, so inquire ahead of time (for larger rooms, you need to walk up 1 or 2 flights of stairs) Coffee-tea and snacks are available at all hours, full continental breakfast is satisfying (yogurt, cold cereal, variety of breads and pastries, jams and butter and peanut butter) Staff is friendly and helpful Internet blinks on and off and can be quite slow, and booking is by phone, not available on internet

Come here for a very satisfying stay

Room Tip: make sure you book the larger suites, avoid cramped first-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you, Kay. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and your visit to the area. And we'd like to let you know that, in addition to phone reservations, we do also offer secure online reservations from our website, our Facebook page, and also here on Tripadvisor. We're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a quiet overnight here meeting good friends for a brief reunion. The rooms were lovely, baths modern, breakfast delicious. We appreciated the small touches such as coffee, tea and snacks always available. From the moment we stepped in, the atmosphere was friendly and we were given excellent information regarding activities and dining in the area. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone wishing accommodations in Marblehead.

Room Tip: Discusss room selection with the hosts before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you, Debra. We're very happy to hear that you and Burke enjoyed your stay here at the inn. We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our six rooms and five suites with private baths. All 11 have been newly decorated.All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Gilchrist and Soames soaps •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable •Wifi •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Kitchenettes in the suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.