We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn Keepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marblehead Inn to your Saves list
Marblehead Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Inn Keepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had never stayed at an Inn before that housed inn keepers. Karlene and John are absolutely wonderful! A well-stocked breakfast every morning and snacks throughout the day; and they are so very personable and willing to answer any questions...certainly made our stay worthwhile. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Ask about the room that Amelia Earhart stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you, Jonas. We'e glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations. We enjoyed having you and Sara and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    38
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
80
94
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our experience at Marblehead Inn was not one to be repeated. The owners acted as if we were intruding into their home. I have stayed at many inns and Bed and Breakfasts and this one wa the least accomodating of any. Usually there is a comfortable and inviting sitting area. Not so at the Marblehead Inn since the settee and two chairs are crowded into a small passage space with a coffee table in the center. The one chair in the hallway is filled with the linens for the day. not only is that univiting, but quite inappropriate. The inn keepers themselves were always lurking either at the computer or pretending to be reading the newspaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinions regarding your recent stay. We value guest feedback and do our best to address any issues, while always keeping in mind the safety and well being of our guests and staff, and working within the constraints of a very old building.
Built in 1872, the Inn has retained much of its private home feel. As a classic Victorian, it offers intimate nooks and crannies, rather than large open spaces. We're sorry that seeing fresh linens on a chair under the stairs during housekeeping hours bothered you. This is an example of working within the limitations of the building and, interestingly, many of our guests have found that to be a homey touch.
In today's world, I think most innkeepers, when not interacting with guests, are pretty much always working on the computer. And, they certainly deserve a well earned break to read, or maybe just catch a breather, behind the newspaper.
One of the best parts of being an innkeeper is the variety of people we meet. And, one of the most challenging parts of being an innkeeper is recognizing that people have different wants, needs, and expectations, and that we cannot meet them all. We did our best and we're sorry that wasn't enough for you. We hope you don't give up on staying at other inns and B&B's and we wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I came with a group of Marines for the aviation centennial and was booked in the Marble Head Inn. Little did we know that we were staying in a historical Victorian Inn which is a nice change from main stream hotels. We do a lot of traveling and have stayed in quite a few places all over the country but none of them brought that feeling of home away from home like this place. Karlene & John were welcoming and treated us like family. They helped us with whatever we needed during our stay and gave us some tips on what to see while we were in town. The place was quiet and peaceful and close to plenty of things to see in Marblehead. I'm already planning a trip for the fall time to visit Marblehead with my wife and we will definitely be staying here!

-Corey Carlson, NJ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you, Corey. It was great having your group of helicopter pilots and mechanics stay here, and especially nice to know that you all have an appreciation for the special charms of the inn. You're a wonderful group of young men that we'd be happy to host again anytime. Having you all here felt like having family visit and it's wonderful to hear that you feel the same way. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the Fall and to meeting your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had to find a place to stay while visiting our daughter in Swampscott. We booked the Marblehead Inn and we were in the room behind the breakfast area, at the end of the hall,1st floor. The room was fine. It had a queen bed. Many of the rooms have suites for families. The continental breakfast was the usual. What made the Inn most enjoyable was the delightful couple running it. They were all about helping you plan and enjoy your day's activities.

Room Tip: Call to give your desired room requests. There are many different configurations. There are a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you, Crissy. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your room tips for other travelers. We enjoyed having you and Mark here and we're looking forward to seeing you both again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My daughter gave me a Christmas gift...a trip. She is very ,VERY picky and in her selection of the Marblehead Inn, her pickiness is confirmed.
This place was beautiful in not only exterior appearance, but in the interior as well. The Victorian design follows throughout the entire building. What a nice surprise!!
Quiet, restful and private.
Parking ON SITE available, with easy IN and OUT access. Walking to the offerings of Marblehead is easy from this location, let alone the caretakers KNOW what to see and do in the area!!!
Friendly, courteous and efficient in/out checking. Clean environment with a nice atmosphere for chatting in the breakfast area.
The only thing missing from this Christmas gift is a big huge BOW on the doorway!! I was SO happy and comfortable staying here.
I highly recommend The Marblehead Inn to anyone and everyone looking for a place to stay in Marblehead.

Room Tip: Don't want to share a bed since you are two singles, or just a mom and kid? They have it...just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you, Bonnie. We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised, happy, and comfortable here. And, what a lovely image you've presented! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We only spent one night at the Marblehead Inn before returning to Florida but wished we had budgeted more time. The building and our room were lovely, with a very nice breakfast.

John and Karlene were gracious and very helpful, showing us the local restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you, Dick. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the area and your stay at the Inn. We're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon and for a longer stay this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I decided to get away this past weekend. (August 3rd. to the 5th., 2012). We had visited Marblehead only 1 other time, and stayed at a B&B. This time we made a reservation at your inn, via the internet. Your Inn turned out to be a GREAT experience. My wife and I felt "comfortable" from the first step through your door. We were greeted warmly by Karlene & John Pierce, Resident Innkeepers. Our room turned out to be very nice. We were pleasantly surprised at the great condition of this historic Inn. The Inn and rooms were very clean and inviting. One concern we had before arrival, was air conditioning. Although it was a hot weekend, the air conditioner in the room kept us very comfortable. Even the bathroom was nicely updated. It's apparently this facility is loving cared for. The continental breakfast was much more than I anticipated. There was a great selection of different fruit, bakery items, cereals, coffee, juices, etc. I strongly recommend to anyone visiting this area to stay at The Marblehead Inn. You will not be disappointed. It's also conveniently located near the historic downtown area with speciality shops and restaurants. We were surprised to find out this weekend was the Marine Aviation Centennial Celebration in town. Without a doubt, we WILL stay here again, on our next trip to Marblehead!
Thanks for everything,

Ron & Diane Lemire
Seabrook, NH

Room Tip: We ended up with the last room available, and it was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you, Ron. It's wonderful to know that you really enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. John and I enjoyed having you and Diane here and we're looking forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our six rooms and five suites with private baths. All 11 have been newly decorated.All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Gilchrist and Soames soaps •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable •Wifi •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Kitchenettes in the suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.