We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marblehead Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marblehead Inn to your Saves list
Marblehead Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Marblehead Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at the Marblehead Inn in May 2012. We thorougly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were charming, well furnished and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bath was modern but stylish.
The best part of the Inn is the support of the hosts. Both Karlene and her husband took time to explain what was in the near environment as well as in Boston.
We highly recommend the Marblehead Inn
John and Mary Ellen

Room Tip: Third floor suites have refrigerators, stoves. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you, John. We 're happy to hear that you and Mary Ellen enjoyed your stay with us, along with some of the local attractions. We're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    38
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
80
92
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I recently stayed at Marblhead Inn, and it was a wonderful experience! The rooms were clean, spacious, and well decorated. The bathrooms were modern, and the hosts were very friendly and interesting. I have already recommended this inn to family members who are planning to visit the Boston area in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Launa, thank you for the wonderful review and, for recommending us to your family. We appreciate it and we're looking forward to hosting them soon. We hope to see you again, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here for our last night in the US after a 10 day trip. It is perfectly situated for the short hop to Marblehead which is a really pretty and quaint fishing village - well worth the visit, and only 10 mins in the other direction to Salem. The hotel looks very impressive from the outside, but for some reason felt much smaller inside.
Our room was quite small , but the high ceiling helped. The rich dark decor made it feel a little oppressive for my personal taste. The bathroom was clean and functional but the waterworks in the hotel were noisy and we could hear the nextdoor / upstairs rooms using the plumbing / showers.
Breakfast was cosy - a good choice of options, but a single table that sat just 6 people so at one point we were playing musical chairs to accomodate everyone. We were a party of 4 , with another single person already having breakfast, so when aother party of 3 arrived for breakfast, there was no where for them to sit ... a little odd I thought for a large-ish hotel.
The hosts, John and Karlene, were very friendly and helpful but overall, I was a little disappointed with this place.

Room Tip: An upstairs room may be quieter on the plumbing front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you, Sandra. We're glad you enjoyed Marblehead and the surrounding area, and sorry that you were disappointed with the inn. Built as a private home in 1872 and converted to a guest house in the 1920's, the inn has retained much of it's 'private home' feel and style. This extends to it's guest rooms and suites, as well as, the common areas.
We've found that it's always helpful to know about our guest's expectations and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a beautiful Victorian home, very fresh, immaculate and comfortable. We enjoyed meeting and talking with our hosts very much. They were so warm and welcoming, so well travelled and willing to share some of the unique experiences they had as they made their way around the world.. It was really fun being there and I hope for a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: First floor corner room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you, Ann. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with you and look forward to see you the next time you come up for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We found the Marblehead Inn to be the perfect location from which to tour the Marblehead area. The Inn is a beautiful old house reconstructed into individual, well decorated rooms with high ceilings, large windows, comfy beds with wonderful linens, and modern baths. The couple who run the Inn were friendly, considerate of our privacy, and most helpful with all of our questions. I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation, Bobbi. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the marblehead Inn and had a wonderful time. The place is very charming and the host are both wonderful people. They made us feel quite at home and were quite helpful with answering any questioms we had about the area or what to do with our time.
We will defintly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you, Frank. It was a pleasure having you and Laura stay here and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was so exhausted after the last Boston Marathon that I was looking for a quiet place to rest after the race. The Marblehead Inn was a perfect place to stay near Salem and Gloucester. We had a tremendous welcoming upon our arrival and all support to help us find good places to visit or restaurants. Don't miss the breakfast especially the blueberry muffins, they are delicious!! The Marblehead Inn is a place I can highly recommend without hesitation. Best, Laurent

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you, Laurent. It was a pleasure having you both, and very interesting for us to host a marathoner. We hope you come back to run again next year and that we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our six rooms and five suites with private baths. All 11 have been newly decorated.All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Gilchrist and Soames soaps •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable •Wifi •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Kitchenettes in the suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marblehead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.