We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Save
You added Seagull Inn to your Saves list
106 Harbor Ave., Marblehead, MA 01945   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

It was my bday weekend and my boyfriend and I wanted to do a weekend away. More specifically, we wanted to find a place that was close to our NYC home where we could take our dog that would be our "home away from home". We found it. Ruth & Skip were absolutely amazing. They are absolutely friendly without being overbearing. The Inn is just steps away from the water and the kayaks are right there. Guests also have complete access to their bikes. Both were so much fun.

We stayed in the Sea Breeze suite the first 3 nights and it was really nice. It was extremely comfortable. The bedroom and sitting room are separate from each other and the shower in the bathroom has amazing water flow.

We decided to stay an additional day last minute and moved to the Lighthouse suite. Fully equipped kitchen, beautiful private roof deck as well as side deck; this suite was 10x better than our Manhattan apt.

All of this plus Ruth's bfast made us not too happy to come home. Before we left, we made sure to book a few more weekends next year so we know we will have something to look forward to.

Oh, and I didn't mention that you will find soda, juice, water and snacks fully supplied in your room!! With some sherry.

My boyfriend and I plus our dog absolutely recommend Seagull Inn.

  • Liked — Dog friendly, wonderful owners, easy access to water, beautiful views, great bfast, comfy suites & beds
  • Disliked — Loved it all!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watkins Glen, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We arrived after a long day of driving, when we got to the B&B it was as if we got our second wind. Ruth and Skip were welcoming and let us know we could take the kayaks out or go for a short walk to Castle Rock. Castle Rock was only a quarter mile from the house and it was amazing! We took photos and took in the beautiful vista.
Our room was the Library room, the bed was extremely comfy. In the morning we had a nice spread of breakfast foods available. We chatted with the other B&B guests and enjoyed fresh hot coffee! Overall, it was a great experience. Ruth and Skip are great hosts and will reccomend some fun things to do and good places to eat.

  • Liked — The location, away from the city, but still close
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHMOND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

A long weekend getaway turned into one of our best vacations ever because of the Seagull Inn and hosts Ruth and Skip Sigler. Just looking to leave the work world behind, my husband and I were given the royal treatment including a beautiful, water-view, breeze filled room; woke to aromas of fresh bread and coffee, and were entertained with our hosts' stories, knowledge of the area, suggestions for itineraries, and just plain old hospitality. Self-proclaimed B and B "officianados", we both agree this was our best experience ever. The Seagull has spoiled us for all others!

  • Liked — Everything - cleanliness, ambience, food, hosts, location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Great people, great place, great room, great location.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Parking is not quite perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Just book it.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

Having just returned from spending 3 nights at The Seagull Inn, our visit is still fresh in our minds. The inn is located on charming Marblehead Neck, which is surrounded by the ocean on one side and Marblehead Harbor on the other. We stayed in the Library Suite, a lovely book-lined bedroom with a large adjoining bathroom (with shower) on the main floor of this beautiful home. Ruth and Skip Sigler are the owners, and the pride with which they run their B & B is evident from the moment we were greeted at the front door and shown our suite. Often it's the special little touches that help to create a magical effect. Here on a table in our bedroom we found a small carafe of sherry, some wrapped chocolates, a crystal jar filled with mixed nuts, and a small fridge filled with complimentary soft drinks and bottled water.

Breakfast each morning was served in the charming dining room with a view of Marblehead Harbor. This was no ordinary continental breakfast! Ruth bakes her own whole wheat bread every day, along with scrumptious home-made muffins or scones. The buffet table is spread with platters of smoked salmon, capers and cream cheese, sliced cheese and ham, jams, hot and cold cereal, hard-cooked eggs, and a variety of juices. What a wonderful way to start each morning, with a hearty breakfast and engaged in conversation with Ruth and Skip, who are intelligent and fun and a delight to get to know.
This spotless B & B is lovingly run, so much so that one cannot imagine any guest leaving without giving Ruth and Skip big thank-you hugs.

Gail and Steven Oliver
Toronto, Ontario

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

We had a wonderful stay at the Seagull Inn. It started out with a warm welcome from our hosts, Ruth and Skip; they were charming and very welcoming. Sort of like visiting your favorite relatives, without the pressure!

The inn was located in a quiet, established neighborhood with a great view of the Atlantic. The room we stayed in, the Library Room, was warm, comfortable, and furnished with every ammenity we could ever want.

Skip and Ruth served up a lovely breakfast every morning, family style, and we sat around and shared plans for the day.

Although I've stayed in several B&B's, this was my boyfriend's first experience. I was nervous as to his reaction, but after our stay with Ruth and Skip, he's hooked, too.

Located only 15 miles out of Boston and less than 5 miles from Salem, the Seagull Inn gave us the best of all worlds...easy, convenient location and serene, warm surroundings. Thanks again Ruth and Skip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Seagull Inn in Marblehead, MA.
It's a "B & B"....but much more.
The rooms are clean, comfortable, and the linens nice and "white."
But the unique part of the experience are the hosts--Ruth and Skip Sigler.
They're perfectly suited for this business. Ruth makes homemade grain bread fresh every day. The breakfast part is a treat; with many selections. Ruth being a "health nut" has everything literally from "fruit to nuts."
Cocktail hour is when Skip shines. He's a delight and truly a fun and fun guy. So, you can fun and friends, or you can have privacy. We would recommend the Seagull Inn to anyone. We've already recommended it to friends and daughters.
Dick & Carol Kolesar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Address: 106 Harbor Ave., Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.