We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McMexican Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Cactus

The Fat Cactus
215 Broadway, Lynnfield, MA 01940-2313
781-584-6869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 25 Restaurants in Lynnfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saugus, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“McMexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

There was nothing special about the food at Fat Cactus. The menu and offering was typical of a Boston "Mexican" restaurant...burritos, fajitas, and the sort and was rather bland. What really surprised me is that not only did they not have Chili Relleno's on the menu, no one, including the manager, even knew what they were. The Fat Cactus appears to be more of a night spot for drinking with spicy appetizers and margaritas. If you want truly good Mexican food, try Mexico Lindo in Melrose; you'll notice a big difference!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    18
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, MA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We decided to try the ribs because they sounded good. The portions were huge, but the food was horrible. I wouldn't waste my time or money. There are other Mexican restaurants that are 100% better than this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we moved hear in April 2012, we decided to try Fat Cactus since it was in walking distance from our apartment. The chips were ok but the salsa was terrible. I ordered chicken enchiladas and my wife ordered steak tacos. The chicken was wonderful and her steak was very good. We went once more that year and food and service was great. Salsa was better but still not good. We went again this year after they said they had a new chef. OMG the food was terrible. Nothing we ordered was worth eating and salsa tasted like it came out of a tin can.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fat Cactus steak tips are destined for the beef hall of fame!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What more can I say , The Fat Cactus scores real real high in all categorys of quality medium priced restaurants! The brightness and the cleanliness of this Mexican restaurant is well appreciated also. We had such a nice meal, larger than life portions and Delicious Delicious Delicious taste !!! Best steak tips I've tasted in years. This is a lynnfield Mass best bet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mexican food at a good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Ambiance was great and service was good. The size of the plates are good as the prizes. Nachos are great and quasadillas. Spicy chicken burrito is good but not the best I've had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Cactus also viewed

 

Been to The Fat Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.