We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony & Penny's Restaurant

Tony & Penny's Restaurant
18 Canterbury St, Ludlow, MA 01056
(413) 583-6351
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 44 restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: American, Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We recently had a get together after the funeral Mass of our Mother. In the past, we have had family gatherings and we found the food to be consistently delicious. The servers were friendly and helpful and we wanted them to know we all noticed their hard work. Thank you! and another reason we wanted to rate Tony & Penny's is that they did not rush us and we stayed longer than we ever imagined to.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    10
    10
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lousy cook! Won't go back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went last night with my wife and two young kids and was surprised to see how nice the place was redecorated. I was also surprised how bad the majority of our food was. The kale soup and fresh bread was very good, but that was where it ended. My son ordered barbecued ribs on special. They came out as country style ribs with ENOUGH bottled sauce for TWENTY orders. Not what he anticipated at all. My Wife's grilled salmon was over cooked and dry, was cooked on a skillet and loaded with oil and over cooked, soggy veggies. My daughter refused to eat her hamburger and fries since the accompanying pickle and olives made her dish soggy with brine. Fortunately, My grilled calamari and shrimp with rice was edible and decent. When the kind and efficient waitress returned to our table to ask how everything was, we voiced our concerns over the untouched food. She let the cook know how bad the food was, returned with an apology and offered free dessert which we declined. We Have been to this restaurant in the past and considered it a good stand by, however this will be the last time. Better places to spend $80!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston,il.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had five in our group. The service was prompt and attentive. They have a nice selection of wines including Portuguese. I had a Monte Velho-half a bottle (split size) for $9.00. Our entrees were: pork chops, scallops, and a seafood dish. The portions are large. My seafood with rice was served in a large bowl. It included shrimp, mussels, scallops and a lobster on top. The complementary bread (white or wheat) is served warm. Our mistake was we ate too much bread. We couldn't finish our dinners. I did take back to the hotel a piece of their triple chocolate truffle cake($6.00). It was deliciously sinfully good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, Sssllllooowww service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Seven of us have just returned from the restaurant. It was our third time, and the kitchen doesn't ever run fast, but this was agonizing. They brought out freshly baked bread, three kinds, which was nice, but we must have waited an hour and a half to get served. The waitress was very pleasant, and apologetic, and we understood that it was not her fault that the kitchen was so slow.

The meals were good--nice salads, kale soup, very good mixed grill and mariscada. My father-in-law said the lamb chops were tough, but there were no other complaints, except that the waitress came out after about an hour of waiting to say that there were no scallops, which two of us had ordered. Why it took them that long to figure out, I'm not sure. We said we didn't want to wait for any substitutions, and when the food came out, there were indeed two half orders of scallops; I guess that was all they could rustle up, or go to the sea and catch--that's how long everyone was waiting.

The waitress did offer to give us free coffee and dessert, which was nice, but not really compensation enough for the wait. Again, it was nothing that she did wrong; the kitchen was just too slow, on a night when the restaurant was certainly not packed.

We like the food at Tony and Penny's, but doubt that we'll be back until they get the service right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mother's Day Flop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Attended mothers day brunch 2013 and was very disappointed. Service was poor, food was poor; food that was meant to be cold was warm and warm foods were cold, all of it tasteless. The atmosphere left much to be desired, tables were too close together, buffet tables the same it felt like cattle being herded to the troughs. Mimosa's tasted like water, coffee served in paper cups! No one offered beverages to my children. It was all around an unpleasant experience, I will never go back! The entire family felt the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony & Penny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony & Penny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony & Penny's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.