We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minuteman National Historical Park

Minuteman National Historical Park
Lincoln, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Lincoln
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

All about the events in the Lexington/Concord area that were the unofficial beginnings of the American Revolution...wonderful ranger presentations and movie, stunning scenery of the area...well worth a visit even if you have never been a history buff!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Historical, Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had our two grandsons (10 &12) us. Both are learning about the American Revolution and are interested in guns. Went went to the main visitors' center first. They an excellent movie that had an excellent movie on the role that Lexington and Concord played in the begining of the revolution. Next we went to the North Bridge and then on to the firing of a musket. The rangers were very informative. The only negative point is that that some of the demonstrations were at similar times. Thus you would need to spend most of the day in the park to participate in the various demonstrations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nature, history and exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We live nearby and enjoy walking or biking here on the wide paths through woods, past farms and in the footsteps of the Patriots who stood up to the British in the Revolutionary War. Whenever we have out-of-guests, we take them to the North Bridge or one of the excellent 2 Visitor Centers, especially the one at the Lexington end which is multimedia. This winter I hope to snowshoe in this safe, quiet park. Inspiring and relaxing. Rangers at historic sites make hisory real.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historical! Fun! Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great family time (kids aged 6 and 10). The presentation at the visitor center is informative and dramatic and sets the tone. We "mustered" for the troop training and enjoyed marching with the wooden "muskets" and learning some of the specific battle strategies of the time. The rangers were very warm and encouraging with the kids, who did the Junior Ranger books. Things are spread out, so we drove in between the stops, but we'll probably come back and hike or bike it on another day. We didn't have time for all the stops anyway, so we'll be back. It's really an amazing story and a presentation that brings it to life. The National Park Service is amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
264 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“This is where the British found out that this was going to be a different kind of war”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This park, which more or less follows the route along which the British marched between Lexington and Concord (with grievous losses from the Minute Men hiding behind trees and stone fences), has many interesting and historical sites in it. One of my favorites was the Paul Revere capture site, where Revere's famed midnight ride ended with capture by the British. At that site I learned that Revere was not actually held, but released after questioning, though the British took his horse from him. The park is exceptionally interesting and informative.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minuteman National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Minuteman National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minuteman National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Minuteman National Historical Park to your Saves list