We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cake, good coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Lago Incorporated

Via Lago Incorporated
1845 Massachusetts Ave, Lexington, MA 02420
(781) 861-6174
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Delicatessen, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good cake, good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Dropped in for cake and coffee. Banana bread was rather good as was the raspberry oat square I had. Coffee was decent and service friendly and excellent - cannot fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Via Lago restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Via Lago is mainly a catering business but it has restaurant space near the Green. You can obtain a nice lunch ordering from the glass case containing salads, quiche, etc or ask for a quick sandwich. Lunch is fine but Via Lago is a real treasure for dinner. The food is excellent, imaginative, interesting and reasonably priced. My husband and I have begun eating there often during the week for an impromptu night out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Versatile and yummy choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Via Lago is great for: prepared gourmet type items to eat on premises or take away, lunch, and now, dinner. I have not been there for dinner but several people tell me the restaurant transforms itself for the nightime crowd: darker and more atmospheric, white tablecloths, full bar with bar tenders, and so on.
When you go for a pick up item, or for lunch, it is more casual. All of the choices presented to you at Via Lago are delicious.
This foodie place has been in business for a long long time. Their BLTs are the absolute best anywhere: chock full of crispy bacon and good amounts of the LT portion as well. I mean, it is stuffed with bacon!
Their prepared items always look absolutely fabulous, and whenever I buy them, I am never disappointed. There are many choices for both prepared foods and lunch items: multiple salads, tons of sandwiches including warm/pressed ones, tortellini and orzo and several sorts of pasta salads (they have been doing such things long before they became fads), with and without meats, quiche of the day, chicken and fish entrees of several varieties, potato pancakes, I could go on and on.
So if you find yourself at Via Lago for take out, or any of your basic meals, you will be pleased. Prices are completely reasonable as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best dining in Lexington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

For breakfast, lunch, or dinner, Via Lago is your best bet in Lexington. It is right near the Green and has delicious and eclectic menus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Reuben”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had a terrific turkey reuben and greek salad. It is a nice place to get a low key lunch. I have not been for dinner, but I hear great things.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Lago Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Via Lago Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Lago Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.