We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The meeting house of the militia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buckman Tavern

Buckman Tavern
1 Bedford Street, Lexington, MA 02420
+1 781-862-1703
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Lexington
Type: Historic Sites, Bar/ Clubs, Museums
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Historic Tavern is one of the few colonial era buildings still standing around the Battle Green. It is now a Museum with self-guided audio tours.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The meeting house of the militia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We didn't go in because it was just a little tourist shop inside, but we did stroll around it and read that there is supposedly a bullet hole somewhere on the building from a shot fired in the Revolutionary War, although we didn't find it. If you're in the area, it's right across from the Lexington green, and worth a walk by.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“See all 3 houses for $12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The houses have history, and there are stories for each of them that bring history to life. The tour guides are what really make these houses a "must see" - they are so well informed, and engaging. Don't take my word for it - go and see for yourself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautifully restored building which feels like stepping back in time. The guide was very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about her subject. As a self confessed history geek, this place was fantastic, but both my teenagers enjoyed the tour too.
The museum shop is small but well stocked with quality, good value items, and staffed by chatty friendly volunteers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
201 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“As Historical as It Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great Historical site - well maintained and well serviced. Drop by and imagine yourself as one of the carousing young Minutemen who prepared themselves for Battle on the Green.Often, period dressed attendants can provide some interesting insights into the place as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were on our way out of town and decided to see "just one more" historic spot. It was just the two of us with our VERY thorough guide; we learned so much about the first battle of the revolution. Our docent was so passionate as she spoke about this tavern, it was easy to imagine ourselves back in time-like we were there waiting for the Redcoats. As we heard the story of the battle unfold we looked upon the beautiful green grounds and found it hard to imagine the bloody occurances that took place here. Absolutely a grand tour and worth seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Front Office Manager at Buckman Tavern, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad that you decided to take in "just one more" tour and enjoyed your experience to Buckman Tavern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckman Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Buckman Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckman Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.