We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find in Berkshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   462 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Lenox
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good find in Berkshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Hotel looks renovated recently. Clean rooms, new linen and carpet. Mini fridge n microwave in the room. Front desk gentleman was well behaved. Neighbourhood is descent for family stay and hotel has nice garden for kids. Room rates are affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    44
    16
    12
See reviews for
40
58
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a straight forward, plain jane motel. It's in good shape, seems to have been done over from some of the older reviews, but it's not the Taj Mahal, but then again, you're not paying for the T.M. Room was nice and large, clean and bed very comfortable and not a bedbug in sight. Wireless worked well in our room as did the micro wave and small fridge. The breakfast was typical and adaquate. Front desk people were nice and friendly. Only problem, on night we arrived, the sink wouldn't drain so rather than wait for next day maintenance or pack up all our stuff and move, we borrowed a plunger and freed up the problem on our own. Location is very good, about halfway between Stockbridge attractions and Mt. Greylock area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is pretty much exactly what you'd expect for the name & the price. It was clean, the heat & AC worked fine & the bed was pretty comfortable. The Wifi signal in my room wasn't so great is pretty much the only negative I have. And the folks at the front desk made it feel like a pleasantly old-fashioned family-run kind of place. Oh, and housekeeping actually respected my Do Not Disturb sign, which was nice. I'd be fine with staying here again if I were in the area, though it didn't blow me away or anything so if I got a better rate on one of the nearby, similar chains I'd just go with that.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

this is a rather typical motel but it is a good option for those on a budget. the lenox area can be very expensive and the motel offered a very reasonable rate with some nice extras including a fridge and microwave in the room and continental breakfast. the management was very nice. the wheelchair accessible room does not have a roll in shower but they did have a tub seat which made the bathroom very functional. Although this place has been recently refurbished it felt a little warn and if you really looked behind the doors, etc it could use a little more cleaning. Overall though it was a good deal for the price. It also does not sit in the historic town but this is only a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdoshi, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your candid comments. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with the Services and Amenities like our free breakfast, microwave,fridge and accessible rooms. We will pass on your good feedback to front desk staff and also we will give instructions to cleaning staff to take extra care while cleaning behind the doors.

We hope you choose Howard Johnson on your next visit to the town.

Thanks,
Management, Howard Johnson Lenox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nothing wrong with it , was a decent,clean motel like you find all across the US.

Some of the reviews on here make it out to be worth a special visit , I fail to see why as it is like numerous other motels

But from my friend's experience at The Village Inn in Lenox center the same weekend, I am glad I made the call to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdoshi, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you candid comments. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Lenox with your family. Thanks for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Lenox.

Thanks,
Management, Howard Johnson Lenox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The young lady I talked with prior to my trip was very courteous and knowledgable. Upon arrival, greeted cordially by the manager, who was on duty every time I visited the desk. The room was large and clean, including the bathroom. Lighting was not the best, but that's my only reservation. Fridge, microwave & coffee maker in room.
Complimentary continental breakfast looked very nice, but we opted to go out for breakfast. Rates were low using AARP. Nearby restaurants (within 1/4 mile) were excellent. Would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdoshi, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your candid comments. We are pleased to know that you had good stay at Howard Johnson Lenox. We will forward your positive remarks about Breakfast, Cleanliness and Attentive Staff to the concern Staff members, they will be happy to hear that. Also we will discuss the lighting issue you mentioned in our management meeting. We wish you choose Howard Johnson for you next stay when you visit Lenox again.

Thanks,
Management, Howard Johnson Lenox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We decided to stay here, because they have a great reputation for cleanliness, and service. We live in Pittsfield Massachusetts, about 10 minutes away, but wanted to treat ourselves to a first class Inn, with amenities. We absolutely loved this place, and I certainly recommend anyone who coming out this way, to book a room here, as a matter of fact, I have company from Florida visiting in October, and I'm going to book a room for them for three days. There was a gentleman there, I believe his name was Navin, super nice very acomadating, every request I made, he took serious, but I got to say everyone there was very helpful, and considerate. This is a JEWEL in Lenox Massachusetts, do yourself a favor check this place out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Lenox
Howard Johnson Express Hotel
Lenox Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lenox
Address: 462 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Lenox features Suite Rooms, Jacuzzi Suites, 2 Queen Bed Room, 1 King Bed Wheelchair accessible room, 1 Queen Bed Room, Two Double Bed room, 1 King Bed Room, Non Smoking and Smoking Rooms. Hotel Amenities are Outdoor Pool, Free Breakfast, Free High Speed wireless internet, Free Parking, Truck/Bus Parking, Cable with HBO. Every room has air condition, High Speed wireless Internet, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Iron and Ironing Board. Extra amenities includes ice machines, Extra bed ($10.00), Crib ( $ 10.00), safe deposit box ($ 1.50), local phone, AM/FM radios/ Alarm Clocks. Hotel is minutes away from Mass Pike (Exit-2) and conveniently located on Routes 20 & 7 in Lenox, Massachusetts. Visit nearby museums, theaters, ski areas (Jiminy Peak & Brodie Mountain), cross-country skiing, shopping stores, scenic bike routes, mountain biking trails and hiking trails (including Appalachian Trail & Taconic ) while staying at Howard Johnson Express Inn Hotels in Lenox MA. Tanglewood is only 5.6 miles from this Howard Johnson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.