We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Inn to your Saves list
Lenox Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   525 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Salem, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights in early June 2012. The place was clean and convenient. It's hard to find moderately priced rooms this time of year in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holderness, Nh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

An inexpensive, comfortable night stay as we were passing through. Would stay here again if we were in the area. Close to many restaurants (we loved Halpin's Grub & Pub) and other area attractions. Older building but very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: #112 off in a corner - a little quieter and an extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stopped here for a night when passing through. What you get is exactly what they say. A bed, a fridge, TV, WiFi, a bathroom, and that's about it.

There's no microwave nor is there in-room coffee - and that's as advertised. There is coffee in the office but it's that slightly dark-brown warm water that comes out of a pot marked coffee but doesn't actually taste much of coffee, or anything. Someone else mentioned the paper-thin walls. Oh yes, you most certainly can hear the conversations of your neighbors.

On the downside, the extractor fan in the bathroom rattled so much that it sounded like a jumbo jet so I was thankful for the ability to turn on the light by the bathroom mirror. The sheets on my bed were somewhat rough to; perhaps over-bleached, perhaps just cheap. Again, this is a budget motel and if you're expecting more then you'd be in the wrong market segment.

If you are simply looking for a bed for the night, then this is a viable option. If you prefer your comforts and a little more style, then you might want to pay a little extra and move up-market instead.

Would I come back? Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for a week, + were very pleased w/ our experience. The price was great, (the lowest in town). The owners were really helpful, friendly + very quick to fix any problem's. They always kept the room neat + clean. We would not hesitate to return + have recommended it to a relative who will be staying in town in the near future.

Room Tip: Don't let the location scare you. It seems like it would, as it is located on a busy road...but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

The lenox inn fits the bill for an affordable stay in the berksires. The motel is close to many fine restaurants, tanglewood, skying, shopping and other tourist spots. The beds are very comfortable. The room has a desk, two chairs, great tub shower combo. as for the general cleanliness of the room, I did find a hair on the bathroom floor and some kind of a web in the corner of the room. I travel often and have seen these things in five star hotels. Not a big deal.bottom line is that you wont go wrong at the lenox inn.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I rated the Lenox Inn three stars solely based on its affordable rates and the bang-for-buck factor. The "you get what you pay for" expression comes to mind.

Don't come to this motel if you're a germaphobe because the place wouldn't pass your standards. The room's odor alone will knock you off your feet.

Also, don't stay here if you care at all that others can hear your in-room conversations and activities--yes, all of them! The walls are so paper thin that my niece, staying in the adjoining room, was able to recite word-for-word what I'd been talking about.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I'm submitting this review because in my experience this week the motel is highly overrated on all of the sites I checked. The stay wasn't a disaster, but I wouldn't want to repeat it. The place isn't very clean--during my usual bedbug check, I discovered lots of uncleaned corners, including lots of hair and dirt between the mattress and bedspring on the bedspring cover, which looked like it hadn't been washed in ages. There was also hair on the back of the toilet. The room smelled like chemical air fresheners. The motel rooms are very near a busy road and the sound of passing cars was constant throughout the night (as were sounds from people in the room next door). The proprietor kept talking on the phone while checking me in, and couldn't be bothered to recommend a local restaurant. Also, there was no latch on the inside of the door to the room, which generally makes me feel less safe. I really don't understand the good reviews that have been written!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Inn

Address: 525 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lenox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "The Heart of the Berkshires." The Lenox Inn offers its guests clean, comfortable, and affordable accommodations. Family-owned and operated, we take great pride in offering you the best of what the Berkshires has to offer. We are centrally located to many major attractions such as the Tanglewood Music Festival, Hancock Shaker Village, Bosquet Ski area, Jacobs Pillow, and the Norman Rockwell Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lenox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.