We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value on a Sunday Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club to your Saves list
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Room, Spa & Golf
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Value on a Sunday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick 2 night getaway just an hour from our home in Upstate NY. We took advantage of their Serenity Sunday Package and enjoyed a nice room right in the main house above the lobby. Although the room was a bit outdated the staff was very friendly and the long glass tunnel leading to the spa and fitness center was bright and cheery as it winds through the snowy field. The spa is modern and what you'd expect at a top notch resort. With our package, all the spa services were 20% both Sunday and Monday so we took advantage of that and had the works. Don't miss the Grand Mosaic treatment - Had the strangest most wonderful warm floating treatment without getting wet. Very unique! Dinner at the main dining room was a bit pricey for my taste given that the dining room was a bit worn but the food was good and we especially enjoyed sitting in front of the GIANT fireplace while waiting for the shuttle to take us back to our room. We hit the Lee PrimeOutlets that are close by on our way home and got some great buys. Looked like they had lots of different options for rooms and suites some being much more upscale than our room but it was a great time for the price! We'd do it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aren’t those quick getaways close to home fun? No hassles getting here and everything you need on or near the resort. And lucky you…having our signature treatment, The Grand Mosaik. We recently incorporated the new BABOR luxury skin care line into this service so thanks for sharing your experience. Our Serenity Sundays special runs through April 11, so perhaps there’s still time for another quick getaway at a great rate. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    127
    58
    51
    29
See reviews for
115
223
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My sister and I visited Cranwell for a spa weekend. Overall, I was very happy with our stay. My room was huge. The bathroom is a bit dated but still great. It was also enormous. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is not a spa that takes itself too seriously. It is relaxed and approachable. They offer a full range of treatments. The spa staff were warm. If you want an exclusive spa experience, go elsewhere. Otherwise, Cranwell is a great destination.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Relaxed and approachable is exactly what we like to hear about our spa and resort. Thank you so much for putting it perfectly. Hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA area
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This resort has everything for everyone, in any condition, even in the "off season". There was still snow on the ground, and more falling, in early March, to keep my husband happy cross-country skiing. I had torn my MCL and ACL, so I needed more TLC. I ran through my PT exercises in the fitness center. Someone was there to assist, and then took advantage of the most beautiful indoor pool. A whirlpool with a fire place is pure heaven! However, I admit my favorite spot was the "Quiet Room", sitting with a hot cup of tea, courtesy of the resort, in my spa robe. Breakfast in the "gilded age" mansion with a view of the mountains is THE way to start your morning. Our room was a very good size and the bed was most comfortable. I did not ask for handicapped, but the grab bars in the bathroom were a plus. All the staff was most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Sounds like your stay was just what the doctor ordered. Glad we could assist with your recovery process (and keep your husband occupied at the same time). Here’s hoping that you’ll return when you’re fully fit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited Cranwell for a spa weekend with two girlfriends. It was a celebratory getaway and we had a wonderful time. Potential visitors should note that many of the rooms are in different buildings than the spa itself -- ours was in an older building that was on some kind of historic hotel register. This made for a short walk through the falling snow to the spa facilities (not a huge hassle). The spa itself is very nice, separate shower/whirlpool/sauna for the ladies, so perhaps not a great place for a romantic spa weekend -- but the indoor pool would be a great place for dad to take the kids while mom gets a massage. The spa treatments were very good. We also used the fitness facilities and had a good pub dinner at the tavern; the dinner out at Alta in town was a highlight. Nice combination of "away from it all" and a cute town in close reach.

Room Tip: Make sure you check whether your room is in the main building, or connected by walkways, if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So glad you and the girls enjoyed your spa weekend at Cranwell Resort. Three of our buildings (Olmsted Manor, the Carriage House and Founders) have connections to the spa and we try to assign those rooms to spa guests when available. The rooms in Beecher’s Cottage are popular due to their spaciousness and charm (and in the summer golfers enjoy it being located next to the 1st tee). It was named after the Reverend Henry Ward Beecher (brother of Harriet Beecher Stowe) who originally owned this property back in the 1850’s. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went there for my husband's 30 birthday with my 18 months old daughter. Everything was just perfect and lovely.
The room was nice, clean and spacious. The wooden crib was very comfy and could roll easily to the other side of the room, so that we get some privacy while she was asleep...
The pool was great and the bathrooms to get changed, showered, etc... were nice and spacious. The pool was warm and nice for kids and there were enough room to swim or get lessons at the same time. There were even some balls and toys for kids, which my daughter loved.
I could not enjoy the SPA as I was pregnant at the time, but my husband went there every single day and loved it (steam room and jacuzzi) !!! He had two treatments, both of them he loved.
The breakfast at the music room is very diverse and has lot of choice.
In any situation, I felt people were very accommodating with our baby and very friendly.

Room Tip: We had one double queen bed in the Beecher cottage (rather that an king size) because the size of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranwellMktg, Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's so nice to experience Cranwell as a family, especially for a special occasion. Children love our indoor pool, Tavern fare, Scavenger Hunt and expansive grounds for running, playing and being... kids.

And yes, the rooms in Beecher's Cottage are quite spacious - This historic building (the oldest on property!) is a favorite among many guests.

Our Spa does offer treatments for expectant mothers, including our new "For Moms Only" package. Perhaps you can indulge in a relaxing massage or organic body scrub on your next trip here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Large, well appointed rooms, lovely grounds, excellent spa, large inviting indoor pool in a spacious sun filled area. Conveniently located near good shopping, wonderful restaurants, and many cultural activities. We had a very relaxing stay at Cranwell. Could easily spend more time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranwellMktg, Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
You've summed up Cranwell so nicely in your review. We hope to welcome you back soon. (Maybe for a little longer this time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I happened upon the Cranwell in the early 90's when the resort was an architects dream. We are antiquers, not golfers, but enjoy staying in luxury when we get away because my work schedule doesn't often allow me much time. We have popped in to Sloane's Tavern for a light lunch many times as we travelled through the area on our way to Vermont and have never been disappointed. We have stayed many times just us two for romantic getaways and also with our children and their friends on ski trips. Way back when I would have given the resort an incomplete because it was just that. The kids would play in an old gym on the property that I don't even know if it still exists. Now, 5 stars across the board. My only "criticism", would be that the pan seared duck breast served in the Mansion could have been cooked a little more. That is a personal preference and no knock on the talents on display in that dining room. Kudos!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Coming from someone who has seen Cranwell evolve over the years, I can’t thank you enough for sharing your perspective. We once used the gym (now gone) for winter indoor golf, but now have a facility across the road at Meadow View. Our Chef is always open to hearing about our guest preferences, so your comments and kudos are highly appreciated. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lenox
#4 Family Hotel in Lenox
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.