We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the U.S.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blantyre to your Saves list
Blantyre
16 Blantyre Road, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best in the U.S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This dining room could be the best non-urban restaurant in the U.S. The warm, welcoming and generous service by Pascal and his staff was always always superlative. The kitchen reaches a new sublime level. All three of our courses on the lunch prix fixe, for example, are of the highest quality One day, exceeding all, and achieving a status all its own, was the special fish of the day, a cod and its surrounding melange of seasonal tastes prepared with such finesse and care that the eating of it was as in a dream. Or perhaps it is that we will continue to dream of it.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
102
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north salem, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We can't say enough about our stay at the Blantyre. From the moment we arrived until the time of our check-out we were treated like the Queen of England! The service was beyond impeccable. The ammenities were fabulous. The little "extras" made us feel special. We can't wait to return for another amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

It was a short visit but o so memorable, wonderful people, wonderful rooms, wonderful place

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Blantyre almost 10 times over the years and we plan to continue our annual visit long into the future. The grounds are magnificent. The area is full of interesting places to visit (and of course, Tanglewood--but there's more, too). The service is superb. Some describe it as formal, which is true, but I would nuance it by adding it's old-fashioned and genuine. For some, the best feature is the dining room--it really is spectacular. The last time we stayed there, the chef's tasting menu was incredible. The Chef , Christopher Brooks, was recently recognized by Relais & Chateaux for his outstanding work. The hotel is now open during the winter months and I look forward to using the skating rink they place over the clay tennis courts (which I like playing on in the summer months). Getting a massage in the spa is recommended too. (Btw, I have stayed in the Paterson Suite twice--quite a room!)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Blantyre's a pretty special spot. We stayed in the Laurel Suite for one night for an anniversary. It's a stunning room - enormous bed nestled in a big bay window, fireplace, boudoir to prepare for dinner, pretty bathroom. The mod cons are all present, but tastefully tucked away.
Highlights:
- Wine tasting before dinner (Saturday evenings) and associated tour of the phenomenal wine cellars with the resident Wine Director, who's truly passionate about her field. Wine pairings with dinner were equally impressive.
- Sunday morning in bed with sun streaming in the windows, an amazing room service breakfast and the Sunday Times.
- Massage in the "Potting Shed" spa, followed by relaxing in/around the hot tub.
Meals were all delicious, the extra touches were nice and staff very welcoming. Enjoyed a nice stroll along the walking trail, with good warm boots provided for our use.
The drive from New York is fine - worth bringing a GPS or a patient navigator.
Gents, remember to bring tie and jacket for dinner. Girls, it's definitely an opportunity for a frock and heels.
Will hopefully head back soon - maybe in winter to partake of ice skating and hot chocolate outside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My husband, our dog and I had a wonderful vacation over the New Year holiday. We stayed in the Cottage by the Path. It was welcoming, clean and comfortable. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. We had several meals in the cottage - the food was excellent. The resort was perfect for a restful vacation.

  • Liked — the cottage
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

We went to Blantyre for our honeymoon, having just been married in New York. They could not have been more kind, generous, welcoming and accomodating. The entire community offers the utmost hospitatlity, and they made our stay truly wonderful. We indeed felt transported to another time; we felt totally pampered from the moment we arrived to the last. We cannot thank Blantyre enough for our, wonderful, wonderful stay, and the memories we will have forever of our lovely autumn visit.

  • Liked — its luxury, the staff's personal attention
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Châteaux is as romantic country house hotel is set amidst 117 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating, snowshoeing and 105'Christmas tree all on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blantyre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.