We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blantyre

Save Saved
You added Blantyre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blantyre
16 Blantyre Road, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lenox
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just spent a magnificent weekend at Blantyre, our third trip in the past five years. Each time we visit, the experience somehow manages to surpass our already high expectations. The staff, including Luc, Christelle and Mimi, are extremely attentive and gracious, without being overbearing. Upon entering our room, we were greeted with beautiful fresh flowers, fruit and cheese, and chilled champagne. Our room was elegant, luxurious and well-appointed, reflecting the old world charm and sophistication which defines the entire property. The room had plentiful books and bookshelves, while the TV was cleverly hidden inside an antique piece of furniture. When we retired for the evening and asked for movies/DVDs to be delivered to our room, they arrived with a bag of delicious, freshly popped popcorn.

We opted for breakfast in our room (included in the rate), which was abundant, delicious and prepared exactly as we had requested. The house is filled with delightful areas in which to sit, read and enjoy tea or a cocktail, depending on your mood. There is almost always a crackling fire in at least one of the many fireplaces in the main house, and the staff is on hand to fulfill any request.

For the Saturday afternoon complimentary wine tasting (which occurs over the fall/winter season), we shared two bottles of fabulous red wines with a small number of other guests, including a 2001 Ornellaia Masseto which is offered on the wine list for $1600. Dinner began with cocktails and canapes in the music room, accompanied by Blantyre's terrifically talented pianist. We then moved to the dining room, which transported us to early 20th century England with its beautiful, dark wood paneled walls and decorative plaster ceiling. After a multi-course meal with perfect wine pairings (thanks to Luc Chavalier, the sommelier who was previously the maitre d'hotel at Lutece in New York City), we moved back into the music room for coffee, petits fours and a game of checkers.

When we inquired about nearby hiking, we were presented with a presorted list of 15 options from which to choose, varying in level of technical difficulty, elevation and walking distance. The staff provided relevant maps, a snack, and a wide selection of hiking boots.

In short, every aspect of Blantyre reflects the highest level of service and elegance. It is the perfect setting for a relaxing and pampering getaway, and we cannot wait to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
96
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Setauket
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are many wonderful country inns in the U.S but I cannot believe that there is a better one anywhere than Blantyre in the Berkshires. My wife and I have stayed there several times in recent years and we did so again last week and as always, we found it the absolutely perfect getaway. The rooms and suites are both elegant and comfortable, the cuisine is divine, the wine cellar is world-class, the spa (with its hot tub) is to die for, the in-house pianist is concert hall caliber, and the service is unparalleled. Very often, when you like an inn or resort and you return there for a second visit, you find it is not quite as great as you remember it. But Blantyre is an exception to that rule. Every time you return there, it only seems to get better and better. The only drawback about the place is the pain of having to leave there when your stay is finished.

Room Tip: We generally prefer a room or suite in the main house in the winter or spring because the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After spending three days at Blantyre, I realized that I have not been to the countryside in Europe in sometime. Staying at Blantyre brought back memories of all of those wonderful experiences of traveling in the English countryside and staying at a manor house.

The environment is grand, yet understated. The service is superb. Breakfast was extraordinary. The dinner experience was memorable as the service and food was all very special, all served in a series of grand parlors and dining rooms.

I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at Blantyre, and loved it. Between the snowshoeing, the horse and carriage ride, the ice skating (on real ice!) with hot cocoa, the spa, and the roaring fire in the main house, we found ourselves loving each minute. The rooms are warm and comfy. We stayed in the ribbon room on the second floor of the main house. It was clean and had a bookshelf and DVD selection. Dinner at the main house is a treat. We were lucky to be seated right next to the roaring fireplace sharing Chateaubriand for two with some great wine. The Blantyre wine collection is very impressive, after a tasting, we were taken on a tour of the cellar to see all of the vintages. Lenox and nearby towns have a lot of museums and shops. The Norman Rockwell museum was a great visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a recent winter weekend my husband and I headed from Boston to Lenox for our experience at Blantyre. The hotel is perfectly situated making you feel far away very quickly but with easy access from Boston, New York and other cities in the North East. We stayed in the blue room located in the main house, it was large, comfortable and had all of the modern amenities but still steeped in tradition. Fresh flowers throughout the property and an endless supply of books, magazine and anything else you can think of, I could have easily spent a week.We enjoyed wine tasting and a tour of the cellar on Saturday evening as well as a lovely dinner at the restaurant. I wouldn't necessarily score this high as a value plat but when you decide to go to Blantyre you know that you're going to pay top dollar. Staff were all delightful, exceptional and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

By a wonderful happenstances- was able to come home for Christmas and New Year's and my gift to Kerry was the New Year's Celebration at Blantyre. Since much of this was arranged via long distance and a nine hour time difference there was some concern about how it would all turn out

No need to worry- the weekend was perfect- room, view, activities, food, drink and service exceeded every expectation.

I collected menus from restaurants that have provided not just great meals and but great memories and have several dozen but only five have been framed- "The Fat Duck", The Commander's Place, White Barn Inn and Enoteca Pinchiorri- the menu from New Year's Eve at Blantyre will be joining this group

Room Tip: I liked the suite in the Carriage House- just seemed a little more private but any seem great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Last September, I asked my partner to marry me at Blantyre. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, our stay was absolute perfection. Blantyre is beyond gorgeous. The staff is extraordinary. And the cuisine is, well, some of the best food I have ever had. I would be remiss if I did not acknowledge two specific members of the staff who made our stay particularly memorable. David, the dining room manager, went out of his way to address every question, concern, and request I presented. Christelle, the wine director, had an encyclopedic knowledge of wine, and she perfectly paired our foods with the most fantastic wines.

I cannot wait until my return trip to this most magnificent of places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Châteaux is as romantic country house hotel is set amidst 117 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating, snowshoeing and 105'Christmas tree all on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blantyre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.