We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE WALKER HOUSE.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walker House

Walker House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walker House
Save
You added Walker House to your Saves list
64 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240 2718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“I LOVE WALKER HOUSE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I have stayed at Walker House at least half a dozen times and always look forward to coming back. Peggy and Dick make me feel completely at home. The rooms are beautiful - what could be nicer than falling asleep in an antique canopy bed with embers of a cheery fire in the fireplace. There are several friendly cats who contribute to the at-home atmosphere. Perfect location in Lenox, within easy stroll of shops and restaurants, and the bus from Boston or New York stops right in front.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    1
    10
    7
See reviews for
4
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at the Walker House on our honeymoon and I had great hopes - I love old houses and some of the reviews I'd read sounded great. We were greatly disappointed. The house was overcrowded, uncomfortable and smelled like cat pee. Instead of hanging out in the house, we chose to go to a local cafe because we felt so uncomfortable there. The owners are nice, yes, but it doesn't make up for the rest of the downfalls.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed with a friend of mine in order to hear the concerts at Tanglewood (a short drive from Walker House, which is on a pleasant street in the town of Lenox, with easy access to stores and restaurants. We stayed in the Verdi room (each room is named after a composer) on the second floor. It had two double beds, wireless internet, and air conditioning. Spacious and comfortable.

I think this place is terrific and would recommend it to anyone who likes music and the arts and a warm, friendly at-home atmosphere. The innkeeper, Peggy Houdeck, is always available, and she serves a continental breakfast in the dining room, where you will find kindred spirits around the table enjoying light fare.

The place is full of life, with great artwork on the walls, a grand piano in the living room, a back porch, at least one cat, and- believe it or not- a large-screen quadrophonic home theater system where you can watch DVDs from their library, or maybe bring your own.

Walker House is truly a home away from home, convenient, and very relaxing. One concern is that for the summer season you need to make reservations quite in advance, as they get booked up rather quickly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Walker House; a beautiful, charming old classic nearby all the Berkshire activities. A short walk to downtown Lenox, but remote enough to be quiet and peaceful. Peggy is a wonderful host along with her 3 cats. It's less than 2 miles from Tanglewood. It's an eclectic mix inside with lots to do even on a rainy day. A movie theater, grand piano and many, many books.

A lovely, romantic spot for someone who enjoys a place to sit, read, relax in a home with great "bones".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Walker House is a very special place. My husband and I have been going there for 15 years, and have been back many times to stay when visiting Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, and the various theatre companies in the Berkshires. The innkeepers, Peggy and Dick, have become like family, and could not be more hospitable, helpful, and nice. As Dick is a reviewer for many of the arts performances in the area, both Peggy and Dick know every possible program and performance venue in the area, and are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to programs, restaurants and special sites to visit. Their home is your home when you go to visit, and it is really cozy. The rooms are very spacious and comfy, with big old fashionred bathtubs, and there's a big wrap around deck to hang out on, while reading and relaxing. Peggy serves a big tasty continental breakfast of home baked muffins, fresh fruit, and other goodies. It is a great place to stay for any time period, and there's also a special mini movie theatre set up in one of the living rooms with an amazing movie collection. The prices are also quite reasonable. Another wonderful fact about the Walker House is that it is one block walking distance to the center of Lenox, and the house is in a perfect location to everything.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We recently stayed at The Walker House, while attending concerts at Tanglewood. The location couldn't have been better. Peggy welcomed us and gave us a tour of the house, as well as gave us tips on how to make our experience better. The room was lovely, roomy, comfy and nicely decorated. Peggy's advice was perfect. Breakfast. chatting with other guests around the large dining room table was a special treat. We wished we had more time to spend relaxing on the porch. We will return!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Walker House for two nights at the end of May. We chose the place because we had stayed there on our honeymoon almost 20 years ago. I am quite sad about writing this review, as the decline of the property is astonishing. Although the owners are lovely people, they are no longer doing basic maintenance, and the services are minimal to the point of nonexistence.

Even before you enter, the exterior of the house offers clues: the garage whose roof is on the point of collapse; the peeling paint; the lattice pulling away from the foundation. The back porch is nothing like that portrayed on the website: It was bare, with no plantings or carpet, and only a few pieces of random furniture and hanging baskets of flowering plants.

The common rooms are indeed filled with bric-a-brac, but the overall effect is charming if quirky. Yes, there are a lot of cats, but we didn't smell anything unpleasant. There are two grand pianos in the dining room. (Peg and Dick: Please move the Steinway away from the radiators! It's really not good for them.) The place is spotless inside.

We stayed in the Mozart room (as we had 20 years before). It boasts a pretty bed hanging and coverlet, a few busts of Mozart, and pictures from his operas. It too was spotless. However, the bed is lumpy and sags toward the middle, the pillows are thin and clumped with age, and the sheets are harsh-feeling, faded, and shrunken to the point where they don't cover the sides of the mattress. The dark antique-y wallpaper is beginning to peel at the edges. The furniture is clean but utilitarian. The secretary desk is a little tricky to use, and the chains that hold the drop-down leaf in place were broken and never replaced. The fireplace had old ashes in it. Peg had a space heater brought in when I mentioned the cold and asked for one, as the furnace had been turned off for the season.

The bathroom is lit by two bare chandelier bulbs flanking the mirror over the sink. This room was immaculate as well, but there was a large crack in the ceiling, which had been patched several times before, from the looks of it. One night after a rainstorm it began to drip, wetting the wall-to-wall carpet and the sideboard, whose veneer was pulling away from the surface, evidently because this leak has persisted over the years. The toiletries are generic and meager; you should bring your own. The towels are harsh, and one of them smelled a little mildew-y although the others were very clean. The curtain rod encircling the claw-foot tub is held in place with duct tape. Be careful when exiting the tub; it's higher than you might think and if you have mobility problems I would avoid it altogether.

Breakfast is nice, but not generous. I had a quarter of a perfectly ripe cantaloupe, and there was a pitcher of fresh-squeezed orange juice for the table to share. The croissants appeared to be from Costco, but were freshly baked. Unfortunately, the mini-muffins seem to have been microwaved, leaving them tough. There were tiny boxes of cereal. The coffee was hot and fresh, and Peg replenished our cups several times. Various flavors of Price Chopper yogurt were available.

The web site says that lemonade and tea are put out at four; we arrived at five and were offered nothing.

When we left, my husband was told that they don't take credit cards. (This was news to him.) He emptied his wallet, and Peg told him he could mail the balance. We left a tip for the maid and noticed that the envelope she left had been used several times before and had old notes from other guests on it. The cleaning lady is doing a wonderful job; please, Peg, spring for new envelopes for this saint!

Are you noticing a trend here? Here's my take: Walker House offers the minimum of everything. My husband and I grew up in Massachusetts, and we completely understand the Yankee-thrift mindset, but this goes too far, and we left feeling distinctly unpampered. Even worse, the house is being left to rot. No excuses about this being an old house; there's a difference between worn floorboards (which are distinctive and charming) and leaks in the ceiling (which are unforgivable because water infiltration will be the death of the place). I'm sure Walker House fills up during Tanglewood season, but the guests are probably those who got shut out of nice accommodations. Unfortunately, as long as the owners can make a living out of this place, they will not be getting the message that they need to improve things. And, coward that I am, I was too embarrassed to bring any of these points to their attention.

  • Liked — Location, free wi-fi, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Stinginess of services, poor condition of property
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker House

Address: 64 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240 2718
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.