We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty and shabby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Walker House

Walker House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walker House
Save
You added Walker House to your Saves list
64 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240 2718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Musty and shabby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Maybe the people who have written glowing reviews of Walker House had the only decent rooms in the place. There is a vast difference between eclectic decor and cluttered mess, between worn and downright dirty, between charming and decrepit, between basic and spartan, and between aged and ramshackle. The Walker House misses on all counts. We only saw our hostess Peggy, a few fellow guests, and several cats. Never saw Richard. Our rooms were musty, dark and decorated with a mix of (interesting) opera memorabilia and worn-out junk. The lamps were too dim to see anything at all and the wallpaper had come almost completely away from the wall. The smell of mildew was overwhelming. The bath shared by our two rooms had a dirty fiberglass shower and tub insert with a showerhead meant for a munchkin. The linens looked as though they had come from a yard sale; they were mismatched and tattered. Admittedly, there was a large and attractive veranda across the back of the house, onto which our rooms opened. However, the floor was dangerously weak at points, the furniture was literally falling apart, and the garage off the back leaned to one side and had a huge hole in the roof. A strong wind might have knocked it down by now. We are early risers, but no one even started a pot of coffee before 8:30. Breakfast, never ready before 9, was cold cereal and maybe some fruit or a few pastries. It was very disapponting, not at all like the descriptions we had read, and grossly overpriced. Location was the only positive for this place. It is within walking distance of Lenox shops and restaurants, and a short, easy and uncongested drive to the secondary parking lot at Tanglewood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gindras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I've been coming to Walker House for the past 12 years, and every time I step through the door, I instantly feel at home. Large fireplaces, wide porches, piles of books and friendly cats all contribute to a truly relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and decorated with antiques, in keeping with the history of the house. The inn is also walking distance to the shops and restaurants in downtown Lenox. Owners Peggy and Dick are warm, friendly hosts, and have their fingers on the pulse of the local arts scene. All in all, a great place to stay for the perfect Berkshire experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Anne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My husband & I head over to Lenox to attend the excellent concerts at Tanglewood in addition to local museums and just to wander the villages and take in historic Lenox.

Walker House is the perfect Inn to come home to after our days forays. Each of the rooms is named after a different composer and designed in period (the innkeepers obviously know their stuff). One finds lovely canopy beds, working fireplaces and huge bathtubs in the rooms.

The public areas are fun to relax in and explore, full of books and charming nick nacks. In addition, the innkeepers offer a huge video screen on which to watch a variety of dvds.

We love that Walker House is pet friendly - with several cuddly cats wandering through. We don't travel with pets, but have our own at home, so we appreciate the furry friends!

The Innkeepers, Peggy and Dick, are very helpful and pleasant, whether they are providing a lovely breakfast in their dining room or talking about the area that they so obviously love.

Overall, Walker House is wonderful all year round - an enhancement to a stay in the Berkshires or perhaps even a reason to plan a trip there!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I have stayed at Walker House several times and would never stay anywhere else. I have come to feel like family. This is not one of those slick modernized establishments, but rather makes you feel like you are being warmly welcomed into someone's home. Peggy and Dick are great hosts. The rooms are beautiful - I always request one with a working fireplace. Walker House is within easy walk of shops and restaurants. Tanglewood and several very interesting museums are within easy reach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Walker House offers excellent hospitality, lovely decor and hospitable Innkeepers. It is walking distance to town and excellent restaurants. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel av
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

antique house in middle of lenox - friendly owners - room was large and comfortable - BEST COFFEE i have ever tasted in USA - rivaling Italian - large adjacent forest for dog stroll.
peggy (owner) is friendly and interesting and interested.
interior of house (from 1804) is pleasant and reflects the owners personality - feel "at home".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshktov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This 200 year old Inn provides a view of the past. The decor, the antique collections, the dim lights and the spacious rooms place us in the gracious living of the past. And yet our hosts, Peggy and Dick, are clearly TODAY!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#2 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#4 of 24 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kemble Inn
The Kemble Inn
#10 of 24 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 24 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker House

Address: 64 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240 2718
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing