We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Hampton Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE $100/night midweek!
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Selden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Hampton Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my third visit to Hampton Terrace and it was as fantastic as the other two. This time we stayed in the Carriage House having stayed previously in both the Main House and one of the King Suites. All the accommodations are great. The jacuzzi tub in our room was especially nice after a rather strenuous 10 mile hike at Mount Greylock on Saturday. The pool is heated to a perfect temperature and I was able to swim both early in the morning and in the evening despite the slight chill in the air. Breakfast was both delicious and plentiful with many choices (homemade french toast, fresh eggs, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast and excellent coffee). Hampton Terrace is conveniently located a short walk from town so there is no need to drive to dinner and there are lots of activities in the area. Stan and Susan are excellent hosts always willing to go the extra mile. Looking forward to our next visit . . .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    619
    42
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
480
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I went with a friend, and we had a wonderful time at Hampton Inn. Lovely accommodations, both the sleeping room and the common areas, and a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We did not try the pool, though it looked very inviting, and it is even heated. The location is excellent, just a short walk into center of town. Stan was a most gracious host and very knowledgeable about local things to do. I can highly recommend Hampton Terrace Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just completed a stay at the Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast, and couldn't have been more delighted with our accommodations. The owners were exceedingly gracious and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was a beautiful period room, complete with working fireplace! Our king-sized bed was ever so comfortable and the attached bathroom was quite large and had the most luxurious, plush towels. The breakfasts were delicious and there was a huge assortment to choose from. Their location, within walking distance of town, was ideal. Fabulous restaurants around the corner and lots to see. Even though it rained, we found plenty to do and the suggestion page in the binder book of each room gave a comprehensive list of area activities. Lovely common rooms and beautiful grounds. What more could we ask for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had such a romantic stay the first time, we had to come back. This time we came in Spring, and everything was beginning to bloom. We sat outside sipping our (complimentary) coffee on the deck of the Carriage House and listening to the birds. Although Hampton Terrace is close to the downtown area, it is really quiet and peaceful there. The pool was just opened, and the sounds of the waterfall were so very relaxing. Its a short walk up to the main house for breakfast. The dining room is so elegant and beautiful, and Stan (our wonderful host) even lit the candles when we sat down. I feel so pampered when we stay here. Someone is even making our bed while we are dining. Its those thoughtful details that just make your stay so wonderful. We did not get the chance to drop in for a nightcap on either night (just too busy), but the bar in the main house truly looked inviting and like a wonderful way to wind down for the evening. But in Stan's Welcome packet, he had recommended a great restaurant in the area, and he was right. We had such a lovely time, that we lingered longer there. But maybe next time (yes, there will be a next time) we will find our seat at the bar!!

Room Tip: The Main House is really beautiful. However stairs are a consideration, so we selected the Carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I will start off by saying that we booked the last available room (fully knowing this at the time of booking) based upon the wonderful reviews, so we knew the room might not be 'the best". That being said, while the bed was comfortable and the room adequately appointed, it was in need of updating. There was peeling wallpaper in the room and bathroom and the carpet was worn and not vacuumed while we were there. The main house has a lovely living area and the dining room is pretty. The breakfasts were adequate but felt lacking. The price was moderate so we didn't feel that we overpaid, but we would have preferred to spend a bit more and have better accommodations. Perhaps the new kings rooms are worth the stay but the Maud room wasn't for us. I will note that the location is excellent and Stan, the owner, was quite friendly and happy to help with information and suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are more critical of the Hampton Terrace experience than even our guests.......which is why we have not received a score as low as "average" in almost 3 years. Timing is everything, because we scheduled that room for a painting the week after Memorial Day, knowing that a chair had scuffed the wall and the shower curtain had caused a wallpaper seam to separate. So as things usually go, this surprise review mentions issues already addressed. I also wish this couple had been able to get the room they wanted, because their other impressions of the overall property are positive and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a beautiful B&B the Hampton Terrace is. Lovely common rooms and bedrooms. All the amenities you'd want. Great hosts, great breakfasts, great beds. And a heated pool! Very close to town for shopping and restaurants, as well as golf/spa and hiking. Do as much as you want or doze in the hammock. Great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Terrace B&B Inn this past Memorial Day weekend on Saturday and Sunday night. I stayed in one of the rooms in the carriage house. My room was very good. Everything was clean, tidy and functional. No issues at all. The fireplace was a nice touch (which I used actually) and put out plenty of heat. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. Wallpaper is used and in a few locations in the bathroom it was peeling off, but other than that, my room was perfect for me. I could hear some of the neighboring rooms occasionally, but it was nearly always quiet otherwise. The shared frig in the carriage house was stocked with water at all times in addition to the coffee maker.

I missed the Sunday morning breakfast, but made the Monday morning one. The food was plentiful and delicious. The dining area was spacious and set up well. Stan and Susan did a great job for breakfast.

The Inn is conveniently located to many of the bars/restaurants/shops in Lenox...about 0.2 miles away.

Overall my stay was restful and completely worth it. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to retreat to the Berkshires for a few days to relax. Stan and Susan will treat you right!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.