We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic 2-Night Package
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the Berkshires and stayed in a lovely B&B. Our King suite was warm, clean, comfortable and inviting. Stan, our host was so helpful to any request. I was attending a nearby workshop, and my husband had enjoyable conversations with Stan about the area and activities. Hampton Terrace is a perfect home away from home in the beautiful Berkshires.

Room Tip: We loved the King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Third time at the Hampton Terrace and every bit as great as the first two visits! Warm welcome back from the inn keepers, Stan and Susan, great conversation with the guests each morning at breakfast, and enjoyed the southern hospitality served at breakfast with Stan's famous grits! Comfortable and cozy rooms and awesome location. Looking forward to our return, next time with the whole family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hampton Terrace meets all the basic requirements you'd want in a bed and breakfast. Privacy, comfort, and location all hit the mark. Stan is a host who clearly makes it his object to please his guests - receiving a $30 gift card to the local wine shop upon arrival was an unexpected treat.

Other than that, our stay was unremarkable. Comfortable - yes, convenient - yes; luxurious, romantic, or above and beyond? No.

The quality of the "breakfast" component of a B&B really matters - it's why my partner and I choose B&Bs over hotels when visiting small, charming towns. At Hampton Terrace, breakfast is buffet-style - expect decent scrambled eggs, french toast, and fresh fruit, but not a gourmet, 3-course experience with fresh-baked pastries and table service. You serve yourself - you eat as much as you want, and that's that. If you're looking for a place where you're truly provided that rare and intimate experience with a loved one, you won't find it at Hampton Terrace.

Overall, there were no glaring disappointments during our stay. The point of this review is to indicate that there wasn't anything distinguished or special about it either. I read glowing reviews and that's why I selected Hampton Terrace for our weekend getaway to the Berkshires, but the next time I'm looking for an intimate, romantic weekend retreat, I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kr646464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
This is a fair review and we appreciate it. We completely understand that underlying every review is the question: "Did they meet our expectations....or not?" It is inevitable that our 550 reviews, ranking us #1 among over a hundred lodging properties in the Berkshires, sometimes sets us up for an occasional "expectation not met." We have run Hampton Terrace for almost 15 years, and have intentionally set our prices in the middle of the Berkshire pack (about $200/night during the off-season). There are properties who charge much more than us, and possibly would offer more of the experience this couple sought. And we have served breakfast over 5,000 mornings. Over the years, we have experimented with individually-served, gourmet dishes, and we have tried numerous items on our all-you-can-eat buffets. We have come to know that the vast majority of guests prefer choosing their breakfast off the buffet, rather than serving a one-size-fits-all plate. This is not to say our breakfasts are boring: On Saturday morning we served three flavors of French toast: Traditional, Chocolate with chocolate chips, and Cinnamon Burst. We lean towards comfort foods: scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, blueberry pancakes, etc. We DO understand an occasional guest might expect a culinary creation. We have to accept that comment when it comes. It is also unfortunate that these guests came literally the day the snow melted in Lenox. They left on Sunday, and by Monday afternoon our yard service had put the yard back into shape, and once we get a couple of weeks of sunshine, our flowers and plants will be stunning. Our porches will be set up like living rooms. And our outdoor heated pool will be open. We do believe that our pricing structure, our breakfast choices, the $30 wine shop gift card, our 24/7 coffee and complimentary cognacs/liquors, free water bottles, private lists of things to do and places to eat, etc., result in an experience that has earned our average of 99 on the TripAdvisor scales, and we welcome this guest back for another experience on a warmer weekend, and possibly in another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights (our late celebration of the Spring Solstice, aka Easter, 2013) at Hampton Terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Stan Rosen (the B&B owner) is an extremely friendly and gracious host … and he could be mistaken as my “brother with a different mother” as we are both Southern Gentlemen born in the same city – Macon, Georgia.

Don’t let the fact that Stan is not a “multi-generational” New England'er deter you from selecting this B&B. He may be a Southern Gentleman with all of the requisite Southern Charm … but he has lived in the immediate area for at least two decades and is passionately in love with his Town of Lenox, the Berkshires … and Hampton Terrace - his home and B&B.

The main house, a historic landmark, was especially warm and inviting with a great entrance hall, a large living room with comfy seating, and a large gas fireplace … a lovely place to sit in the afternoon or evening. We did not stay in the main house, but stayed in one of the new, quite large, private Guest Cottages (#2) in the back garden which included a very comfortable four poster king bed, mini bar (fridge and sink), full size gas fireplace (with remote control), a Jacuzzi, coffee maker, and free wi-fi. Stan and his wife Susan have been careful to maintain period charm while at the same time providing modern amenities.

Each morning we were welcomed with Stan’s Southern Style Buffet Breakfast which included great coffee, hot water for tea, juices, fresh fruit, toast, English muffins, boiled eggs, sausage, and cereals … as well as specialty items that varied daily and included French Toast (chocolate, cinnamon or regular) or Pancakes (blueberry, wheat or regular), scrambled eggs, and on some days … cheese grits. Guests have a choice of sitting communally at two beautifully decorated large tables in the house, or privately at smaller tables on a glass enclosed sun porch.

Stan, if we could make just one request, it would be to ask if you could provide an electric tea kettle - in the Suite, or in the Dining Room where you provide the KEURIG coffee machine and unlimited coffee and tea pods 24/7 - so that guests could make proper tea during non breakfast hours. I ask this especially for my wife who is English ... and very particular about her tea. :-)

Other than that … our experience at Hampton Terrace was absolutely wonderful! It is within easy walking distance of the Town of Lenox and all of the wonderful shops and restaurants.

Thank you Stan, and we will certainly stop by for a visit the next time we are in Lenox!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SROARKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I grew up in this town and so visiting is truly like coming home with all of the associated memories. Our most recent trip was a brief overnight and I was showing a friend some of beauty of the Berkshires. At the Hampton Terrace Inn, the innkeeper's attention to detail is on a par with my own! The house is beautifully restored and located ideally to enjoy the charms of downtown Lenox.
We were greeted warmly on our arrival and settled into our rooms in a "this is your home, please let us know how we can make you more comfortable" way! We found our innkeeper, Stan Rosen, eager to please and sincere.
Thank you to the Hampton Terrace Inn for a perfect landing spot. We will most certainly be back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlahardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the very start, we were treated with the utmost respect and care. Stan is an extremely friendly and gracious person - the perfect B & B owner! Both the interior and outside of the property were in pristine condition, and the rooms were decorated with such warmth and charm that I truly was torn between reading a book by the downstairs fireplace and exploring the quaint and lovely town of Lenox. The breakfast was outstanding, from the fresh berries and varied flavors of homemade french toast to the delicious coffee and sausage. We will definitely be back to the Hampton Terrace, for a longer stay next time. It was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second visit to Hampton Terrace was just perfect. Stan is amazing - the best host, thoughtful and generous. From the welcoming breakfast (blueberry pancakes and sausage - heaven!) to the bar of cordials and cognac at bedtime, comfort is king. Our favorite room, this time with its fireplace aglow every evening, was just as beautiful as we remembered. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance - even in some yucky winter weather. We can't imagine being anywhere else.....

Room Tip: We've never stayed anywhere but the main house, but I gather others like the newer carriage hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#2 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#4 of 24 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 24 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing