We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Terrace is a gem in the Birkshires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE $100/night midweek!
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
1 review
“Hampton Terrace is a gem in the Birkshires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My wife and I spent our 15th wedding anniversry at Hampton Terrace. The Inn is charming and the perfect place for a romantic get away. Stan and Susan are gracious hosts. They certainly provided the atmosphere for a memorable weekend. We stayed in one their "King Suites" The room was comfortable, the amenaties were great, and the privacy welcome.

Stan provided some great tips on things to do in the area as well as the best places to eat.

I have already recommended the Inn to several friends.

  • Liked — The rooms are cozy and romantic
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    42
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
472
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, ME
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

What a find Hampton Terrace is! From the time you walk in and are greeted by Stan, the innkeeper, and the winding staircase, you feel a sense of WOW. I was lucky enough to get a tour of the inn, and got to visit many of the rooms. They're all fabulous. The Carriage House King Suites have everything you might want - whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, TVs with DVDs and tons of room. The inn rooms have really captured the history of the building with built-ins found even in the bathrooms. I stayed in room #1, and loved it. The woodburning fireplace added such an ambiance after a long day.

Stan, the innkeeper and breakfast cook introduced me to grits. They were really good. There is a fabulous bar in the parlor and Stan gives away gift certificates to the local wine store to people who stay two or more nights, so you can pick out a favorite bottle of wine and then enjoy it at the bar. What a cool idea that is.

I didn't get a chance to see the pool uncovered (visited in winter), but the setting is wonderful. I hope to come back when I can see the pool.

I highly recommend Hampton Terrace.

  • Liked — decor, amenities, pool, location
  • Disliked — nothing, no complaints - loved it here.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at this bed and breakfast, arriving in the middle of a snowstorm and without reservations. The owner welcomed us warmly and showed us around. Our room in the Carriage House was clean and cozy and well worth the price. The owners continued to be helpful and friendly all weekend and our experience was nothing short of perfect. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Liked — Warm friendly staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Stan welcomed us -- the writer, the director, and the cast of Shakespeare & Company's production of An Impossible Life -- for two wonderful nights and days while we were in rehearsal and during the performance of the play.

And then hosted a great cast party.

We will be back. Frequently.

In fact, we're hoping he'll adopt us!

Could not have been more festive or more fun!

In one word: GO!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed for 3 days at the Hampton Terrace and it was a wonderful experience. Stan and Susan were great hosts and made our time there very relaxing. The accomodations were excellent and I would (and already have) highly recommend this property to anyone travelling to the area. Thanks again to the Rosens.
Kit and Kathy Rousseau

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing everything was great
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

We had a lovely time at the Hampton Terrace. The accommodations were relaxed and quiet (we stayed in King Suite 3) ,and the breakfast was simply phenomenal. The owners were quite helpful in answering questions about the area. Lenox turned out to be a beautiful village and a perfect location for exploring Mass and Vermont and seeing the Fall foliage. Would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed for several nights at Hampton Terrace in July - a lovely time to visit Lenox and the Berkshires. We stayed in one of the King suites next to the swimming pool. It was a nice sized room, with a lovely bed, nice bathroom and a large jacuzzi tub in the main room. We did find the AC a bit tricky to get "just right" (sometimes we were too cold, sometimes too hot) and it was rather noisy, but overall the room was great. The main house is beautiful - a little bit of history with a large dining room where breakfast is served. The breakfasts were plentiful and good, with a nice variety of cold and hot foods, coffee, tea and juice. The proprietors were available to give suggestions/directions but didn't impose themselves on the guests. The B&B is just a short walk from the main downtown part of Lenox and a few miles drive from many attractions.

We would definitely go back to Hampton Terrace.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.