We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We WILL be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Weekend Special
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We WILL be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I grew up in this town and so visiting is truly like coming home with all of the associated memories. Our most recent trip was a brief overnight and I was showing a friend some of beauty of the Berkshires. At the Hampton Terrace Inn, the innkeeper's attention to detail is on a par with my own! The house is beautifully restored and located ideally to enjoy the charms of downtown Lenox.
We were greeted warmly on our arrival and settled into our rooms in a "this is your home, please let us know how we can make you more comfortable" way! We found our innkeeper, Stan Rosen, eager to please and sincere.
Thank you to the Hampton Terrace Inn for a perfect landing spot. We will most certainly be back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    41
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
458
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the very start, we were treated with the utmost respect and care. Stan is an extremely friendly and gracious person - the perfect B & B owner! Both the interior and outside of the property were in pristine condition, and the rooms were decorated with such warmth and charm that I truly was torn between reading a book by the downstairs fireplace and exploring the quaint and lovely town of Lenox. The breakfast was outstanding, from the fresh berries and varied flavors of homemade french toast to the delicious coffee and sausage. We will definitely be back to the Hampton Terrace, for a longer stay next time. It was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second visit to Hampton Terrace was just perfect. Stan is amazing - the best host, thoughtful and generous. From the welcoming breakfast (blueberry pancakes and sausage - heaven!) to the bar of cordials and cognac at bedtime, comfort is king. Our favorite room, this time with its fireplace aglow every evening, was just as beautiful as we remembered. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance - even in some yucky winter weather. We can't imagine being anywhere else.....

Room Tip: We've never stayed anywhere but the main house, but I gather others like the newer carriage hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We like to find properties that enhance the experience of the area we are visiting. Small inns do not always meet that criteria, but this beautiful house certainly did. The charm of the Hampton Terrace is as enticing as the town of Lenox . The history of the inn and the period decor collection adds to the unique ambiance. The friendly welcome by Stan and his attention to our needs was exceptional and appreciated. While the area has many hotel/b&b options, we would choose to repeat our experience at Hampton Terrace.

Room Tip: trash pickup is early am...check which day and if dumpster is below your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I were gifted a weekend stay at the Hampton Terrace Inn with instructions to relax and enjoy. We were charmed by the Inn as soon as we parked in the semi-circular drive and entered the center hall of this elegant, graceful and welcoming property. We had done a little research on line and I have to say, the Inn was more beautiful and gracious than the photos and descriptions suggested. What an exciting treat it is to have your expectations surpassed!

Our weekend getaway happened during a blizzard snowstorm weekend and it created a magic backdrop for our experience. The Hampton Terrace Inn has a welcoming living room with a large fireplace that beckons you to sit a while. The warmth of the fire, the well appointed lving room and the Innkeepers attention to our comforts were superb. Lovely music, books, photos, and period furniture surrounded us as we relaxed with a glass of wine our first evening. The wine was a benefit of the complimentary $30 gift card we received with our room to a local wine and cheese shop that was within walking distance.

Our first evening was spent in the Spencer room, a soothing and romantic room with a full bath, queen size bed and fireplace. We slept snuggly and comfortably as the wind and snow howled outside our leaded glass windows and the fireplace crackled with warmth.

Stan is a detail oriented and thoughtful host and we benefited from his restaurant recommendations and knowledge of local things to do and see. We are avid snowshoers and hikers and found nearby Kennedy Park a delightful way to spend a winter day in 18" of fresh powder snow. There are plenty of opportunities for amusement, whatever your tastes are.

Our second night was spent in the Bonner Room, a large, front corner room with fabulous views of the street, a warming fireplace and spacious bathroom (actually huge!). This room has a king size bed and a bit more room to spread out and relax.

Each morning we were welcomed with a home made breakfast of great coffee, juices, very fresh fruit and a menu that varied from specialty french toast, scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereal and more. It was fabulous to enjoy the fare and catch up briefly with other guests who were visiting and hear Stan's stories.

Our experience was absolutely perfect! Thank you Stan, for your wonderfully appointed and run Hampton Terrace Inn. Our expectations were exceeded during our memorable stay with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip,ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Hampton Terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is very old and the innkeepers have been careful to maintain period charm while at the same time providing modern amenities. We stayed in the Struthers Room which has a deep claw foot tub, wood burning fireplace (a new duraflame was provided each night) and a very comfortable king bed - very cozy! The common room was especially warm and inviting with a large gas fireplace and grand piano. It was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon with a glass of wine and a good book. There are many good restaurants in the area and the Inn is within walking distance of most. Stan provided suggestions that would satisfy any appetite. Breakfast was very good, changed each day and we didn't need to eat lunch! We highly recommend this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second visit back!! My wife and I came up very stressed out! As soon as we arrived at the front door, Stan, the owner, made us feel at home-like part of his family! His magnificent breakfasts, the room, service, and the total atmosphere made for a fabulous weekend!!!!!!

Roger and Marge Feb. 17, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace Hotel
Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.