We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Wine is on Us!
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are a couple straddling 40 with two kids and busy lives from which we needed a break. Time off is rare and getting away without the kids is even rarer, so we wanted to make sure our four day vacation was not wasted. After spending more than a few days looking at various websites and reading reviews for places that were at or below the price range of the Hampton Terrace, we were persuaded by the unusual number of Excellent reviews to try this place. We were so happy we did. I have never written a review before, but there was something about the quality of Stan's service and hospitality and the fabulous time we had that I knew eventually I would type this up.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a private bathroom and gas fireplace. There were many options each morning for breakfast and the food was consistently good. The house is located a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars, boutiques, and a great little bookstore/wine bar. We felt very luck to have found this gem of a place and hope to return again next year.

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Berkshires, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    44
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
494
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn, having visited back in October. Stan and Susan have made a very special place which we love to visit to escape the pressures of our very busy lives and demanding jobs.

The breakfast is terrific, dining area quaint...rooms well appointed, very clean always and comfortable

We will go back, again and again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. There were some minor “issues” during our first visit so we were invited back (at no charge) to try again for a two-night stay – and that time things went perfectly. They really do everything they can to please their guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Main House for a true B & B experience. Some rooms have fireplaces for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay in Lenox, and found this inn to be just what we needed. I have always preferred staying in B&B's because each is a unique adventure, infused with the owner's personality, talents, and tastes. Stan, for me, is the perfect sort of personality for a B&B owner- he's accommodating, yet maintains his own character well, tells a great yarn, and knows the community inside and out. He clearly loves his town and it's people, and will gladly advise you as to where to best find what you're looking for on your visit. He serves a beautiful breakfast, and accommodates special needs very well. (Some innkeepers pride themselves in being gourmet chefs- this is not Stan's strong point. Still, he's a good cook and his presentations will satisfy most anyone). The selection of rooms is terrific, allowing the visitor to choose between traditional and modern designs, with options such as deep jacuzzis, and very nice gas fireplaces everywhere (very simple to operate). His old dog is just as advertised- very friendly, but not intrusive. I loved the town and the inn and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: If you want absolute privacy, the suites are each in their own little cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I desperately needed to get away for a couple nights after the holidays and because we are expecting twins this spring. I searched for places in the Berkshires and read reviews...this place came up with excellent reviews and it didnt disappoint.

We rented a king suite, which is separate from the main house. The room was great - the fireplace didnt only give it a nice ambiance, but also kept the room very warm and cozy. The jetted extra large tub was heaven sent to us, to relax. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the TV when we just wanted to chill out in the room.

We met Stan when we checked in and he was very informative about the room as we were about to get settled in. He is a very nice, friendly, pleasant guy. We also were so happy to meet the resident dog - Atticus - and we fell in love with him. We are dog people so it was fun to see him throuhgout our stay. He is a nice friendly dog.

The breakfast was awesome and kept us full well into after noon. The spread he put out was great. What we appreciated most about Stan is that he was very accommodating to my husband's egg allergy. Breakfast is the hardest meal for my husband not being able to have eggs, but he had so many other options at this inn, he didnt even miss anything made with eggs. Stan was very friendly during breakfast, chatting with us about his twins and our favorite team - the Patriots! He made sure we were happy with everything and made sure we had everything we needed. I LOVED all the vintage decorations/tableware throughout the dining room. He also lit the candles and had soft music to compliment our wonderful breakfast.

We look forward to a return visit, probably in the warmer weather next time! Thank you Stan for well needed R&R couple nights away for us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is becoming a tradition... a King suite with gas fireplace & hot tub over New Years... very nice. The host is extremely hospitable. This is the 4th or 5th Inn in the Lenox area we have stayed in, and is our favorite!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house/cottages in the rear of the facility were very quiet. The gas fireplace kept our room nice and warm! Stan and his wife were very pleasant, approachable and friendly.....we definitely will be returning this Summer !!

Room Tip: Different rooms have different size hot tubs with therapy jets....so if you want a larger hot tub, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.