We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Wine is on Us!
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic inn in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This historic, small-scale inn in Lenox, MA is situated in the central Berkshires with easy access to all sites [We loved our visit to Hancock Shaker Village and antique shops]. The inn is very comfortable and walkable to the shops and high quality restaurants of Lenox. Innkeeper, Stan, was a welcoming host offering us reliable information of local restaurants. [Tip: Make dinner reservations ahead of time as weekends are very busy. Stan will email a list of restaurants ahead of your stay.] Our room on the second floor of the main building was very comfortable and we woke up each morning to a modest breakfast (buffet style); we sat in the light filled, enclosed porch! We very much enjoyed our stay - a perfect combination of historic inn, with comfort and great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main historic building comprised of only 5 rooms rather than an out-building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    44
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
500
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay in the Berkshires and we are glad we stayed at the Hampton Terrace B & B. Stan our innkeeper was very attentive and gave us some very good tips on local restaurants. We chose Nudel as one of the recommendations and enjoyed the food so much we dined there on both nights. The inn is a beautiful old home with lots of original pieces of furniture of the period. I also liked the early 40's music to give one a sense of what it must have been like during that time period. We stayed in the Rosalyn Elkan Suite which is one of the cottages located behind the inn. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely laid out. The breakfast buffet was a nice touch which changes each day. We loved the coffee which was hot, fresh and excellent. Trust me it means a lot to have a good cup of coffee in the morning to start your day. I'm happy we chose this inn and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit the Berkshires.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stan and Susan run a lovely inn in beautiful Lenox. He has a huge amount of information about the area that he shares via email before arrival and is very attentive to his patrons needs. Breakfast is a buffet with both cold items and a warm choice, the last day's choice being chocolate French toast!
They have a book with guest reviews of all the restaurants near by and Stan is a good source of information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A very warm Inn ideally located near town of Lenox and Tanglewood. We stayed in the main house with its cozy living room. Stan the innkeeper is the most organized person of the many B&B's we have stayed at. A great listing of restaurants and attractions and any other question you may have. Additionally Stan is very happy to embellish if asked and is very knowledgeable of the entire area.

Room Tip: Next time we visit we will request a king size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I visited the Hampton Terrace to celebrate our 16th Wedding Anniversary. From the owner's (Stan) personal welcome, to our lovely suite with 2 person whirlpool bath, remote controlled gas fireplace and lovely king size poster bed, to delicious and plentiful complimentary breakfasts our stay was simply delightful. We would recommend the Hampton Terrace to the most discerning guests.

Room Tip: The king suites are large and offer a 2 person whirlpool bath and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Hampton Terrace for an extended weekend, to attend a wedding at a nearby country club. The wedding festivities were fabulous....and our stay at the Hampton Terrace was fantastic! Our room (a suite in the back of the property) was absolutely spectacular (beautiful & spacious)......and, all of our breakfasts were terrific! Stan was also an extremely pleasant host..who can regail you with all the latest events in the college football scene...he even threw a pre-wedding cocktail party for a number of the wedding guests, as we were assembling before the wedding. My wife also loved the furnishings & decorations in the main building.....Thank You, Stan!....we had a great time....and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The King suites in the back of the property are absolutely fantastic!....quiet, spacious, plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently escaped NYC for an amazing weekend at Hampton Terrace. As soon as we walked in the door there was an immediate feeling of hospitality. Stan and Susan, owners of Hampton Terrace, provided us with fantastic restaurant recommendations and great itineraries for daily activities. Each morning breakfast is prepared in the main house and it's something that should not be missed.

Hampton Terrace is located in an ideal location. It's within walking distance to most restaurants and shops in Lenox. The room was very well taken care of and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a nice fire place which was very enjoyable in the evenings.

Everything about the weekend was perfect and we hope to get back to Hampton Terrace in the very near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.