We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 35th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Wine is on Us!
Ranked #1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Our 35th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hampton Terrace celebrating our 35th Anniversary. We chose HT for the price and accommodations as seen off the website. One final and determining factor was the $30 gift card to a local wine and specialty food store, nice options. Stan was present when we arrived, and present when we breakfasted at the morning buffet. The breakfast for both days had a wide variety of goodies that included fresh fruit and grits that I have had nowhere else. All was delicious. Ask Stan about how Lenox came to be, I was intrigued by his concise recount of the family names that made the area what it is, from long ago. We would like to thank Stan and Susan for their hospitality. Our room was very clean, warm and the fireplace added a romantic touch. We look forward to returning again for another stay. Thank you! Pat and Dave.

Room Tip: In winter, choose one of the main house rooms, for the Cottages require a short walk to the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    44
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
500
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at the Hampton Terrace for our anniversary the weekend of 1/6/2012 and had a fantastic experience. I was a bit apprehensive at first considering I had heard some negative feedback about other establishments in the area for being a bit too stuffy and snobbish. However upon arriving Friday night and meeting Stan and seeing the place all those thoughts went out the window. Beautiful looking place, and Stan was a really nice guy. He was Laid back and extremely knowledgeable about the local area and gave us great tips about what to see and where to eat. He suggested the restaurant Nudel. Me and my girlfriend enjoyed it so much we ate there both nights. As the pervious reviewer posted, (me and my girlfriend were the other couple), breakfast was great and Stan talked Sports with us like we were old friends.

The room (Dexter) was great. Perfect size, cool fireplace and very clean. The jacuzzi/bath was a nice touch too. On Saturday my girlfriend wasn't feeling too well so we stayed inside past noon, I figured that we had missed the cleaning which was fine. We did end up going out later and returned to a clean turned out room which was a nice surprise. Having access to a fridge in the common area was convenient, in my experience most B and Bs don't have one for guests. We kept our wine from the 30$ gift card and leftovers from Nudel in there. The Inn itself is a minute or so walk away from downtown Lenox, just close enough to convenient without being noisy.

Overall a great time, my only complaint is that I wish it had been snowing. Me and the girlfriend think that this may be our new spot for our anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I came up for a weekend at this Inn and had a great experience. The main house was really comfortable and the dining room was especially nicely decorated. The innkeeper, Stan, provided us with a lot of information (where to eat, what to do for fun in the area, etc) and cooked up a great breakfast in the mornings. He also stayed to talk to us while we had breakfast and was always very open and honest in response to our questions about the surrounding restaurants.
Our room was very clean and had great amenities (fireplace, hot tub, canopy king size bed - the girlfriend had a canopy bed requirement!) and it was a good size for two people. Stan even set us up with a bottle of champagne in the refrigerator chilling by the time we got to the room (in place of the $30 gift card special they offer).
Overall, we were very happy with our stay and will return when we're back in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My boyfriend booked a two night stay for us at this Inn as a surprise weekend getaway. I was a bit nervous going in without any information about where we were going and the amenities to be offered but it turned out that the inn exceeded our expectations.
Stan met us as soon as we walked into the building and provided us with a very informative tour of of the main building, as well as taking us over to our suite in a separate building behind the main one. There was a binder in the room that contained quite a wealth of information on the history of the house, services and amenities they provided (including Stan's phone number in case anything was unsatisfactory or out of order) and copious information on the surrounding restaurants and activities. The information provided, especially re: the restaurants, was key to us being able to focus on the good places to eat (Nudel recommendation was spot on).
When we weren't eating, we spent the time relaxing and taking in the comforts of the Lenox village as well as the Inn itself. The main building was beautifully decorated, our room was just the right size and had all of the aspects I could have ever wanted (huge 2-person hot tub in addition to a regular tub in the bathroom, wet bar, canopy bed, mini-fridge and gas fireplace) and the property in general felt very cozy and comfortable - nothing like some of the overly exaggerated places in the Berkshires. We also very much enjoyed Stan's breakfasts, and his willingness to join us and the other couple staying there during breakfast just to chat. The breakfast included quite a bit of variety (hot and cold, alike, as well as fruit and quite a variety of teas - i'm a big tea drinker).
Overall, our stay absolutely fulfilled our need for a wonderful, relaxing weekend getaway and we would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our experience at this inn was more positive than not, but a mixed bag in some respects. We were initially put off by the rather brusque manner of the innkeeper, but he had been accommodating in rebooking our room and not charging us when an emergency caused us to cancel the last evening on short notice. (However, his immediately rescinding the "weekend gift certificate" seemed less than good business, since we were still staying two nights, including a Friday, and the action left us with a rather bad feeling.)

Our room was small and overheated, but pleasant and quiet, despite the inn's being full on New Year's weekend. The toilet's overflowing must be a rather regular feature, since a plunger resided right next to it, (and that implement did work to stem a flood!) The physical appearance of the entire inn seemed a little shabby, but nonetheless the main building, in particular, was attractive and interestingly furnished. The breakfast was a merely adequate buffet; we've had more well-prepared and inventive meals at most other B and B's we've stayed in. (There was also no effort, other than a grudging offer of cold cereal, made to accommodate our need to leave early to attend an out-of-state funeral.)

Since the inn is very convenient to the lovely downtown Lenox area and located on the main road to most Berkshire attractions, I suspect the above-noted shortcomings won't deter most people, but we will think twice before returning to it, since there are multiple offerings in the area.

Room Tip: Friends have mentioned that they've liked the main building's "attic rooms", but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
We don’t mind honest feedback. We encourage it and are proud that such feedback gives us a “satisfaction index” of 98% here on TripAdvisor. But the facts of this review must be corrected. This guest called at the last minute to cancel the third night of their stay, New Year’s Eve. I was able to replace them for their last night, so I waived my normal cancellation fee (15%) and gave them 100% of their money back. A $30 wine card was included in the New Year’s Eve rate, so of course, I was not to be expected to award the gift card AND give them a complete refund. When I mentioned that to them, they did not bring up any objection. But when they asked if they could have breakfast 90 minutes BEFORE our normal breakfast hours, on New Year’s Eve, I told them that I would be very happy to put out coffee, milk for our cereals, bread and fruit. No, they said, they would get breakfast on the road. So this couple is unhappy that (1) I did not give them a $30 gift card which they did not pay for, and (2) I was unwilling to cook a hot breakfast JUST for them. All other complaints are inconsistent with the fact that 90% of our reviews give us a 5-out-of-5 rating. We ask all of our guests to let us know – while they are here – if there is anything we can do to improve their stay. No complaints from these people…until this review. And “brusque” is a word you won’t find in 400 reviews about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked two nights for a getaway between Christmas and New Year's Day, and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Lenox village is a five-minute walk away, and Shakespeare & Company is a ten-minute walk. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Stan, the owner, gave us plenty of helpful information about the inn and about Lenox before and during our stay. Breakfast was excellent, and our room in the cottage was clean and comfortable. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Inn. The owners are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! Our room was very comfortable and we loved the fireplace. If you're going to the Berkshires, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.