We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy your 3rd night free
Ranked #3 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Garden Gables is perfectly situated for anyone visiting Tanglewood, within easy walking distance to downtown Lenox. Lovely gardens, very nicely appointed and distinctive rooms, and one of the best breakfasts my daughter and I have ever had anywhere - we ordered the same thing two days in a row, it was that good! My room (#8) was a little small and would have been a little claustrophobic for people needing more space (I was traveling without my spouse so it was fine), but the other rooms I peaked into were much larger and all very charming in a not-over-the-top way. I also enjoyed the library, the pool area, and having drinks, sherry, and cookies available was appreciated. Don't hesitate to book this inn - the hosts are helpful and friendly and the inn is nearly perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
300
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I surprised my husband for our 5th wedding anniversary with a romantic weekend in the Berkshires, nearby to where we had been married. I packed his bag without his knowing & we just started driving. We were both taken aback by the beauty & elegance of the Garden Gables B&B. The included full breakfast was outstanding! As B&B connoisseurs, this was by far the best breakfast offering that we have ever experienced. We spent the weekend strolling through Lenox which is just up the street & picniced at nearby Tanglewood. The restaurants in downtown Lenox are of NYC standard. My final surprise to my husband was to renew our wedding vows on the lush grounds of the Inn. We chose a private spot, under a centuries old tree and shared our vow renewal with the minster from the Church on the Hill next door, whom had married us just 5 years prior. It was a weekend that we will never forget! You can bet we'll be back in another 5 years- if not before!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

just a short walk from town, this B&B is a treasure. It is tucked away with grand gardens. marvelous c andommon rooms, including a Sherry room. Breakfast was an extensive country buffet and a cooked to order hot item. Superior quality. Something for everyone. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Beautiful Inn with plenty of extras - comfortable beds and rooms with sitting areas. Pellegrino in rooms, 24-hr pantry, delicious breakfast.

Peggy and John were excellent hosts - definitely a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Garden Gables Inn is a top end B&B right in the heart of the pretty little town of Lenox (about 2 miles from Tanglewood). It has a range of rooms, from newly renovated cottages with open ceilings to small, very cozy rooms in the "1780" part of the house.

My wife and I spent a weekend there to check out the area (we plan on coming back in August with some relatives for a few Tanglewood concerts). I had done some research on Trip Advisor and other sites, and the Garden Gables seemed like a good choice: it turned out to be an excellent choice.

The list of "nice touches" is long: great breakfasts in a great room/porch, really friendly and helpful Innkeepers and staff, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, a "sherry room" and a really modern, really nice heated swimming pool. We chose one of the newer rooms in the old house, and it was roomy, clean and had a fantastic bed. We also enjoyed the porch off the room, where we hung out on Friday evening before dinner sipping sherry we had poured from downstairs.

Highly recommended: but look at the individual rooms on the website, and make sure you get one that makes sense for you - there is a wide range.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This place had an incredible layout
The grounds were impeccable (even though some construction work had just been completed)
Heated pool made swimming in the Berkshires great
A lot to do nearby
Lenox has a lot of restuarants walking distance from Garden Gables
Breakfast at the inn was excellent
Inn keepers Peggy and John were very cordial, as was the fox who lives on the grounds

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My girlfriend & me came down from Montreal (Canada) for the week-end. The place is so charming, either outside or inside. With some lovely gardens, magnificent trees and a very big heated pool well place, you can stay and relax for and half day!!! Inside (we were having room 7, just the good size, just the good price!), it's alson charming & perfect. Your to host are full of attention and the included breafast in really good.
Adding that with the charm of that little town (Lenox, Ma)and doing a run at the Memorial Day Marathon make my w-e perfect.
TKS to our gest, TKS to the people of that town, and TKS to my girlfriend Anny!!!
PAT

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.