We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed & Breakfast for a Bershires weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy your 3rd night free
Ranked #2 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Bed & Breakfast for a Bershires weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted to plan a romantic weekend getaway during peak foliage season and came across Garden Gables Inn while further researching a story about their sister apple orchard (Hilltop Orchards) on NBC's today show.

We were impressed with the lengths to which the owners went to ensure a pleasant stay--
1) When we first arrived in the Berkshires, we made a stop at their winery/orchards and enjoyed wine tasting (Free for guests at Garden Gables and all purchases 10% off) and the most delicious apple cider donuts ever!
2) We then checked into our room and we were delighted with Pam's welcoming and warm greeting. I asked her if she knew of any shoe stores in the area because I forgot to pack sneakers for apple picking in the hilltops and she offered me her own (brand new) tennis shoes. She insisted that I use her shoes rather than purchase a new pair just for the weekend and she even said it'd be great if I broke them in for her.
3) Our room was fantastic-- though a next door neighbor had quite the snoring problem which kept my boyfriend up our first night.. We mentioned it to one of the B&B staff over breakfast, and the owners immediately offered to move us to another room (which was actually an upgrade-- but charged us the same price).
4) Breakfast is amazing! We had wonderful ham, an assortment of fruits, pastries, and basically a full continental spread-- in addition to a menu with omelets, waffles, pancakes, eggs, etc for free.
5) We had so much fun apple picking and enjoying the beautiful views. We also liked their freshly made apple cider which we had next to their great fireplace at the winery
6) Location is great -- right next to all the best restaurants down town-- we'd highly recommend Nudel for anyone interested in fresh, organic, locally grown, seasonal food prepared uniquely-- very delicious.
7) Staff was very helpful and nice-- even at the winery, they offered suggestions on entertainment in the area and good restaurants. We saw a Shakespeare and Co production -- Hound of the Baskervilles-- a lot of fun.
8) They offered to let us use their personal fridge to keep our take-out fresh, and even offered to warm it up for us and bring it to our rooms.
9) The apples were incredible! So many varieties. We picked a bushel and made 4 of the best apple pies we and our friends ever tasted and 2 yummy apple crisps.
10) If you go in the summer, you can use their pool as well which looked large enough to get in some good morning laps. They also have great trails in the area if you enjoy hiking and the owners can tell you exactly where the best trails are.
11) They even have aperitifs (sherry and other port wines) out all day in their living room for you to enjoy. Also, complimentary cookies, apples, cider, tea, and other beverages are available in their kitchen to guests at all times.

**If you're looking to stay in the Berkshires, you definitely want to book your stay at Garden Gables Inn. My boyfriend and I will definitely go back!**

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    46
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
291
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daisy1031
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed at the Garden Gables for four nights and had a very pleasant visit. We were on a budget, so we rented one of the smaller rooms, but it was clean, and other than a creaky floor, very comfortable. John and Peggy are very gracious hosts. They helped us plan our daily excursions and meals at local restaurants, and Peggy's never-ending supply of chocolate chip cookies was a real treat. The location of the Inn was great for us. It is a short walk to town and Kennedy Park, and an easy drive to the museums and other attractions we wanted to visit. The library is well stocked with tourist information and interesting books. Breakfasts were tasty and the service staff were friendly. The grounds are very attractive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is a beautiful Inn located only a few minutes’ walk to downtown Lenox. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding hospitality and the way the inn keepers always made us feel welcome. There are many B&B’s to choose from in Lenox, but the attention to detail by the inn keepers makes this head and shoulders above all others.
The room was beautifully decorated, had a very comfortable bed and the support staff was unobtrusive. The detail was impeccable, with flowers on the tables, to a warm fire crackling to subtle soothing music to ease stress. The common areas were spacious and clean, with many books readily available to borrow, a selection of DVD’s to take back to your room or to sneak a few homemade cookies with tea at your leisure. This is one of those inn’s that you can easily make a family tradition to return to year after year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

From the moment we arrived, we felt totally at home. Our room was beautiful,decorated, fireplace set up for us, perfect for a chilly night. Wine and cheese, good conversation and warm hospitality. We will surely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The Garden Gables Inn is a great location if you're looking to tramp around Lenox and the surrounding Berkshire towns. We went for a long weekend, were warmly greeted, loved our room and the fact that we had a 3 minute walk to downtown and some great restaurants. The breakfasts were particularly good, and the innkeepers John and Peggy were very forthcoming with advice on where to go, what to see. Peggy even loaned me a pair of John's cheaters when I left my glasses in the room so I could plow through the Times on Sunday morning over breakfast. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The Garden Gables Inn is a medium-sized inn located in downtown Lenox. The building is loaded with old charm. The decor is very nice. The service is excellent - attentive without being overbearing. My room (Room 14) was a decent size with attractive decor and a woodburning fireplace. The room came with a Duraflame log, which made ithe fireplace easy to use. The breakfast is amazing with both buffet and made-to-order options. The rooms were a bit pricey but the overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

My sister and I had the opportunity to stay at this homey Inn on Main Street. One of the owners, John V and the Inn Keepers, Peggie and John Roethel made our stay very enjoyable. Each room has its own ambiance and presently the third night is free, so this promotion is well worth exploring. Each day started with a hearty breakfast (included) of your choice of apple strudel french toast, pancakes with a choice of apples,blueberries or bananas, eggs any style, and other delicious breakfast foods. I would recommend visiting the Hilltop Orchards, the owners nearby farm winery. Try one of their delicious cider donuts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.