We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy your 3rd night free
Ranked #3 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed on 2/20/14 and had a fantastic stay. Great staff, beautiful cottage room, and breakfast was top shelf. Main house is just steps away from cottage where there is sherry, cookies, coffee, tea, DVDs, and more. A great place to stay in Lenox.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    48
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
301
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the third year we have returned to enjoy the Garden Gables Inn. The atmosphere provides such a calm environment and the staff is totally there to make your stay easy, relaxed and without a care in the world. We prefer the suite so that we have a common room, fireplace and separate bedrooms. Breakfast is delicious, with diverse selections cooked to order. I recommend the Banana Walnut pancake and/or the poached eggs on spinach and tomato and freshly squeezed OJ. Our waitress was soooo sweet. Denise, the owner, is organized, warm and generous. A real plus is the connection with a local orchard, winery, cross country ski slope where you have total access to slopes and free wine tasting.

Forget researching further and stay at Garden Gables.

Room Tip: Look closely at their website for the differences between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We've been visiting Garden Gables for the past 2 years on our anniversary. The 1st visit we were in the inn. This time we were in the cottage. Both were wonderful. Winter is always a great time for the Berkshires as it's quiet and serene. Staying at Garden Gables is a real treat because you are really taken care of. The rooms are comfortable and the fireplaces make for great romantic respite. The service was top notch. Always a yes attitude. Denise and Liz are "johnny on the spot" with great suggestions. They make you feel you are the only people staying there. Breakfast is yummy. If you have an opportunity check out the Old Inn on the Green for a real fine dinner. I hope we can get back there each year. Great value with their 2 nights and get 3rd one free,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely place. Excellent food and service from the Innkeepers. I was a little surprised that the facility is not handicapped accessible. Not sure how people with special walking needs would get around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This inn hits all the right notes: immaculately clean and attractive rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts, and an ideal location within easy walking distance of Lenox's restaurants and shops. An added benefit of a stay at Garden Gables is the spa, where Erica Leopold offers expert facials and massages. A nice play to stay on one's own, as there are comfortable sitting rooms for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Wonderful location, we walked into Lenox for dinner and shopping. Denise, the innkeeper, helped us to make reservations for dinner and had very helpful suggestions for exploring the area. It is a great place for a weekend getaway. It was very cold so it was wonderful to have a fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My sisters and I stayed here for a week-end retreat. We loved the service and care, loved the Inn overall and the breakfast. We were all six, however, disappointed in the size of the rooms and/or bathrooms.

Here's what we liked:
Good service/friendly staff
Fantastic grounds, beautiful fall leaves
The owners own an apple orchard- we picked for free
The hot apple cider available through-out the day
Overall clean attractive rooms
What we didn't like:
The rooms were too small!
The bathroom in suite 12- was way to small, there was no counter space for make up, toiletries etc. There was hardly room to dress in the small bathroom. There was an uninviting old fabricated tub-shower combination. The second room of the suite was so small there was hardly any room to walk- we were told that most occupants would send their luggage for the staff to store to give more walking space. The kitchenette area (tiny) also housed the TV. There was no sink so you had to use the bathroom sink for dishes, rinsing etc.
Room 9 had a much nicer bathroom in terms of size and had a separate tub and shower. The chrome was turning green /discolored though, which turned my sister and mother off so they would not use the large otherwise inviting tub. That room also had limited walk space.

Once we got over the shock of the very small rooms and decided to enjoy anyway we had a great time because everything else was so nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.