We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
up to 33% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My daughter and I have stayed at this inn five years in a row, always timed with our trip to enjoy Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, the museums and theatre in the area. It's perfect - so restful, so pretty, with excellent food and thoughtful care. I highly recommend it - you can't do better in the area.

Room Tip: We love the room with twin beds - room 1?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    46
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
290
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenview
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sitting on the screened porch for breakfast, and devouring the most amazing French toast I have ever known, I realized this had been a perfect overnight stay. And I wished I were staying longer. Room was cozy but perfect. The bath and products made me feel special. Sherry and chocolate chip cookies for afternoon delights. And close to Tanglewood and other Berkshire delights. Staff makes you feel like family, starting with your call to Denise for reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wrote the following in 2010... it is as true today and I can't say it better. Another wonderful stay. Great staff.... and it does keep getting better. Wish we were staying longer.

“Wonderful--- keeps getting better. Check out the heated pool!”
Reviewed August 13, 2010
We have been coming to the Garden Gables for 17 years. We were worried when new owners took over a few years back, but John and crew keep improving the inn. This year we were surprised when the giant pool, previously only for those who liked really cold water and were willing to risk the "shrivel" factor, is now heated. It's a jewel. The breakfasts are not the continental style you find at other inns but a full to order breakfast. You can eat as decadent a breakfast as you like with equal emphasis on healthy food for those who can resist temptation.

The inn's location is perfect. It's a quick walk to town and restaurants, and using the adjacent back roads, Tanglewood is just few minutes away. If you know where to park and the back roads (which the staff will be happy to tell you) you can avoid the traffic at the end of the concerts, too. Over the years we have found other things to do as well, although we have given up on the Williamstown Playhouse. We've seen some great theater at the Theater Barn over the border in New Lebanon, NY. (John has a short cut to that too--- past his orchard and winery.)

The Garden Gables offers all kinds of different rooms, and some are funky and older and some are newer and luxurious. Years ago the clientele was bordering a nursing home. Now it is a wonderful mixture of adults young and old and, best of all, no screaming kids. You can stay to yourself or mingle with the other guests.

Last year the Garden Gables began offering dinner two nights a week. It's like having your own personal chef. The dinner we had was truly wonderful, and we had no problem getting to the theater on time, relaxed and content.

The Garden Gables is the perfect mix of old and new, sophistication and warmth. It is not cheap, but then again, the Hampton Inn during the peak of the summer is not either. (Tried that once, won't do it again.) The Garden Gables is certainly worth every penny. We were sad to come home and have already booked our stay for next year.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room but with one with a porch!
See more room tips
Green Features: Management takes it VERY seriously. I appreciate their focus on it, but don't shove it down guests throats.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent the last night of our Pennsylvania to Maine to Berkshires journey at this lovely B & B. We were greeted with a bottle of the Inn's champagne as a surprise for our wedding anniversary. The setting and the property are relaxing and private, the staff exemplify excellence and the breakfast was delicious. Room 14 is very comfortable and quiet . We wish we had stayed 2 nights but had to end our journey through New England here. Also while here you must dine at the Wheatleigh...one of the best meals we have had east of the French Laundry!! We will be back in the Fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Although this beautiful inn is right off Main Street in Lenox, MA, it feels a million miles away from cities, towns or anything else populated. It is in a very gorgeous and relaxed setting. There is a terrific (and very large) swimming pool on the property. Rooms are comfortable with great furnishings and modern touches (air conditioning, rain showers, flat screen TV). The staff, from the owner on down, is universally friendly and goes out of its way to be helpful. And the breakfast is a killer--the most delicious blueberry pancakes imaginable. And you are a short drive from Tanglewood and many of the other great Berkshire attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A rare Berkshire heat-wave did not diminish the wonderful experience we had at the Garden Gables Inn. The Inn is replete with New England charm, and the air-conditioned comfort of its Cortland Cottage was welcome after an enjoyable, but sultry evening at Tanglewood. Breakfast is ample and delicious, with a friendly and attentive waitstaff. There is an inviting swimming pool and we'll not forget bathing suits when we return next summer. We also dined one evening at the Inn (reservation required), which was tasty and delightful. Downtown Lenox is a short walk. Comfort, convenience and charm - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the Garden Gables this past weekend. Our accommodations were bright and comfortable. The amenities at the Inn......home baked chocolate chip cookies......hot coffee readily available......sherry and nuts. These were just extras. Breakfast offered a buffet of goodies as well as the ability to order items such as pancakes, french toast, eggs etc. We enjoyed sitting on the porch with our breakfast and the NYTimes.
The Inn's sitting rooms and outdoor seating provided quiet places to read or to interact with other guests.
The Inn offers a large pool that is perfect for lap swimming as well as just hanging out.
The location is perfect for walking into the town of Lenox, a short drive to Tanglewood, theater and other Berkshire sites. If you plan to visit the Berkshires, make your reservation at Garden Gables......you will be a happy guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.