We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Weekend...Candles glowing, food, wine & music perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off 2-nights or more
Ranked #3 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Magical Weekend...Candles glowing, food, wine & music perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a very special 3 day weekend at the Garden Gables Inn, traveling with family and friends to celebrate "milestone" birthdays... our thanks to John, Denise and Kelly for making sure everything was perfect! The inn is lovely, cozy and immaculate - you will enjoy fresh flowers, warm cookies, sherry and many other special touches to make your stay enjoyable. John and Denise planned a chef's dinner for our party with a beautiful candlelit table, delicious dinner and a wonderful local musician, Eric Erikson, whose vocals and guitar made the night truly special in every way! As others have mentioned, the breakfast is yummy with options for everyone - and make sure you visit the winery - we spent a half day enjoying the ski trails and a warm fire while we tasted wine and snacked on local fare.
The "excellent" rating for the Garden Gables Inn is well deserved! If you are looking for a special experience in the Berkshires, do not miss a stay here! We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    46
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
278
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, CT
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had been cooped up all winter. A chance to getaway in the Berkshires was a great idea. Went to the Furnace Brook Winery for a moonlit hike, Bonfire and wine tasting. They had entertainment and it was so much fun? Back at the Inn, we came back with another couple we booked with and sat in the main room with the fireplace, drank more wine, lit a fire and laughed. The cookies and candy were yummy, and when i asked for more Kelly went and brought more out! Breakfast in the morning was so delicious, everything was perfect. Oh and the bed was so very comfortable in the Leonard Bernstein room. Kelly was the Inn host for the weekend and what a beautiful girl, inside and out. So delightful and helpful. Keep her!!!!! Thank you all for a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Husband & I stayed 2 nights at the garden gables, we had the most relaxing time! Our breakfast was fantastic just delicious!!!!! The location is perfect, just 1 block to the town of Lenox.
We look forward to our return one day!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent the weekend in Lenox at this charming and quaint Inn. Not to be redundant but Denise and Kelly do a wonderful job at making you feel at home. The breakfasts in the morning are delightful as you can totally indulge with omelettes, french toast, pancakes and waffles or enjoy low-fat yogurt, dried fruit, hard-boiled eggs. The kicker was the ground flax seed and wheat germ! That really sold me.

I got a body scrub by the spa specialist and it was phenomenal. She explained the benefits and what do at home. There was an ample supply of fire wood which meant a constant fire (request room#1 for a fireplace).

The bathroom was in top shape with soft robes and Aveda products (love).

I can't say enough positive things about Garden Gables. Its the perfect place to spend quiet time with someone very close to you.

Room Tip: Room#1-Kate Carey's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

1. Do not confuse Lenox' Garden Gables Inn with the Gables Inn. They are not the same.
2. You know how you hope the experience you see on an Inn's website comes close to the real-world experience? Well, get ready for a real-world stay that exceeds what you experienced from Garden Gabel's website.
This place is the real deal... top quality service and care for its visitors. Friendly, accommodating staff; comfortable surroundings; and a very good value... you get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vt.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights with Denise, Kelly and crew. Denise and Kelly were so accommedating and made our stay flawless. The breakfasts and our romantic dinner were wonderful. I have many dietary allergies and Denise could not have been better about working around them without making me feel like a nuisance. Our room was cozy and beautiful. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent our second wedding anniversary at this bed and breakfast and it was our first time in the Berkshires. We chose to stay two nights and picked the location based on other trip advisor reviews.

We stayed in cottage 16 which separated from the main house. The room had a nice king sized bed and fireplace with a TV mounted on the wall. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well decorated. The level of cleanliness was a four. There were some issues but nothing of concern. You have to have the right expectations for where you are staying. This is an older home and not a brand new hotel. Our impression was very positive and we spent quite a bit of time in the room just relaxing.

The service and breakfast were both fantastic and the ability to sit in the main house and have some sherry while socializing was a great plus. There are fresh chocolate chip cookies in the main house just in case you need a snack.

The location is ideal as you can easily walk to the downtown shops and restaurants in only a few minutes.

Even the weather which was overcast and rainy did nothing to detract from the experience. The place was full and had been over the past few weeks even oft season during the winter months. I think this is a testament to the value and quality of the B&B.

We did not visit the vineyard so I cannot comment on that part of the experience but we did hear many positive comments from other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.