We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those places you hate to give an excellent to, as it will become too popular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save- 2
Ranked #3 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of those places you hate to give an excellent to, as it will become too popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Lenox for years. I can't imagine why we have never stayed here before. Not just the room which was delightful with thoughtful touches like quality chocolates and Pelligreno water and soft towels, not just the warm, friendly welcome by the host and his colleagues, but the home made cookies, the sherry on the table every evening, the beautiful breakfast rooms and wonderful breakfast, the impeccable grounds, and the beautiful pool all add up to a wonderful bed & breakfast. We walked to and from Tanglewood and it wasn't all that bad.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
274
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Second time we've had the great pleasure of staying at the Inn. The first time (2010) we stayed in a Main House room. This trip time we opted for a a cottage room. Room was lovely and well maintained. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of choices. John Vittorio personally greeted each guest during breakfast and the staff can't seem to do enough to make your stay special.

Lenox is a wonderfully quaint town with numerous nice shops and the proximity to Tangelwood is very convenient. We also usually try to take advantage of the great theater options provided by the the Berkshire Theater Group.

Room Tip: We upgraded to one of the cabin rooms for this trip and found it to be money well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We planned a nice weekend away to see a concert at Tanglewood. GG provided a perfect spot to stay and relax. The lawn and gardens was spacious and green. The pool, while plain the decking and chaise lounge chairs were perfect for soaking up the sun or taking a nap which I did. If sun is not your thing the deck had plenty of full sized umbrellas.

If we go back i would book a larger room; with that said it was summer and the weather more than pleasant so we did not spend much time in the room. The inn is decorated with paintings, gorgeous Windsor chairs and comfy couches.

The breakfast for our two night stay was exceptional. Plenty of fruit, nuts pastries, and yogurt. The second day I enjoyed a scrumptious coffee cake. Along with the expanded continental breakfast the chef serves up eggs, waffles and pancakes to order.

The staff were very courteous and helpful. Upon arrival the receptionist greeted us checked us in and gave a quick tour of the inn and its amenities. We arrived mid-afternoon and the receptionist made dinner recommendations and happily made reservations at the restaurant of our choice.

Location was excellent, set far enough back not to hear traffic of the popular town but it was 5 minutes away from all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a larger room if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at Garden Gables Inn and loved every moment! Charming, quaint, quiet, peaceful, beautiful grounds within a block's walking distance to Lenox's main square - yet with ALL the modern amenties - Wi-Fi, flat screen TV's and absolutely the best complimentary breakfast you'll find. We splurged and had the French Toast and Pancakes almost every morning! And the pool is a a total luxury for this area...each afternoon after visiting museums and mansions or shopping, we would perch on our chaise lounges with umbrellas and an ice bucket and sip on Irish Whiskey while reading, napping or swimming. Or, we'd sit on the adirondack lounge chairs with the cool breezes whispering in the trees and we'd listen to the birds singing. The staff is absolutely so professional and friendly and willing to help with any requests - even our 6:45am request for a pot of coffee! The owner John stopped by every day at breakfast to chat with his guests and make sure everyone was having a great time. We visited some of the other "more expensive" resorts in the area and found them very pretentious - Garden Gables is a nice little slice of heaven and you'll love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the four newer units/suites built in a side house to the main house...very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent two nights at the Garden Gables, which had been recommended by a friend as his favorite place in Lenox. Friendly staff, quiet atmosphere, very nice room. Breakfast, as noted by many, was excellent. I do like to swim in the mornings while traveling, and the pool is unique - large, plenty of room for laps, and apparently one of the oldest (but well-maintained) outdoor pools in the Berkshires. I'd certainly return for another stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. We were expecting the world after all the great reviews so maybe that jaded us a bit. The inn is nice but I have definitely stayed at nicer places in the area. I will say it was extremely private. We rarely saw anyone, guests or staff. The breakfasts were good. We did enjoy those. The common areas are nice. I really felt that our room was a bit small and dull for the price. We spent the weekend tripping over our bags because space was a bit tight. I'm a bit of a clean freak and the dust in the room was surprising. the headboard of the bed had not been touched in quite a while. The phone in the room was dusty as was the A/C vent. The inn did have some nice features but overall for the price I think I'll go back to one of the other places that we've stayed in Lenox.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent location and first rate service. This is my place of choice in Lennox.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.