We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gables Inn
135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save- 2
Ranked #3 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bronx, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Homemade chocolate chip cookies, check!
Fireplace, check!
Bottomless Sherry bottle, check!
Cozy/clean room, check!
Spacious jacuzzi, check!

Must give mention to the stellar French Toast and amazing Blueberry Buckle.

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in the Berkshires. Thank you Denise, for making our stay a pleasant one! We'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
273
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My Daughter and I were pleasantly surprised to arrive at The Garden Gables Inn to find Denise waiting up for us with warm homemade cookies, a wood fire burning and a cozy rooms to just "hang out" in, a clean darling bedroom with a FABULOUS comfie bed. Then we awoke to a WONDERFUL BIG DELICIOUS breakfast cooked by Denise and her darling staff. But SHHHHHHHH don't tell everyone, or we'll never be able to get a reservation. It was a delightful surprise!

Room Tip: go on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Spent a weekend getaway here with my wife. Super cozy room (16, in the cabins) with a delightful fireplace. Perfectly relaxing. The town of Lenox is very cute and a short easy walk, another perk. Afternoon sherry in the main house was awesome. Breakfasts were great, dinner was average--not as amazing as we expected based on other reviews. Went to Alta the night before and THAT was well worth it. Did not take advantage of the pool (closed for winter) but I am sure it is great. Overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed for a night at the Garden Gables in Lenox. Just a really nice inn with a friendly and hospitable innkeeper. Upon check-in, my wife and I were given a tour of the premises, we were told we could light a fire in either of the two fireplaces and enjoy sherry in the sherry room...all hotels should have a sherry room.

I have a gluten allergy, and mentioned this when making the reservation - no problem. The innkeeper even prepared some gluten free brownies for me. They were easily the best brownies I've ever had. Breakfast was delicious. Both a la carte options and made to order options. Overall this was an excellent experience and I look forward to staying there again.

only negative: the bathroom (as warned in the room description) was a little small.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our stay ay the Garden Gables Inn couldn't have been better. The Inn is a delight filled with comfort, hospitality and comfort. The staff from John (the owner) to Denise the inkeeper & chef and staff made us feel welcome and comfortable from the minute we arrived. The room was great. The food was a delight and we felt like we belonged here as if was our getaway home. John keep cooking those chocolate chip cookies - they were the best. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My Partner and I just stayed two nights and loved the moon lit hike they offer at there winery We enjoyed the inn very much and thought Denise was so hospitable and a fantastic chef! What I really love to is how happy and friendly Julie was when meeting us. She made us feel special at the winery and appreciated that we stayed at her inn. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The reviews for this Inn rate it the best for a reason. We visiited just after the foliage season making for a much needed quiet break from Boston prior to preparing for the holidays. Being able to walk to the local shops and out for dinner was nice and the Inn is perfectly located in-order to make short drives to other destinations in the area as well. Our room had charming furnishings with modern upgrades that you would expect at this type of property. Denise the Inn Keeper was very kind, attentive and assisted with area attractions which was also helpful as this was our first stay in the Berkshires. A great stay at a great property that has interesting history. Don't forget to make the 15 minute drive to the orchard/winery that is held by the same ownership!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Address: 135 Main Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 4-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in the dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, Aveda products, LCD TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Free WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.