We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Home, truly a relaxing and delightful stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Inn Lenox to your Saves list
Cornell Inn Lenox
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Ventnor, N.J.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Second Home, truly a relaxing and delightful stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This is my third stay at the Cornell Inn. They must be doing something right! Maybe it's the delicious but still healthy breakfast prepared by Michele or the warmth of Lisa's greeting's when we are checking in.

They make a point of meeting your every need and take note of what we asked for the last visit and have it ready for us when we get there.

I have no problem calling this my second home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    81
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
33
192
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We didn't like this inn at all. Bed was uncomfortable, room was unwelcoming - all in all I found the place a bit creepy !! Also, we got locked out on the patio by the owner and had to walk all the way round to the entrance next to the car park to get back in (he knew we were there too!) It was the worst place we stayed on our New England tour - I was glad to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at this lovely inn for 2 weeks with my 16 year old daughter. Michelle made the most delicious brekfasts ( no need to have lunch). Eiran , Michelle and Lisa were so friendly and welcoming. My daughter enjoyed dance classes at a nearby studio and the plays at Shakespeare and Co. were terrific. The location is wonderful and the people make the Cornell Inn a very warm and peaceful place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I don't think there is anything we could have asked for that would have made our stay more enjoyable. We have stayed in many B & B's/inns throughout New England and beyond, and The Cornell is the first that "puts it all together" in one place: service, food, ambiance, location, room comfort, amenities and even camaraderie. You won't find any staff/management more attentive, professional and personable than here. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Very comfortable room, yummy breakfast, and really nice common areas. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Cornell Inn is located smack dab in the middle of everything I wanted to visit in the Berkshires. The innkeepers were friendly and treated me like one of the family during my stay. The first morning, I became good friends over breakfast with a very interesting couple from New Haven, who recommended things for me to see. My room, the Teddy, was beautifully restored with appropriate antique furnishings and a great view of the woods out back. The only negative was an old television wtih a fuzzy picture, but I wasn't there to watch TV. Will definitely try to book my stay there next time I return to the Berkshires.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

"Ida" is a small room with a small bed and a mattress that's as hard as a rock. The walls in this building are paper thin - we could hear our neighbor sigh. We stayed two nights and our room was never cleaned. We had to ask for fresh towels. All this for $240 per night. We discussed our disappointing experience and the room's shortcomings with the innkeeper and he was unapologetic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eiran, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
We very much enjoyed your company and conversation during your stay, and I recall that you "...prefer to come last minute to enjoy the theater". Again, we are sorry you were displeased with what we had to offer, but the deep misfortune of last minute trips during peak season in The Berkshires is that it can leave a lesser desirable room as the only remaining option, as was the case in this situation. I remember sharing that with you during your stay; Ida was our only available room.

It is clearly our smallest room and was originally designed for handicap accessibility with an adjoining double-door to adjacent room in the event a guest requiring wheel chair accessibility has a traveling companion. We agree that we have other, more inviting rooms to offer which is why Ida is routinely the last room we invite our guests to stay in. However, in all cases, when one reserves online independent of our foreknowledge -and we have another available room- we always upgrade at no charge.

Regarding the housekeeping -again I reflect on our conversation ... that during the check-in process, part of what I explain is that when one hangs the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on their door during breakfast and then leaves for the day having forgotten to reverse the sign to 'Maid Service Requested', our housekeeping staff has been instructed not to knock when the DND sign is displayed, else they nullify the effect of the sign and thus the peace and privacy of your stay. I am sorry your bed was not prepared for your return, but we willingly provided fresh supplies when you brought it to our attention, and were also willing to make your bed on the spot, but you declined the necessity, realizing that the DND sign was still in place.

As the end of peak season brings about a welcome sigh of relief from a job well done, we make it a point to reflect on our guests and the experiences we've shared during their stay. Most of them are really exciting stories with warm and wonderful people and night upon night of tales and laughter! We are so sorry for your personal displeasure; perhaps a future stay will avail a more contented experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Inn Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.