We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels next to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Inn Lenox to your Saves list
Cornell Inn Lenox
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Framingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feels next to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its a very nice location. Calm quiet and beautiful. We had an amazing stay there and the rooms and service was commendable. We requested to check out a little late than usual hours and they agreed without any extra charge. Thanks for your service. Will definitely suggest this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. I'm glad you were able to enjoy a bit of R & R during the off season. Thank you for suggesting our Inn to others and we hope you'll be back for a visit in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    80
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
33
190
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Cornell is lovely B&B in a great location with really great prices for the area. The innkeeper was very accommodating and helpful. His pumpkin pancakes were fabulous and my husband's omelete was also very good and we loved the fresh fruit. Our room was large with a balcony and fireplace. Th bathrooms are on the small side though.

The Inn is a little on the old side and does need some freshening. But overall the value was great and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on their website but some can be pretty small. Be sure to ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Shelley,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn, we greatly appreciate it. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay during the off season. While summer is lovely in the Berkshires, I love the calm and simple beauty that winter provides in Lenox. Lance is an amazing chef and a wonderful general manager, we are fortunate to have such a multi-faceted person as part of our team. When we bought The Cornell Inn in late August of 2012, we knew we had our work cut out for us, the Inn has good bones and we plan to improve her overall appearance and environment greatly over the next few years. We appreciate your patience regarding that fact and hope you and your family will visit us again.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I Stayed 3 nights in the "Mamie" suite and it was fantastic! We had a private living room with a fire place we definitely took advantage of. Nice queen size bed and very clean bathroom with a decent sized whirlpool tub!

The innkeeper, Lance, was very friendly and accommodating, and the atmosphere at the main house was warm and inviting!

A minute drive from a ski shop where we rented xc skis and did some Nordic skiing in a very nice park next door with some great trails!

Also a 5 minute walk into town which had many dining and drinking options. Not much of a scene at any of the bars or restaurants but perfect for a couple to have a few nice nights out!

A perfect getaway in the berkshires...Already thinking of going back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for our Inn, we greatly appreciate it. I'm glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed our Inn and the beauty of the Berkshires during the "low" season. I'm glad you enjoyed "Mamie" it is one of my favorite rooms as well. We hope you come back to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Cornell Inn (we stayed there first in June of this year). This time, we stayed in the main house. Our room, Frances, was the largest, and was very comfortable. I have read some of the other reviews, and do not have any of the complaints that other guests mentioned. The inn was recently purchased and the new owners seem to be implementing changes that address the feedback others have given. The buildings are historic, and in need of some freshening-up, but as the expression goes "Rome wasn't built in a day"! The inn is in a great location and Lance, the manager and chef, continues to do an excellent job - helpful and attentive. The breakfast offerings were varried and delicious - something for everyones' taste. The atmosphere of the inn works for anyone: families with kids, couples of any age, singles and friends traveling together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Larry-
Thank you for the wonderful review and I'm glad you came back for another visit! We appreciate your understanding that the Inn is not only under new ownership, but that the three buildings are historic. Since your visit we have had numerous upgrades to the Inn: new beds, new pillows, a new pond, roof repair, restoration of the fireplaces, new patio furniture, and a new pond to name a few. Lance continues to "wow" people with his amazing breakfasts and really makes all of our guests feel important and at ease. We'll be heading back up over Memorial Day week-end to plant a few dozen flowers and look forward to moving up to the Berkshires this June so we can be hands on with our guests and meet the needs of the Inn on a daily basis. We hope to see you back again soon!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay on a winter getaway. Our room was large with a sitting area by the fire and TV (one duraflame log included per day). Our canopy bed was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was a generous buffet with multiple egg dishes, almond french toast and pumpkin pancakes, all yummy. They have a little handmade waterfall and pond out back that is probably lovely in the warm weather to sit by. They have 3 buildings. We stayed in the main house in the Barbara (named after Barbara Bush); only complaint is it was right on the road and I am sensitive to road noise. I believe the rooms in the back of the main house would be quieter. Prices were significantly lower than another B&B we stayed at, yet the room we had was bigger and the food more plentiful. Lance, the innkeeper, lives on the third floor with his family and is reserved but helpful. He recommended Elizabeth's in Pittsfield as a good vegetarian restaurant and he was right on (read our review!). Highly recommend walking, snowshoeing or skiing in The Kennedy Park, right behind this Inn, and the Berkshire Mountain Country Store is a great place to get gifts.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the back, away from the road. Some have a fireplace and jacuzzi - be sure to ask and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your getaway at The Cornell Inn. I'm sorry the road noise was a disturbance to you, but I am happy you could appreciate the room's beauty. Lance and Karen produce AMAZING breakfasts for our guests both in regards to taste and variety. We hope you come back and visit with us in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights, this weekend, at the Cornell. Our room was the Dolley room. We were visiting family in the area so we were able to relax at the Inn when not visiting. Our room had a clean, modernized bathroom. The room was fresh, clean and color coordinated. We enjoyed the separate seating area from the sleeping area in our room. The Inn's manager was friendly and helpful. He recommended an excellent restaurant for us as well. Breakfast was nice and we enjoyed always having access to tea and a snack. Wifi was a plus as we are presently addicted to Words With Friends. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable while visiting family in the area. Lance is both an amazing chef and a wonderful asset to our team as our manager being that he's a local and always has the "scoop" on where to go for a wonderful meal or a bit of entertainment. We hope you come back to see us again the next time you're visiting with your extended family or just for a getaway!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was willing to overlook the cobwebs and spiders everywhere. I was willing to overlook that the bathroom sink was plugged. I'm really annoyed, however, at what happened when I left my brand new, one day old sweater there. I called. They had it. They mailed it, but not to me. They admittedly mailed it to the wrong person at the wrong address. It's lost, and they've refused to make good on it. Screw them. I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Inn Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.