We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Inn Lenox to your Saves list
Cornell Inn Lenox
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Quincy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights, this weekend, at the Cornell. Our room was the Dolley room. We were visiting family in the area so we were able to relax at the Inn when not visiting. Our room had a clean, modernized bathroom. The room was fresh, clean and color coordinated. We enjoyed the separate seating area from the sleeping area in our room. The Inn's manager was friendly and helpful. He recommended an excellent restaurant for us as well. Breakfast was nice and we enjoyed always having access to tea and a snack. Wifi was a plus as we are presently addicted to Words With Friends. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable while visiting family in the area. Lance is both an amazing chef and a wonderful asset to our team as our manager being that he's a local and always has the "scoop" on where to go for a wonderful meal or a bit of entertainment. We hope you come back to see us again the next time you're visiting with your extended family or just for a getaway!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    83
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
35
204
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was willing to overlook the cobwebs and spiders everywhere. I was willing to overlook that the bathroom sink was plugged. I'm really annoyed, however, at what happened when I left my brand new, one day old sweater there. I called. They had it. They mailed it, but not to me. They admittedly mailed it to the wrong person at the wrong address. It's lost, and they've refused to make good on it. Screw them. I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were on a touring holiday and stayed for one night. The welcome was nice and the breakfast ok - lovely hot, mulled cider. Unfortunately our room (Teddy Roosevelt)had a broken sink plug, was very dark and needed a thorough clean (the top of the bed canopy was quite dusty), probably even refurbishment. I believe the B&B may have changed hands recently so a real opportunity for the new owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. Since we took over the Inn, both my husband, Tim, myself, and our entire staff have been trying our best to improve both the exterior and interior of the buildings that make up The Cornell Inn. For example we have added a new pond, new lawn and patio furniture, new heaters/AC units in various rooms, a new roof, new beds and pillow, fixed all of the fireplaces and have been working on fixing on various repairs within the rooms. We also are trying to enhance our guests' visit to the Berkshire region. I will talk to Lance and the cleaning staff regarding your concerns as cleanliness is a top priority for me. enhance their stay while in the Berkshires. Thanks again for your imput, we appreciate any and all feedback as it can only point us in the right direction for our guests' needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here Nov. 2-4 and stayed in the Frances Room and had a GREAT time! Lance was tremendous! He took us up to our room upon check-in and showed us all the essentials. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good! The bed was absolutely incredible! Of all the places I have ever stayed in the U.S.--and there have been many--I've never slept on a better bed! As far as the food: they changed the menu both days. On Saturday, there was a cheese and tomato quiche, and on Sunday we had the cheese and Broccoli quiche. They also had apple cider pancakes or banana pancakes on Saturday and gingerbread pancakes or pumpkin french toast on Sunday, along with the eggs and potatoes. However, I don't understand why some here are piling on Lance! He was nothing but accommodating! We ran into him at the local Price Chopper to pick up a Duraflame log for the fireplace and he told us that they had more back at the Inn,and not to spend our money. We thought that only the first log was complimentary! Too bad the BBB doesn't recognize the good reports! Having never stayed in a B & B before, if we can do it again, we will DEFINITELY return here!

Room Tip: The Frances Room definitely has a fireplace and a complimentary 3 hour Duraflame log, so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review of our Inn. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time at the Inn and in the Berkshires. Since your visit we have done a ton of improvements. Such as: we purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took a cheap room in an annex for one night - the room (The Teddy, I think it was, - for Teddy Roosevelt), had a nice view of the hill behind the Inn and was more than large enough but the bathroom needed substantial upgrading. It was fine for one night. The main lodge is quaint and comfortable. The breakfast was substantial but pretty bland. It was a buffet with warming trays of eggs, potatoes + breads and muffins and jam etc. The staff were nice and the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm sorry your visit was less than truly enjoyable. I wanted to let you know since your visit we have done various improvements to enhance the Inn. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our two night stay at Cornell Inn was very pleasant. Our suite was comfortable and the fireplace was very nice on the cool evenings. The innkeeper was very helpful and friendly and recommended a very good restaurant for dinner. We are also innkeepers in Portland, Oregon and appreciate all that goes into making an inn comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts were hearty and a good start to each day. We enjoyed Lenox and hope to stay again at Cornell Inn on our next trip to New England. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality. Pam and Carl, Heron Haus B&B, Portland, OR

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in your review of our Inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We've done a ton of improvements since your stay so if you ever get back to the East Coast, please come back for a visit and if we visit the Pacific Northwest we'll be sure to stay at your B&B!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently decided to go to the Berkshires. I was looking for a bed & breakfast that was reasonably priced and well located. I settled on the Cornell Inn in Lenox, Mass. It was small and filled with antiques. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a king size bed and two wing chairs on either side of the fireplace. We felt relaxed as soon as we entered. I was able to hook up to wifi easily. In the morning we went to the dining room for a delicious homemade breakfast. The cook had made pumpkin pancakes, lemon poppyseed pancakes, spinach quiche, muffins. There was an array os cereals, toast, potatoes, coffee and teas. We stayed for three days and the breakfast buffet was different each day. Our only miner complaint was that the shower was very small, but other than that we were very happy and would return. There is plenty to visit in Lenox and it is not far from other location like Mount Greylock. I recommend staying staying at the Cornell Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king size bed. Some of the other rooms said they had jacuzzi tubs. I might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Inn Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.