We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Have Been Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Inn Lenox to your Saves list
Cornell Inn Lenox
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
CT
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Been Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here Nov. 2-4 and stayed in the Frances Room and had a GREAT time! Lance was tremendous! He took us up to our room upon check-in and showed us all the essentials. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good! The bed was absolutely incredible! Of all the places I have ever stayed in the U.S.--and there have been many--I've never slept on a better bed! As far as the food: they changed the menu both days. On Saturday, there was a cheese and tomato quiche, and on Sunday we had the cheese and Broccoli quiche. They also had apple cider pancakes or banana pancakes on Saturday and gingerbread pancakes or pumpkin french toast on Sunday, along with the eggs and potatoes. However, I don't understand why some here are piling on Lance! He was nothing but accommodating! We ran into him at the local Price Chopper to pick up a Duraflame log for the fireplace and he told us that they had more back at the Inn,and not to spend our money. We thought that only the first log was complimentary! Too bad the BBB doesn't recognize the good reports! Having never stayed in a B & B before, if we can do it again, we will DEFINITELY return here!

Room Tip: The Frances Room definitely has a fireplace and a complimentary 3 hour Duraflame log, so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review of our Inn. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time at the Inn and in the Berkshires. Since your visit we have done a ton of improvements. Such as: we purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    81
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
33
192
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took a cheap room in an annex for one night - the room (The Teddy, I think it was, - for Teddy Roosevelt), had a nice view of the hill behind the Inn and was more than large enough but the bathroom needed substantial upgrading. It was fine for one night. The main lodge is quaint and comfortable. The breakfast was substantial but pretty bland. It was a buffet with warming trays of eggs, potatoes + breads and muffins and jam etc. The staff were nice and the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm sorry your visit was less than truly enjoyable. I wanted to let you know since your visit we have done various improvements to enhance the Inn. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our two night stay at Cornell Inn was very pleasant. Our suite was comfortable and the fireplace was very nice on the cool evenings. The innkeeper was very helpful and friendly and recommended a very good restaurant for dinner. We are also innkeepers in Portland, Oregon and appreciate all that goes into making an inn comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts were hearty and a good start to each day. We enjoyed Lenox and hope to stay again at Cornell Inn on our next trip to New England. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality. Pam and Carl, Heron Haus B&B, Portland, OR

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in your review of our Inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We've done a ton of improvements since your stay so if you ever get back to the East Coast, please come back for a visit and if we visit the Pacific Northwest we'll be sure to stay at your B&B!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently decided to go to the Berkshires. I was looking for a bed & breakfast that was reasonably priced and well located. I settled on the Cornell Inn in Lenox, Mass. It was small and filled with antiques. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a king size bed and two wing chairs on either side of the fireplace. We felt relaxed as soon as we entered. I was able to hook up to wifi easily. In the morning we went to the dining room for a delicious homemade breakfast. The cook had made pumpkin pancakes, lemon poppyseed pancakes, spinach quiche, muffins. There was an array os cereals, toast, potatoes, coffee and teas. We stayed for three days and the breakfast buffet was different each day. Our only miner complaint was that the shower was very small, but other than that we were very happy and would return. There is plenty to visit in Lenox and it is not far from other location like Mount Greylock. I recommend staying staying at the Cornell Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king size bed. Some of the other rooms said they had jacuzzi tubs. I might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Cornell for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good and the treats in the afternoon were great. Coffee and hot cider were almost always available and we loved it. Inn is centrally located and parking was easy. Our room, Dolly, was on smaller size but enough space for us. My biggest concern with the room was the fireplace. We booked this room for that purpose and when we arrived we were told that it was wood burning (which is fine) but that we had to go out and buy our own firewood. This was really inconvenient, and after traveling 6 hours it was just not the welcome we were hoping for.

Also, if you're looking for a B & B experience with personal attention and a lot of help in planning your time there, I dont think this is the place for that. They have many rooms (20+) and the staff seemed really busy. We had most of our events preplanned so this wasnt really an issue for us, but we missed the casual conversations with innkeepers that we've had at other inns.

Room Tip: If you pick a room with fireplace, bring your own firewood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review our Inn. While I am glad that overall your stay was enjoyable, I'm sorry that you had to purchase your own firewood. That is simply not acceptable. Since your stay we have made it our policy to provide one complimentary log per night/room. We've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. We're also happy to report McCaffery's Pub is know operational 7 days a week for the benefit of our guests. While I know our team would love to "brag" to everyone about what the Berkshires have to offer, they also want to respect our guests' privacy and down time. I will speak to Lance and our staff about making certain we double check with our guests if they have any needs or concerns about their rooms a/o the Berkshires. We hope you return for a visit in the near future so we can show you all of things we've done thus far to improve not just the Inn, but the overall satifsfaction of our guests.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a pleasant three night stay at The Cornell with outstanding breakfasts made made by a sweet girl named Karen. The weather was perfect (late September) and the scenery breathtaking. There is very much to see. The Norman Rockwell museum was wonderful and a trip to Edith Wharton's home 'The Mount' was amazing. We would highly recommend a trip to the Berkshires and we are looking forward to a return.
Dan and Alice Ryan

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the 'Barbara' which we would hve preferred to the 'Abigail'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Cornell in Lenox is a friendly B&B, on the outskirts of Lenox. You can walk to the center of town in 5-10 minutes and to Tanglewood in about 45 minutes (2 miles). That makes it a nice base for a summer weekend in the Berkshires, especially for classical music lovers. We chose to walk instead of drive to the sold-out John Williams 80th Birthday concert, and pretty much kept pace with the cars!

The decor embraces New England Americana, and depending on your taste, you might find it super cute or super "kitsch." Regardless, the rooms were well-maintained and super clean. For breakfast, the chef whips up a fantastic buffet spread of homemade creations that change daily: pumpkin spice pancakes, melt-in-your mouth banana muffins, french toast, eggs, quiche, home fries, and breakfast meats. The quality and selection was well above what I've had at similar inns, and certainly something to swoon over. There are tables both inside and outside in the garden, which is really relaxing on a summer morning.

Above all, props to the Cornell for being one of the few Inns in the area that does not have an obnoxious three-night minimum for summer weekends. This was a key factor in our choice to stay there and something we were very thankful for. Cornell's summer weekend prices are high for sure, but come out looking decent when you compare them to others in the area.

There was one "negative" asterisks to our experience: we had an odd room mix-up that gave us pause. This is the sort of B&B where each room is decorated quite differently, and since we booked 5 months in advance, we had almost the pick of the litter. They have a computerized reservation system and our confirmation clearly stated the room we had booked, but we arrived to find they had put other guests in our room. The only explanation we could get was a sheepish "we don't know why that happened." We were given the only other room available, luckily a nearly identical room in everything but decor, which was pretty different. All was fine in practicality, but we were disappointed not to have the room we selected, especially at $225/night and having booked so far in advance. The only possible explanation we could think of was that someone else asked to switch rooms, and if that's the case, it would have been wrong of Cornell to give them our reservation. Whatever the cause, it might have been nice to see a small gesture of apology (some other places I've stayed might have given a complimentary bottle of wine or a discount on the room) but it wasn't a huge downer overall. Our experience was otherwise good, and I would certainly give the Cornell another shot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires regardless of the mix up with your room. I'm so sorry for the mix-up regarding your room regardless if it was under our ownship or the previous one. I know that must have been disappointing as you had booked it so far in advance. Since taking ownership in late August we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you choose to come for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Inn Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.