We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for Tanglewood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Inn Lenox to your Saves list
Cornell Inn Lenox
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Base for Tanglewood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Cornell in Lenox is a friendly B&B, on the outskirts of Lenox. You can walk to the center of town in 5-10 minutes and to Tanglewood in about 45 minutes (2 miles). That makes it a nice base for a summer weekend in the Berkshires, especially for classical music lovers. We chose to walk instead of drive to the sold-out John Williams 80th Birthday concert, and pretty much kept pace with the cars!

The decor embraces New England Americana, and depending on your taste, you might find it super cute or super "kitsch." Regardless, the rooms were well-maintained and super clean. For breakfast, the chef whips up a fantastic buffet spread of homemade creations that change daily: pumpkin spice pancakes, melt-in-your mouth banana muffins, french toast, eggs, quiche, home fries, and breakfast meats. The quality and selection was well above what I've had at similar inns, and certainly something to swoon over. There are tables both inside and outside in the garden, which is really relaxing on a summer morning.

Above all, props to the Cornell for being one of the few Inns in the area that does not have an obnoxious three-night minimum for summer weekends. This was a key factor in our choice to stay there and something we were very thankful for. Cornell's summer weekend prices are high for sure, but come out looking decent when you compare them to others in the area.

There was one "negative" asterisks to our experience: we had an odd room mix-up that gave us pause. This is the sort of B&B where each room is decorated quite differently, and since we booked 5 months in advance, we had almost the pick of the litter. They have a computerized reservation system and our confirmation clearly stated the room we had booked, but we arrived to find they had put other guests in our room. The only explanation we could get was a sheepish "we don't know why that happened." We were given the only other room available, luckily a nearly identical room in everything but decor, which was pretty different. All was fine in practicality, but we were disappointed not to have the room we selected, especially at $225/night and having booked so far in advance. The only possible explanation we could think of was that someone else asked to switch rooms, and if that's the case, it would have been wrong of Cornell to give them our reservation. Whatever the cause, it might have been nice to see a small gesture of apology (some other places I've stayed might have given a complimentary bottle of wine or a discount on the room) but it wasn't a huge downer overall. Our experience was otherwise good, and I would certainly give the Cornell another shot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires regardless of the mix up with your room. I'm so sorry for the mix-up regarding your room regardless if it was under our ownship or the previous one. I know that must have been disappointing as you had booked it so far in advance. Since taking ownership in late August we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you choose to come for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    83
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
35
204
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Cute inn with great breakfast. My husband and I have stayed in bed and breakfasts in Asheville, nc before and these were our comparison points for the Cornell. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. It was outdated but met our needs. We were able to walk to dinner each night which was nice! If you're looking for something fancy/posh, this isn't the place.... But great for a budget stay near historic Lenox.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Berkshire region. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! If you ever get back up to the northeast, please come stay with us again, we'd love to show you all of our improvements both to the Inn and the guests' enjoyment.

Best Wishes
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our room was slightly musty, and kind of high Victorian overkill. Some other (unfortunately smaller) rooms are more sedate and might more restful.

PLUSES
- Great for your Edwardian Downton Abby fantasy role play
- Lovely grounds and buildings
- Great b'fast with hot eggs, waffles, blueberry pancakes etc
- Free wifi
- Cheap
- Friendly helpful staff (let us use empty room to change for the afternoon wedding we were attending, since our room wasn't ready yet)
- Fireplace (decorative / wood -- there was no wood in it, so not sure)

MINUSES
- lots. of. wallpaper! Mismatched and as Oscar Wilde famously said "one of us has to go!"
- No info. in room on inn, b'fast hours or surrounding area in room
- Tub doesn't drain completely leaving an icky feeling when you first use it
- Low mirrors in bath mean stooping to do see anything in them
- Mismatched cheap bath products
- Hard bed and pillows

Room Tip: ask for some of the more sedate rooms, unless you enjoy lots of wallpaper and high victoriana
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. We appreciate you giving us constructive criticism as we knew when we chose to purchase this Inn although it has great potential, it was in dire need of repair and upkeep on many levels. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you come back for another visit in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Enjoyed staying here for 2 nights! We stayed in the Martha Washington Room in the Carriage House! The food was absolutely delicious! The cook, Karen, was so nice! She kept coming around all the tables asking how the food was, and wanted to know if we needed anything!
She also escorted us to our room, even though she didn't have too! The Inn itself is truly beautiful! The staff very friendly and approachable! Would suggest to anyone visiting area!

Room Tip: The room we choose faces the road, but wasn't noisy at all! You have another room that can be r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you come back for another visit soon!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

All rooms are different. Barbara was very large and on the first floor. Breakfast area was sunny inside as well as an outside deck with umbrellas. Lovely grounds.

Rooms are themed with names of presidents wives.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came here at 6:30 on a Saturday night because a place down the street was unbearable. They were friendly, put us in a small room (would like to try a bigger room, but can't complain about this one given the situation) and really made it a nice stay. Mattress, however was not very comfortable at all, wouldve been 5 stars if not for that. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad we were able to find a room for you as summer in the Berkshires is quite busy and Inns, B&B's and hotels are often booked many months in advance. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We needed a room for just one night near Lenox and decided we'd like a small town B&B rather than a chain hotel. The Cornell is significantly less expensive than other properties in town, but even for just $150 per night including taxes, we expected a bit more. As others have noted, the whole place could use an update. Although we didn't need help, the staff were friendly and the bedroom (Dolly) was charming. The bed was comfortable; the bathroom was pretty but small. Breakfast was ample but not great: bread pudding and quiche were very heavy, and home fries seemed greasy. The grounds are very attractive and if we had stayed longer we would have enjoyed sitting outside reading in the gardens; guests can also bring breakfast outside. It's a serious uphill walk back to the inn from town, and after dark it could be a bit intimidating due to the cars traveling at 45 mph+. I'd like to give this place 3.5 stars but I think it falls short of Very Good in this category in this town. We don't regret our stay and would choose it again if the only alternative was a chain or a $250 per night hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Bill,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats, I'm sorry during your stay you did not feel this was the case. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! If you head back this way, we hope you would stay with us again so we can show you all of the improvements we've made to the Inn.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Inn Lenox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.