We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brook Farm Inn
Save
You added Brook Farm Inn to your Saves list
15 Hawthorne Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special $50 off
Ranked #4 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Winter Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I wanted to take a quick trip out to the Berkshires, and were very happy to find this B&B. We've never stayed in a B&B before, so we don't have much to compare to, but this was an outstanding experience. The room we stayed in (Skylight) was clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable, and extremely cozy. Old New England home charm with modern amenities. It wasn't too busy when we were there, and I didn't hear a peep when we were in our room. My impression is that this is not a family [young children] kind of environment, but more of a couple's getaway.

The innkeepers are wonderful people, very accommodating and fun to talk to. We took them up on their suggestions regarding hiking trails and rental places, and are very glad that we did. Common spaces are elegant and comfortable, and there's wifi throughout the house. I read earlier some folks are disappointed in the breakfast, but I can't understand why. Instead of the generic bacon and eggs, our breakfasts included yogurt + granola, cereal, home made quiche, home made french toast, pastries, local cheese, and tons of fresh fruit. So maybe those folks were expecting something different, but we were very pleased. They also serve afternoon tea and scones Fri-Sun.

It's a short walk to downtown Lenox, including the really nice restaurants (Alta, Brava, Nudel, etc), and close to nearby skiing and hiking. We went in the winter, but this place seems like it would awesome in the summer (Tanglewood, lakes, hiking, etc). But that's for another visit. I'm sure there are other nice B&Bs around, but we will be returning to Brook Farm Inn anytime we're in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Skylight room was great, but it's not ideal for older guests who may have to get up at night to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper18, Owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It's great to know that our guests enjoy the ambiance, décor, and comfort of our inn. Lenox is indeed picturesque, and the surrounding area offers many attractions. We hope to welcome these friendly and gracious guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    34
    9
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
159
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were lucky to have a beautiful snowy weekend. We walked to dinner both nights. I would recommend Bistro Zinc. Its a half mile walk to the restaurants, which was fine for us. The inn was very, very clean. They treated us to a glass of sherry when we arrived. What a comforting, welcoming touch! The guest pantry was super nice to have. At night we lit our fireplace and enjoyed munchies we purchased earlier in the day in town. Linda, Phil and Robert were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013. The inn is lovely, clean, comfortable and well run. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts are friendly and very helpful with lots of information about the area and things to do. Lennox is a beautiful small town with some good restaurants. Eat at Alta - fabulous fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere - duck with salted caramel sauce is one of the best things that I have ever eaten! We would recommend this inn very highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We only spent two nights here on our tour of New Hampshire but were very happy. The room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast very good for English tastes! Some American breakfasts can feel quite overwhelming but we really enjoyed the food on offer at Brook Farm. The inn is conveniently situated for the town although we did take the car in the evenings as it is very dark. Nice local places to eat and lovely range of shops. Linda and Phil were welcoming and helpful. We highly recommend a visit to the Hancock Shaker Village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were quite pleased with our choice. The innkeepers went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful with giving us travel advice since we were first time visitors. Phil's sense of humor and great stories were extremely entertaining. The breakfasts were outstanding. The whole place was decorated very nicely. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The inn keepers were knowledgeable and friendly. We stayed for our annual fall foliage weekend. We searched online before finding this inn and couldn't be any happier. The price was great for this time of year. The room was spacious, clean and charming. The breakfasts were scrumptious. Scones and tea were put out each day, but my husband and I never made it back in time. Nevertheless, Phil made sure we went home with some scones and they were just as great as everyone raved about. We can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Rooms were very nicely decorated, comfortable and relaxing with everything we needed. Our hosts were brilliant, they provided answers to any queries and helped with providing very useful information concerning local attractions to see. Breakfasts were lovely and a great start to a busy day. A charming and beautiful location to base yourself in this area. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, Owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It's always appreciated when our guests share comments about our property with other travelers. We take pride in our guest rooms and are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed the inn. Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm Inn

Address: 15 Hawthorne Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires' Brook Farm Inn is a short walk from the center of Lenox, MA and a mile from the Boston Symphony Orchestra's Tanglewood. A Select Registry inn, Brook Farm Inn offers unsurpassed New England bed and breakfast hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.