We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the Innkeepers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brook Farm Inn
Save
You added Brook Farm Inn to your Saves list
15 Hawthorne Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special $50 off
Ranked #4 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Shame about the Innkeepers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We were perplexed how some people found this Inn wonderful and others found it terrible. Having stayed at Brook Farm we think we have found the answer.

The Innkeepers are very much into culture (poetry, art, museums, classical music & fine wines) & expect their guests to have the same interests. If you share these interests, then this is the place for you.

Phil's over enthusiastic customer care skills gave us a 30 minute lecture on the cultural merits of the area. After driving 270 miles all we wanted was a cup of tea and a lie down. Then we had an in depth training course on how to use the room thermostat and were told how other guests had the nerve to have the room warmer than 60f. Some people, we were told, actually opened a window!

Breakfast was an uncomfortable experience as we felt our food intake was being monitored. Phil stood over us constantly . So much so, that we ate very little before grabbing our bags and checking out. Breakfast could have been a little more imaginative, 1 hot dish, lots of cakes and an excellent fruit salad, even if we were told, at some length, what it contained. Eating it was clearly not enough for us to know this!

Our room, which was small, sloped badly with a very uncomfortable bed that meant we had to grip onto the side to stop rolling out. Being in the attic the sloping roof was so close to the bed it was a hazard especially in the dark.

There did seem to be a tense atmosphere in the place which meant we couldn't relax. We tiptoed about on very squeaky floorboards whilst listening to our neighbour tiptoeing about on hers. As she went to the loo 3 times in the night she probably heard me go twice! The floorboards are that noisy and the walls that thin.

Now, following this review the proprietor, Phil, will condescendingly explain why things are the way they are. What we would say to Phil is listen to what your customers say. On 19 Nov 2004 you received your first bad report, NOTHING HAS CHANGED!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, Owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We listen to our guests. If a guest brings a problem to our attention we address it immediately. If a guest is unhappy with the room they have selected we will, if possible, change them to another room. Sadly, this reviewer chose to complain on the internet instead of to the innkeepers.
In the twelve years we have owned Brook Farm Inn we have received close to 150 Very Good or Excellent reviews and 10 poor. That’s a pretty good average. It’s because our inn is friendly, warm, and clean. The guest rooms are comfortable, well appointed with quality amenities, carpeted (no creaky floorboards) and quiet. There are no guest rooms in the attic and the breakfast is plentiful, fresh and delicious. Please read some of the reviews of our satisfied customers and judge for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    34
    9
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
159
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night last Fall (November 2011) before our second baby arrived. We had a wonderful stay. The Inn is beautifully decorated and well maintained, and the library/sitting room is one of the highlights of the Inn. We relaxed in the late afternoon and enjoyed tea and the most delicious, melt in your mouth scones. As for the rooms specifically, we booked the Berkshire room, which was lovely. It was cozy, homey and had a fabulous fireplace that we were sure to use that chilly night. While there were quite a few guests staying at the Inn, it was very peaceful and we didn't hear much past 8pm. We woke and were greeted with a delicious homemade breakfast. Phil and Linda are terrific hosts. They are very friendly and helpful, and you can tell they take great care and pride in making sure their guests have a wonderful stay. Thanks Phil and Linda for a memorable night in Lenox.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a gracious house, in a lovely position and beautifully maintained and appointed. We had the Romance in Lenox room (2), which was delightful, spacious with two windows overlooking gardens. Large bathroom. Breakfast is buffet style, with plenty of choice including lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt. Each day there is a speciality hot dish, alternating sweet and savoury. It was all delicious. We chose to sit with others on a large sharing table and enjoyed some good conversation. There is a guest pantry where you can make your own tea/coffee, enjoy cookies and/or cool your wine. Walking distance, though uphill, to Lenox, where there are plenty of restaurants. Phil and Linda are professional innkeepers par excellence and are friendly and helpful. A Select Registry property - we have never stayed in a bad one. Thank you Linda and Phil for a great three days.

Room Tip: Check out your requirements first. Some rooms on third floor, which may be a little steep. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from the Brook Farm Inn and had a fabulous time. We are in our early 40s and there were a variety of ages and groups of folks staying at this Inn. Folks from Australia, retired couples, young couples from other states, etc. We stayed in the smallest room (also smallest standup shower) because of our budget. On our last morning there, I told my husband, "you know, even though we had the smallest room in the place, I still felt totally pampered." The overall experience at the Brook Farm Inn is outstanding.

The breakfast is phenomenal - on different days there would be things like homemade quiche, fritatta, french toast, amazingly fresh, large, and ripe berries and fruit, pastries. If you order a side for your room, they have the largest chocolate covered strawberries I've ever seen and they were delicious. The hosts were so helpful - giving us directions to wherever we wanted to go and telling us about the local best spots to visit. Also, one night we lost our key (it turned up later in a jacket pocket) and their response was "don't worry about it. I'm sure it will turn up. No stressing allowed here! You're here to relax and enjoy." We were so appreciative of their gracious response, as we felt terrible for losing it. At the time we were worried it fell out in a parking lot somewhere.

Room Tip: On a practical note, the bathroom in the Sweet Dreams room really is tiny - there is only room for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, Owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Our goal as innkeepers is to make our guests feel comfortable and to help them enjoy their visit to the Berkshires. Based on this lovely review it looks as if we achieved our goal with this couple. Brook Farm Inn's main house was built in 1882 so all the rooms are unique. Private bathrooms were added later. Guests can select from a variety of prices and amenities. We are happy to describe the rooms when guests phone to reserve, or they can view pictures with full descriptions on our website. The larger rooms have larger bathrooms and the carriage house rooms (which we built) have enormous bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and separate showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem, israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here 5 days August 2012, in 2 adjacent rooms. Rooms were beautiful, hosts are charming, sitting area/library was thoughtfully decorated and stocked, service was excellent, grounds, pool and hammock provided total relaxation, breakfast was best we've had in the Berkshires (in fact,requested and received several recipes), and location could not be better. One need look no further for the ideal Berkshires B and B.
Channy and Abe Greenberg

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent a long Labor Day weekend at Brook Farm Inn and really enjoyed it. The inn is well located for all activities and is close to Tanglewood. The room we had was impeccably clean and the hosts were very hospitable. The breakfasts were delicious and more than ample. Very relaxing and lovely, indeed. We would certainly stay here again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a lovely weekend in August with afternoon tea, comfortable room and bath, and hearty breakfast. Loved reading on the porch and chatting with other travelers in the library. Wish we had more time to stay and enjoy and would enjoy the opportunity for a return visit. Easy access to Tanglewood is an added benefit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm Inn

Address: 15 Hawthorne Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires' Brook Farm Inn is a short walk from the center of Lenox, MA and a mile from the Boston Symphony Orchestra's Tanglewood. A Select Registry inn, Brook Farm Inn offers unsurpassed New England bed and breakfast hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.