We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Birchwood Inn to your Saves list
Birchwood Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Hubbard St., Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to $150!
Ranked #10 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
scarsdale, ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great Escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We've just come home from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Birchwood Inn. We agree with all the fabulous reviews- Our two rooms for our family of 5 were incredibly clean and well maintained. The house has a beautiful downstairs with an inviting front porch where afternoon tea and dessert was held.Yum! The location of the inn was ideal since it was just a short 10-15 min walk to the town of Lenox. Ellen is a wonderful hostess in every way! She made great suggestions for restaurants and made our dinner reservations. She is a fabulous cook and we thoroughly enjoyed her incredible breakfasts served in the charming dining room. Her staff is wonderful as well, especially her assistant David, who always had a smile on his face. We can't wait for our next visit with Ellen at the Birchwood Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
One of the many positives in owning an inn is meeting happy and interesting people, like Hatty and her family. We look forward to their next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    14
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
157
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My cousin and I travel a lot and Birchwood Inn has definitely made it to the top of favorite places to stay and revisit. I don’t write reviews much but this is one I can’t wait to rave about.

My cousin and I have been researching for a weekend SPA getaway to celebrate her big “Five-O”. The glowing reviews on Trip Advisor definitely helped finalized our decisions. Needless to say… our mini vacation turned out into an AWESOME celebration with a “big bang” and fond memories (even without SPA treatment)!!! Our entire stay was “exceptional” and more than our expectations. Our heartfelt thanks to Birchwood Inn, the soft-spoken & gracious Ellen (filled with passion & love), charming David and the quiet, friendly & adorable Quinn (our four-legged friend) for making this special celebration a memory of our lifetime … Keep up the good work and we can’t wait to see you rise up to # 1 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns List.

We arrived late on Friday evening. As we parked at our “assigned parking spot” (feeling special, absolutely loving it!), we were surprisingly greeted by the friendliest reception of David, Assistant Innkeeper and Quinn, the adorable Golden Retriever!

Our “Dana Room” was absolutely stunning, spacious and comfortable. We are definitely pampered by the attention to the beautifully decorated details, including the bathroom - clean and spotless! The bed, awww… feels like sleeping on the cloud – it’s heavenly!!

We were taken on a tour throughout the Inn. Every room is different and varied for different tastes. There’s a huge library with a fireplace, lot of sitting areas, books, board games, puzzles, etc. You could choose to read, play or simply sit and be inspired in front of the fireplace. David also took his time to explain and introduce great places to dine and visit.

After we settled in, we took a quick stroll to the nearby little town where there are beautiful churches, a park, galleries, restaurants, antiques, spas, and wine and cheese stores. As it was getting late, we ordered take out from one of the recommended restaurants, the food was yummy. It was a wonderful treat after a long tiring day.

The next morning, we’d planned to sleep in but were pleasantly awaken by the delicious aroma of homemade breakfast and coffee. The breakfast menu was perfect for the start of the day – perfect portion, beautifully decorated (no detail was left unattended) and absolutely “out of this world”!!!! Our gracious host, Ellen and her crew took time to attend to each individual’s needs. They are very accommodating. (Ellen was kind enough to make extra order of her special Rhubarb Muffins for us to take home so that we could share with our loved ones.)

Within 5 miles distance, there’s a premium outlet with incredible bargains. We didn’t plan for this but we ended up filling our trunk and back seats with bags of clothes and shoes (will worry about the bills later…). Later in the afternoon, we took a quick break back to the Inn just to have Ellen’s famous afternoon tea/snack: homemade cookies and homemade ice tea. It was worth it. Minutes later, we headed out again - for more shopping... (unbelievable)! Time flies when you’ve fun. 3 days 2 nights seemed so short but it was definitely a good break.

To sum up: We left home with exhaustion and stress. We returned home feeling happy, vibrant yet relaxed, rejuvenated and restored.

Birchwood Inn definitely lived up to our expectations and more… We highly recommend it.
It fits into any lifestyles, singles, couples or families and for any occasions. You can choose to do a lot or, simply relax and do absolutely nothing. The property was beautifully maintained. Birchwood Inn is filled with details that are incredibly unique and charming. Ellen (the Innkeeper) and David (the Assistant Innkeeper) were fantastic hosts and made everyone feel very welcome. The breakfast and afternoon tea was to die for…, the location couldn't be better - within walking distance of the town center and the park trails. Last but not least, great news for dog lovers, this is a dog friendly Inn.

Room Tip: Review each room and identify one that meets your needs. Each room is different. Call up the Inn fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
How many guests -- new and encore -- give the innkeeper two dozen roses? As well as other gifts? You were two very special and memorable guests, and we look forward to welcoming you home to Birchwood Inn again soon, with or without roses! Thank you for sharing this milestone birthday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

For the third time, I had the pleasure of staying at The Inn at Birchwood. I just can't begin to tell you what a pleasure it is.
Strawberry Rhubarb pie? Yum. Welcoming rooms? Yes indeed. A great night's sleep? You know it.
Ellen is such a wonderful innkeeper and her staff take excellent care of the Inn.
I marveled at the cleanliness of the shower and assumed that it was brand new. I learned that it is thirteen years old! Not one water spot. Absolutely immaculate.
Just wish I didn't live so far away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
And we have so much fun and many laughs whenever you visit! I just wish it could be more often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Gorgeous country inn, beautifully situated next to a classic white New England church. The breakfasts and the homebaking are absolutely delicious, the inn keepers are charming and welcoming, and the library is one of the nicest rooms I can imagine to while away a peaceful hour in. It is within easy walking distance of Lenox village where there are lots of nice restaurants.
Highly recommended. If you are visiting the Berkshires, this is the place to stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your Birchwood Inn stay! Great guests make innkeeping a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is really the best B&B I've been to in New England. Ellen is amazing and hospitable. She even let me take home TWO LOAVES OF HOMEMADE BREAD!!!!!!

Her dog Quinn, is also a delight.

Bedroom was impeccably neat, clean.

Decorations were beautiful and I loved the detailed antiques and historic pieces throughout the house.

Felt like I was in a museum!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
It is so rewarding to an innkeeper when guests have a great time, and when they like the bread! I do hope, however, that the inn isn't a do-not-touch museum but rather historic country elegance. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and myself stayed last July for several days enjoying the beautiful nature around, several music and theater performances at Tanglewood and a splendid place to stay. comfortable, cosy, beautiful garden to sit outside, and very friendly and personal service in all respects. we will certainly come back as soon as we have the possibility. Thank you!
Marcus & Danielle, Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Room Tip: Talk to the owner lady, Ellen, a very helpful person interested in the guests and their countries an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
It is always a pleasure to host our many European visitors and show off the Berkshires! Thank you for staying at Birchwood Inn, and we'll look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Ellen,

I first wanted to say how happy I was to finally meet you personally, since our first email you warmth and kindness came across the web instantly. Now I see why so many of your clients return every year, it is like going home minus the stress.

Secondly, I haven't stayed in many B&B before but after this weekend I feel like I discovered a new world. The Birchwood Inn is the true meaning of cozy and beautiful. My room was so perfectly decorated that I thought at one point that it couldn't get better than that, then I peaked into several other rooms and all of them were equally as gorgeous but with a different story.

The service was flawless and the food was decadent (wouldn't expect less from the future Martha Stewart).

I hope you have a fantastic week and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I am sure we enjoyed meeting you as much if not more than you enjoyed your weekend. Having such a positive impression of b&bs as a result of your stay that you'll agree that bed and breakfasts are the better way to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7 Hubbard St., Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at our Lenox, MA inn. Individually appointed rooms at our Berkshires B&B are accented with fireplaces and breathtaking views. Bring your well-behaved dogs along to enjoy any wondrous season at our pet friendly Berkshires inn. We can also arrange for dog sitting services. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.