We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it IS CHEAP! But, that is about all I can say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

Wagon Wheel Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wagon Wheel Motel to your Saves list
Wagon Wheel Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   484 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Well, it IS CHEAP! But, that is about all I can say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

OK, maybe the location is wonderful, for all the Berkshire sights and sounds. But, it is a really down and out motel from the old days. Complete with a replica of Roy Roger's horse in the front.... well, maybe it wasn't Trigger, but it could have been. There is fresh paint around the place. The clientele seem to working stiffs and cheap vacationers. This is the sort of motel that often houses "homeless" people... but, I saw little evidence of that sort of thing. The rooms were clean and tacky decor abounds. Even though it is on a major thoroughfare... the room we had at the back wasn't noisy. I would be cautious with security issues. Use your common sense.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MASHPEE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a small, family owned hotel in a great area. If you are looking for a CLEAN, NO FRILLS HOTEL. this is it. You can not go wrong for the price. If you are looking for a really nice hotel with chocolates on the pillows this is not for you. BUT if you are looking for an inexpensive, no frills, CLEAN hotel.....STAY AT THE WAGON WHEEL.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel is small, no frills, & met our basic needs. Had difficulty finding hotel availability during a recent Tanglewood visit & decided to stay here. We were not expecting anything elaborate - nor was it. We had a quiet room in the back. It was small, dated, but clean - also had minifridge /microwave. Two people could not fit in the bathroom at the same time if they tried. One nite is just fine. Close to Tanglewood. 10% discount to local restaurants. I would not recommend the front rooms facing the street - I'm sure far too noisy. Owners were extremely pleasant.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This place is a joke. The rooms are dirty, damaged furniture, mildewed and smelly. I took one look at the room and ran out as fast as I could. You have to be crazy to stay there. It frankly looks dangerous.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WagonWheel808, Manager at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2009
This room has been recently painted and rented almost everyday without any complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I did not have a good experience at this overpriced motel. The street noise is intense. We booked a jacuzzi suite, what a joke. There was no hot water, not even warm water for the jacuzzi. This motel is overpriced and past its prime. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is a charming, quaint motel -- clean, attractive. An extremely kind family runs the place, so you get a very at-home feeling here. I stayed for three nights, and was happy here the entire time. The bed was comfy and I slept really well. I'm happy to say the windows are like windows in a real house -- they open! There are lots of restaurants nearby, all within walking distance, as well as one of the nicest grocery stores I have ever been in called Guido's (a five-minute walk). A Chinese restaurant and a Friendly's, a CVS and a Price Chopper are just across the road. I could easily have stayed here longer. Also: I spent almost the entire two days in my room (was finishing some work) and I didn't feel claustrophobic at all. The rooms smell nice, too. (Microwave, TV, small fridge included.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Very friendly owners, ready to help when needed.
Of course, this is no 5 star hotel, but it serves its purpose well.
Hard to find a better value in this area during the Tanglewood festival.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 484 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wagon Wheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wagon Wheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Lenox

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon Wheel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.