We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Dinner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatleigh

The Wheatleigh
11 Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
413-637-0610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 restaurants in Lenox
Price range: $30 - $165
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 2006 our Dining Room has the esteemed privilege of being a AAA Five Diamond restaurant. The Main Dining Room: The internationally renowned Dining Room offers a striking contemporary interpretation of classic French cuisine, an award winning wine list and the highest level of service. The Library: Our sophisticated lounge bar where we serve lunch and dinner seven days a week. The menu is a lighter fare than our dining room.
philadelphia, pa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular Dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our anniversary dinner and it could not have been more special. Food, wine, service all outstanding. Definitely a place to go for a special occasion.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    48
    7
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been coming here for many years. The setting is incomparable--- Italian/Spanish-type manor house in a beautiful Berkshires setting. The food is always outstanding and the service tries very hard to be both friendly and professional. Given that they train young European men and women in the hospitality industry, it is unfair to expect perfection. I would say, though, that they come close no matter what, which keeps us coming back year after year. Go a little early to enjoy the ambience on a nice evening. Have a drink outside and savor the surroundings. Very nice experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magic in the Berkshires - The Wheatleigh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We heard about the Wheatleigh from two friends who raved about how beautiful it was. We were not disappointed with the reality! Situated amidst rolling hills, the Wheatleigh rises up like a Tuscan fantasy. Our evening at the Wheatleigh was the stuff of dining fantasies - from cocktails on the picture-perfect lawn to dinner on the gorgeous terrace - the food and beverages were luscious. Each course was deliciously inventive. Our congratulations to Chef Jeffrey Thompson on his innovative creations.

Of course, no dining fantasy would be complete without the perfect service. The Wheatleigh staff were top-notch. Led by the General Manager and sommelier, Marc Wilhelm, "Team Wheatleigh" delivered service that can only be described as masterful. They were attentive to every detail without being over-bearing and treated each guest like royalty. We are so happy that we stopped here on our honeymoon. It was an enchanting and romantic evening. Five stars! We will be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Wheatleigh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A Stunning Experience! The service, food, view! Absolutely magical......We had a family get together pre-wedding for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Wheatleigh is a Feast for the Palette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Literally the best food in the Berkshires in a magical setting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatleigh also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.