We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful walk-in meal in Lenox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lucia

Cafe Lucia
80 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240
(413) 637-2640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a delightful walk-in meal in Lenox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Lenox can be so difficult for spur of the moment dining. Hour wait at Nudel, no tables at Alta. So we walked the neighborhood and came to Cafe Lucia. Our evening was a delight. Gracious hostess who made us feel welcome, not clueless for not reserving ahead. Our waitress Keelynn was part of the positive vibe: cautioning us that the grilled calamari "served chilled" according to the menu, might come out room temperature due to the heat of the evening. The evening was a flawless experience. We split the calamari appetizer which was a delicious grilled treatment with a bit of heat and sweet. Our two entrees were a linguine and clams special, with fresh clams and understated but tasty herbs, pasta that tasted fresh and al dente, and excellent veal piccata, which was lemony and attractive, enhanced by a roasted veggie medley that spoke to some attention to the extras on the plate from the kitchen. Niblets of sweet fresh corn, beets, kale, summer squash and zucchini, all perfectly treated and tasty. All in all, the meal exceeded our expectations in every respect: ambience, service, food, and price. Thanks Cafe Lucia, for a great end to our getaway!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We went for dinner at Cafe Lucia last weekend.Friendly staff, fast service and very good food!!!!100 % recommened!Tuna and Osso Bucco made our day!Great wine choices as well. We will be back!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italian Food with Personality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Cafe Lucia is lined with family photos of the owner, and he will be happy to tell you all about them. But, you can chart his family tree through the menu -- pasta sauces to warm the soul, appetizers or small plates actually big enough for two and well made at that. A pleasant setting and dining room. And, surprise, we had our tossed salad after the entree -- and it was absolutely perfect to round off the meal. Worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“serendipity ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We dined at Cafe Lucia by default this past Saturday, and it was our good fortune that our original plans fell through. The restaurant host was purposefully inviting and attententive without being overbearing. He guided us to a table, and then quickly moved us to another, quieter and more intimate spot--it was obvious that our comfort and ease was his primary concern. Our meal was perfect--a bowl of clam and veggie chowder was as far from Manhattan as Lenox could be~Loaded with fresh, tasty clams, rich with fresh and recognizable veggies, in a broth flecked with herbs that was at once summery light, yet hearty. Melon with proscuitto was light and tasty, and the sweet-salty ham was complemented by just ripe fruit. Salads seemed fresh from the garden, and even though the hour was late, the greens were robust and crisp. Our pork was light and so very tender-who could not love this "other white meat"? Dessert....berry shortcake...fresh berries, dense and buttery shortcake and a coulis so bright in color and taste that you knew those berries were very fresh~ in all, a memorable night filled with memorable food~

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“PLEASE FORGET THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

There may have been a few nights this summer when Cafe Lucia was understaffed. But, having been dining there since the 1980s, I would strongly encourage you to go. Management knows what they are doing. Sometimes an employee unexpectedly quits or doesn't show, and all others have to scramble. THAT SAID, the food is consistently excellent. Salads are huge and full of plump tomatoes and delicious threads of cheese. Ample servings of Bolognese are tangy and flavorful, and there is no better place to enjoy eggplant....not doughy weird eggplant parmesan, but crisp, lightly breaded, cheese-filled light eggplant on fresh pasta with delicious marinara. Rolls have always been warm and fresh. Rolls, olive oil, butter, breadsticks and olives arrive before you order. Drinks and wine are well done. Pasta with fresh clams, simple and delicious. The owners have an extremely loyal following: customers who can eat anywhere and choose to return here, year after year. I hope the negative reviewers will try it again and not discourage you from eating at Caf Lucia!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lucia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.