We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for those who don't like spicy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of jae's asian bistro

jae's asian bistro
55 Pittsfield Lenox Road, Routes 7 and 20, Lenox, MA
4136379777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Cuisines: Sushi, Korean, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award-winning Pan-Asian cuisine, including Sushi, Pad Thai, and Korean specialties.
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for those who don't like spicy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First of all, you have this restaurant rated # 24 and #26 and the name is Jae's not Jai's.
We went back for the second time. The first time we went last year, we had a pleasant, but not memorable meal. This year we wanted something different and told the waitress that we didn't want anything spicy. Both my wife and I have GERD and don't respond well to overly spiced foods. We ordered the Vietnamese Spring Rolls, the Mango Chicken and Vegetarian dumplings. The Spring Rolls had a rice paper covering and a texture capable of inducing a gag reflex. To top it off, they were bland and tasteless. The dumplings were only OK. The Mango Chicken was spicy and left both our mouths tingling for hours. When we complained to the waigressthey were too spicy after we were assured they wouldn't be, she guessed the culprit might be the Thai peppers that were all over the dish. Duh! Didn't we ask her to avoid spicy? Anyway we won't go back and learned the lesson that we shouldn't have been so nice and should have returned both dishes. Anyway, we won't be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Finally, a Good Restaurant in this Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

For a dozen Julys my wife and I have traveled to Lenox for the Tanglewood Music Festival. Over the last few years this location was occupied by Bennigan's, a Mexican, a local-sourced (who knew they grew anything but rocks in the Berkshires? ;-) ) , and a generic Chinese restaurant. When we came off the road from a three+ hour drive and discovered that the Dakota steakhouse had closed, and were hungry in the middle of a weekday afternoon, we were feeling a bit desperate. We decided to gamble on Jae's.

The interior seems to be about the same it's been for a half-dozen years or so, OK, but not wowee. The place was virtually empty, and we were served by the bartender. The menu is ambitious, including Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Korean items. Its length is more like that of a diner than a fine-dining experience. Never mind. We had two objectives; fill our bellies after seven hours without food, and pick up something for late night consumption after the recital at Ozawa Hall by Bryn Terfel (he was fabulous, by the way).

Both my wife and I chose the Cantonese boneless duck with mushrooms, vegetables and brown rice. Unfortunately, we think alike, so this review is limited to that one item! The duck was excellent, with a deep-fried crust around it, and sliced into several pieces. It was moist and flavorful. We could feel our cholesterol levels rising with every bite, but never mind. The vegetables were crisp, and the mushrooms tasty.

And then we did a leap of faith. We ordered a couple of California rolls at the same time as the duck, but for our late evening meal. We had not yet tasted the duck, so it was a gamble. Imagine our delight when nine hours later (being refrigerated for the whole time), the California rolls turned out to be as scrumptious as the duck - again we each ordered the same thing. Sorry for the limited sample.

Overall, a really nice dining experience. Wide variety of Asian cuisines, nicely done. I hope this one survives for years to come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food, especially the pad thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service is slow, but the food is worth the wait. The pad thai is the best dish on the menu! I am not a sushi fan, but everyone else that I know who goes there loves it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pad Thai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Food was nicely presented and very tasty. Generous portions. We also had our holiday office party there. We hope to have it there again this year, the buffet was to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Pad Thai and huge portion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dropped by this Asian spot on Saturday night with another couple around 6:30 without a reservation. The staff were able to find a table for us although they were very busy. We had a lovely, friendly server, Robin. The food was plentiful and delicious. My husband and I enjoyed our Pad Thai with chicken and shrimp...all cooked to perfection and his chicken satay to start was a large portion and delicious. The menu is very large and there are so many choices. We will have to go back again soon to try out some other menu items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed jae's asian bistro also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to jae's asian bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage jae's asian bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.