We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed this landmark in the restoration process” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventfort Hall

Ventfort Hall
Lenox, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Lenox
Attraction details
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this landmark in the restoration process”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It is rare that you get to view anything that is not finished. This was fascinating to see the process. Enjoyed the "little ladies " collection. They are most fortunate to have this collection available for display.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    11
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Diamond In The Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A frequent visitor of the lovely Berkshires, I decided to tour Ventfort Hall this past weekend. For those of you who are looking for a fully restored house you will not find it here as the house and grounds are still very much a work in progress. For me, that was fascinating and what made it a bit different than your normal historical tour. Keep in mind the house was in the process of being dismanted so it could be demolished when the "Lenox Angels" stepped in and saved it. This means the house sat empty and neglected for 10 years. This is important to know when taking the tour as it only covers the restored rooms and a peak at the rooms in progress. It is only seeing the "Before" and "After" pictures and work that you can truly appreciate this house and the work the Ventfort Hall Association is taking. I enjoyed the tour and would reccomend it to anyone who is fasincated by old homes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superior Docent Made This Historic House Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our docent, a well-informed mature woman, was just superb. Our tour lasted about 90 minutes and was exceptional. I especially appreciate that there were several opportunities to take a seat and listen as she shared the history of the Morgan family and Ventfort Hall. The history of Sarah Morgan isn't all that exceptional, there are virtually no remaining family furnishings and few period pieces, but the docent did a wonderful job of helping me better understand the gilded age of the Berkshires. I also loved the quantity of before and after pictures as this house was only rescued from potential demolition in the late 1990s.
One incredible room features several dozen "Little Ladies of Fashion." These are 30-inch-tall miniature "dolls" wearing original designs sewn by John Burbidge, a retired dress designed from Priscilla of Boston. They show the history of women's fashion from the second half of the 19th century, and many of the miniature dresses are made from vintage clothing. These are exquisite renderings, with an awesome level of detail. I only regret that photos in this room are forbidden! My one picture is from the single lady you'll be allowed to photograph.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Like all mansions, it has interesting stories but I do not think it is worth $15 per person. The tour was less than an hour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice tour guide, expensive, fun afternoon, wish more was open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I wish they talked more about the Cider House Rules filming there. They seemed almost mad about it instead of showing that side of the tour. That would have been most interesting for us. It is really dark inside, but that's how it was! Tour guide was nice with our small daughter.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventfort Hall also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Ventfort Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventfort Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.