We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place, needs more restoration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventfort Hall

Ventfort Hall
Lenox, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting place, needs more restoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's an interesting place, but there is still a lot of work to be done. Much of the house was destroyed by neglect and weather, and they have done a lot of nice restoration work. You can only tour the first floor; there are a lot of parts of the house that are inaccessible. You'll only want to spend about an hour there, so it's kind of expensive. The grounds are probably very nice, but we went in January and they were snow-covered.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    13
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The fashion miniatures not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While the building itself is interesting, the exhibit of miniature figurines dressed in period fashion is incredible. The time, effort and creativity that has gone into the exhibit is mind-boggling. Our 15 and 9 year old daughters were both enthralled. Hopefully it will remain at Ventfort indefinitely.

One disappointment with our visit was that the second floor is closed due to lack of an elevator. What we heard was that the second floor is completely renovated but we couldn't see it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great old Mansion, or cottage as they say, Massive restoration project going on. Our Guide was very informative. Good to see them saving this historic place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old World Guild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recommend visiting. There's more roaming freedom compared to the Newport Mansions. A lot of neat history in this place. It was saved with the help of money from filming 'The Cider House Rules'.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faded glory trying to return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Interesting mansion with lots of great history. The place was almost destroyed by time and weather. Fortunately it is in the process of being restored your visit will help that happen.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventfort Hall also viewed

 

Been to Ventfort Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventfort Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.